jump to navigation

O Cannabis! September 1, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Nature, People.
trackback

In Colorado, pot smokers no longer have to race past heroin addicts in dark alleys to buy a random bag of weed with a dubious pedigree.

Instead, they visit legal dispensaries to choose between various varietals of marijuana.

And may even get advice on planning a gourmet meal with cannabis as the center point . . .

Definitely a step in the right direction.

Even those who don’t imbibe will benefit as additional states join Colorado’s lead, shifting antiquated thinking from prohibition to legalization.

Instead of spending vast sums of money to arrest, convict, and jail people for getting high, state and local governments will rake in tax revenues.

In California, a single pot store in Mendocino County paid $300,000 in sales tax to the state and twice that amount in federal income tax.

In addition, tourism dollars in progressive states like Colorado are apt to increase as people drift in to admire the shifting landscape through a Purple Hazeย . . . or a Rocky Mountain High.

Aah . . . that’s better!

 

Comments»

1. Val Boyko - September 1, 2014

I’m amazed at how controversial this is still!
Personally, I’m an “everything in moderation.” yep – that includes chocolate Nancy ๐Ÿ˜‰
Thank you for your chutzpah this morning!
Val x

nrhatch - September 1, 2014

Thanks, Val. Enjoying “everything in moderation” is a great way to stay balanced, firmly centered in your middle ground.

And it avoids the stark BLACK or WHITE fear-based thinking that leads to so much conflict and disharmony.

2. Rainee - September 1, 2014

I have mixed feelings about it. It is still illegal in Australia. I personally experienced it in the 1970’s but I have seen some negative affects where all motivation flies out the window. I agree with you and Val about moderation, but some people don’t have an off switch ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - September 1, 2014

Of course the same can be said about alcohol, even wine. I’ve seen more problems with people who drink than with those who mellow out with pot.

3. Silver in the Barn - September 1, 2014

My sister just moved from Washington state to Colorado, the only two states with legal cannabis. We are wondering if there’s a pattern here…..LOL!

nrhatch - September 1, 2014

Bwahaha! I see those two states as leading the pack ~> maybe your sister is “avant garde.” ๐Ÿ˜Ž

4. colonialist - September 1, 2014

Spend the money used for keeping it sick hawk … er, ill eagle … to tell people what idiots they are to use it. Like cigarettes. Maybe SOME will listen.

nrhatch - September 1, 2014

I don’t see people who get high as “idiots” ~> I find many of them to be far more enlightened than martini drinkers. :mrgreen:

“Reality is just a crutch for people who can’t handle drugs.” ~ Robin Williams

colonialist - September 1, 2014

Depends how many martinis. Personally, I have found those who get hign are extremely light on enlightenment, self-confidence, common sense, and charm. They can’t think much of their minds to want to be out of them.

nrhatch - September 1, 2014

Our experiences aren’t the same. That might be because the ganja grown in South Africa is more potent! ๐Ÿ˜Ž

5. katecrimmins - September 1, 2014

Party on!

nrhatch - September 1, 2014

My brother in Colorado is wondering when I’m going to make it out there to check out the dispensaries in person. ๐Ÿ˜›

katecrimmins - September 1, 2014

I am anxious to read THAT post.

nrhatch - September 1, 2014

Providing I don’t lose the motivation to write. ๐Ÿ˜›

6. BarbB - September 1, 2014

Hi Spirit Lights the Way, Just wondering if you have a comment button on your postings that I am missing? I have wanted to comment on several but can’t find anything but ‘like’ buttons. Re Cannabis. Glad to hear that minds are finally opening up to the potential from this plant once it becomes legal. My only experience with it was different than I expected ie. out of body experience!, but I respect the fact that it is one of Nature’s Gifts to Man in its medicinal properties. Pain control is one of the most difficult modern dilemma’s so adding this to the pain control arsenal would be a big help to a lot of people.

*Barb Bedford* *Check out my blog at Happiness Connections Blog*

*Love is always the Answer*

nrhatch - September 1, 2014

Hi BarbB. Your comment posted just fine. Not sure why you don’t see a comment box at your end.

Good thoughts ~ the use of marijuana for medicinal purposes has been of benefit to many with pain and/or nausea.

7. NancyTex - September 1, 2014

It’s amazing to me that it is still illegal in so many places. To your point, the tax revenue alone is a huge upside. And you’re absolutely right: I know way more people with drinking problems than pot problems. I don’t partake often (primarily because it’s so difficult to access), but when j do, it makes me the kinder, gentler Nancy.

nrhatch - September 1, 2014

Your experience echoes my own. People who drink are often aggressive and belligerent. Pot smokers are much more mellow.

Maybe because they never have to worry about hangovers! ๐Ÿ˜Ž

8. Becky - September 1, 2014

Have you read ‘The Corner’ by David Simon? It’s an interesting look at a year of the life in an inner city neighborhood (Baltimore) as well as the ridiculous war on drugs. I highly recommend it.

nrhatch - September 1, 2014

Thanks for the recommendation, Becky. Sounds like an eye opening read. And, yes, the war on drugs is a ridiculous and paranoid exercise in futility . . . fueled and funded by liquor companies, pharmaceutical companies, and tobacco companies.

Becky - September 1, 2014

Show me a person that smoked themselves to death on pot or got too stoned and drove. Smoking pot may make you paranoid and unmotivated, but most people definitely don’t get hurt by it.

nrhatch - September 1, 2014

Exactly. And the same cannot be said for people who drink and drive or drink themselves under the table (or into the gutter).

9. Pix Under the Oaks - September 1, 2014

Hmmm.. a surprise to myself, I am not sure on this.

nrhatch - September 1, 2014

Given a choice between a glass of wine and a joint, I’d choose the joint every time ~ it’s more relaxing with fewer downsides.

No one has ever OD’d on pot, or had a hangover, or passed out.

I’m not arguing that everyone should smoke pot ~ but people who do should have the same right to choose as people who drink.

10. Jill Weatherholt - September 1, 2014

I couldn’t agree more, Nancy. California can certainly use the tax revenue as well as so many other states.
Personally, I don’t partake because of my job. I do see where alcohol can be much more problematic.

nrhatch - September 1, 2014

Yes on all counts, Jill ~ once the infrastructure is up and running, legalization would benefit us all. Except maybe the liquor and big pharm lobby.

11. Eric Tonningsen - September 1, 2014

Baby steps are progress… though incredibly slow progress. Appreciate your highlighting the merits/value in legalizing, regulating, and montetizing cannabis, Nancy. Some things are simply overdue.

nrhatch - September 1, 2014

Thanks, Eric. I agree. The lack of more progress makes me wonder what about the shenanigans and machinations going on behind the scenes ~> most of our politicians are such puppets (like Pinocchio) with lobbyists pulling their strings.

12. Arlee Bird - September 1, 2014

I vote yes! Recently I heard that the pot initiative won’t make it on the California ballot in the next election due to lack of signatures. I find that kind of hard to believe though on the other hand I didn’t even hear anything about them trying to get signatures. Poor campaign I’d say. You’d think that California would have been one of the first states to legalize pot.

Lee
Tossing It Out

nrhatch - September 1, 2014

I figured it would be #1, Arlee. California has so many growers of medical marijuana, that it would be an easy transition ~ with additional tax revenues from the expansion.

13. William D'Andrea - September 2, 2014

I was going to say something negative, but after reading what everyone has to say, I figure I’d just be wasting my time.

nrhatch - September 2, 2014

Sometimes biting our tongue is the wisest course of action. ๐Ÿ˜‰

14. suzicate - September 2, 2014

Perhaps one day it will go down in history like the prohibition period…newer generations will be surprised it was ever illegal.

nrhatch - September 2, 2014

I expect that it will be just like that, Suzi.

What I wouldn’t give to have a peek at life in the U.S. 100 years hence. At times, I feel like a salmon swimming up river ~ I’d like to know if the outcome is going to be worth the effort.

15. Carl D'Agostino - September 2, 2014

I am clean and sober twelve and a half years and will stay that way but feel legalization is a good direction. We need to stop the felonization of America to create jobs and revenue for the criminal justice “industry” in this country which condemns the arrestees to perpetual unemployment and keeps their families on welfare. . Appreciative of your positive reflection on Greensboro over at suzicate’s blog.

nrhatch - September 2, 2014

Thanks, Carl. And you’re welcome. North Carolina is a wonderful place to live if you want to enjoy all 4 seasons.

16. Three Well Beings - September 6, 2014

I don’t know much about how the dispensaries work here in California and they began to limit the number in Los Angeles, but they don’t seem to be having any particular problems. I think there is more of a problem with alcohol then there’ll ever be with pot!

nrhatch - September 6, 2014

Thanks, Debra. It’s amazing to me that liquor (with its vast potential for death and destruction) is accepted and embraced as part of mainstream culture, while pot is forced “underground.”

Big Brother at work? Brainwashing the masses with lies, lines, and half-truths. Ya, mon! ๐Ÿ˜Ž

Here’s hoping that those of us who are still awake and aware refuse to accept the status quo being shoved down our throats.


What Say YOU?

