jump to navigation

What’s The Best Way To Get There? September 2, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Magick & Mystery, Mindfulness.
trackback

Mickey-DancingWhat’s the best way to get from where you are to where you want to be?

Start moving in the right direction.

* It doesn’t really matter how fast you’re going if you’re heading in the wrong direction. ~ Stephen Covey

* A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.

What’s the first step?

Mickey-SurferIt doesn’t matter.  Anything would do for a start.

Taking steps, even baby steps, sends a message to the Universe that you are ready for a change.

That you are ready to let go of what isn’t working to move towards something “better.”

The way will teach you the way.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Quote:  The journey between what you once were and who you are now becoming is where the dance of life really takes place. ~ Barbara DeAngelis

 

Comments»

1. Pix Under the Oaks - September 2, 2014

It’s a journey for me each day 🙂

nrhatch - September 2, 2014

Exactly. We must keep bringing our self back to the task. It doesn’t happen all at once. We become.

2. ericjbaker - September 2, 2014

This post appeals to my inner Taoist.

nrhatch - September 2, 2014

Our inner Taoist knows the way . . . even when we feel lost. 😉

3. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - September 2, 2014

“What About Bob?” is my favorite movie – and I’m all about Baby Steps! I love saying it – but also living it, showing the Universe that I’m ready and open for the change, and making my self stronger, one baby step at a time!

nrhatch - September 2, 2014

I have never seen “What About Bob?” . . . but I just added it to my Netflix queue. Here’s to Baby Steps!

Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - September 2, 2014

You will love it! It seriously is too funny, but there are so many great life lessons in there!! Come back and let us know what you think!!

nrhatch - September 2, 2014

Thanks for the recommendation, Kate. It looks seriously funny. I’ll try to remember to let you know if it upped my laugh quotient for the day. :mrgreen:

4. Val Boyko - September 2, 2014

Great post Nancy! The first step can be the hardest … and then once we get momentum we can get to wherever we want to be.
Val x

nrhatch - September 2, 2014

Until we take the first step, we’re still “sitting on the fence.” Taking action sets things in motion.

5. Jill Weatherholt - September 2, 2014

Baby steps have always worked better for me. Going in like gangbusters isn’t the best for me.

nrhatch - September 2, 2014

When I taught myself the guitar, I started with 3 chords. After mastering them, I could play a few songs. That gave me the motivation to keep adding chords and songs to my daily practice.

“A good traveler has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving.” ~ Lao Tzu

6. William D'Andrea - September 2, 2014

Get a map. Follow the way that already marked out, so you’ll be sure you’re going the right way.

nrhatch - September 2, 2014

No thanks. I don’t like to play Follow the Leader. :mrgreen:

7. NancyTex - September 2, 2014

I embrace the baby steps approach. Better to take baby steps than to try to boil the ocean.

nrhatch - September 2, 2014

Many of those with an ALL or NOTHING approach to life (e.g., losing weight), tend to burn out before they reach their goals because they deprive themselves of pleasure along the way.

In contrast, when we start swapping out a “negative” choice for a more “positive” choice, we keep moving in the right direction while enjoying the journey from HERE to THERE.

I think that’s why you’ve been so successful in your efforts to “keep moving” . . . because you reward yourself with yummy fuel!

NancyTex - September 2, 2014

I suspect that’s a huge part of it, NH, along with three other things:
1. Not expecting overnight results;
2. Not throwing in the towel the minute a setback occurs or – god forbid – you regain a couple of pounds; and
3. Realizing this is an ongoing thing. No start and end date. Embracing the lifestyle.

nrhatch - September 2, 2014

Yes x 3!

No more, “OMG! I ate a cookie. I blew the whole day! I might as well polish off the rest of the package and start again tomorrow.” 😛

Not that you or I ever did that!

8. Behind the Story - September 3, 2014

I’ve never been a great runner, but I’m a good walker and hiker. In college I tried staying up late to study just once. It didn’t work for me, so I went back to my usual consistent study routine.

nrhatch - September 3, 2014

Here’s to becoming who we always intended to be . . . walkers!

9. Life Penned - September 3, 2014

The first time we tried to climb a big mountain we barely made treeline before we were absolutely spent. We hiked back to the car feeling defeated and convinced that only super-athletic people can climb big mountains.

In the hotel room that night, my climbing partner had a small, unheard of book about climbing in which the author said, “Take baby steps. Half the length of your foot is enough. Just keep moving.”

We tried it the next day. It worked. It launched my many years of mountaineering.

nrhatch - September 3, 2014

Wow! I saw it as a metaphor for climbing virtual mountains ~ great to hear it works when climbing actual mountains too!

10. jannatwrites - September 4, 2014

Love message – small progress is much better than not doing anything at all. (Another thing that will work on my acquiring of patience… I tend to look for leaps rather than baby steps 🙂 )

nrhatch - September 4, 2014

Aah . . . perhaps you’ll practice patience (one step at a time) while your husband works to release his inner happiness. :mrgreen:

11. Three Well Beings - September 6, 2014

I’m a good “slow and steady wins the race” candidate. One little step at a time is a comfortable pace for me to proceed when I’m at all unsure! And if my direction needs changing, that’s okay, too, but just keep moving. 🙂

nrhatch - September 6, 2014

Yes! Many give up at the first pothole in the path, collapse into a puddle of mixed up muddled up mess, and say, “It’s too hard.”

Whereas you (or I) peer at the pothole and decide whether to (1) step over it, (2) step around it, or (3) fill it in so it’s no longer an issue. Once decided, we continue on our MERRY way. 😎


What Say YOU?

