jump to navigation

A Sense of Humor August 29, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Happiness, Health & Wellness, Humor.
trackback

Cheshire_Cat_Tenniel“A person without a sense of humor is like a wagon without springs. It’s jolted by every pebble on the road.”  ~ Henry Ward Beecher

Laughter shortens the distance between people.

He deserves Paradise who makes his companions laugh. ~ the Koran

The best way to cheer yourself up is to cheer everybody else up. ~ Mark Twain

When we stop taking ourselves so seriously, we become ever so much happier!

220px-JoseOrtegayGasset“Common sense and a sense of humor are the same thing, moving at different speeds. A sense of humor is just common sense, dancing.” ~ William James

Not being happy during Happy Hour is a self-defeating way to go through life.

“A well-developed sense of humor is the pole that adds balance to your steps as you walk the tightrope of life.” ~ William Arthur Ward

Life improves with laughter. ♥ ♥ ♥

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Silver in the Barn - August 29, 2014

Love, love, love this! When I think of the people I love best in this world, their common denominator is a brilliant sense of humor.

nrhatch - August 29, 2014

Yay! I agree ~ being around people who love to laugh (like Uncle Albert in Mary Poppins) is the best.

Even if we don’t get invited to a tea party on the ceiling.

Behind the Story - August 29, 2014

Uncle Albert and that tea party on the ceiling is one of the best scenes in the movies. Whoever conceived it is a genius.

nrhatch - August 29, 2014

The scene is based on the chapter “Laughing Gas” in the book Mary Poppins by P.L. Travers.

In the book, Mary’s Uncle Albert, also called Mr. Wigg, is said to float because of an excess of “laughing gas”, although it is clear that the term is not used in the chemical sense.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I_Love_to_Laugh

What makes the scene so magical is Ed Wynn and the rest of the cast PLUS that fabulous song by the Shermans.

I’m singing it right now!

2. suzicate - August 29, 2014

Laughter often saves the day!

nrhatch - August 29, 2014

Yes! A sense of humor is a U.S. Coast Guard approved flotation device ~ a real life preserver!

3. Jill Weatherholt - August 29, 2014

Great quotes, Nancy! Laughter and smiles…they just make for a better day. 🙂

nrhatch - August 29, 2014

It’s impossible for me to read through these quotes without smiling ~ hope your day is filled with laughter!

4. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - August 29, 2014

You just replied to a comment with what I was going to say – I smiled the whole way through reading, it was impossible not to! 🙂 Have a great day!

nrhatch - August 29, 2014

Yay! I find these quotes rather contagious ~> with each, my smile grows bigger, better, and badder. :mrgreen:

5. NancyTex - August 29, 2014

Happy Hour is my favourite time of day! 🙂

nrhatch - August 29, 2014

Happy Hour is a great way to add a bit of play to our day. Here’s to getting our happy on!

NancyTex - August 29, 2014

Hear hear!

nrhatch - August 29, 2014

*cheers*

6. ericjbaker - August 29, 2014

Your happy hour line cracked me up. Those events turn into whine-fests half the time. Cranky Hour is more like it.

nrhatch - August 29, 2014

Not down here in Margaritaville! 😎

If Mr. Cranky Pants shows up . . . we crank up the Bob Marley.

ericjbaker - August 29, 2014

Stir it up = coolest bass line ever.

nrhatch - August 29, 2014

Plus “Stir It Up” is a great theme for Happy Hour!

7. Kathy @ SMART Living 365.com - August 29, 2014

Yes…I’m pretty partial to happy hour too…but I ALSO make an effort to be happy all day long!

nrhatch - August 29, 2014

That’s the ticket! Being happy is a choice we make, moment by moment. Here’s to remaining upbeat and positive as we move through our days and nights, Happy Hour included.

8. Behind the Story - August 29, 2014

I love the Happy Hour quote. It’s new to me. Also William James: “Common sense and a sense of humor are the same thing, moving at different speeds. A sense of humor is just common sense, dancing.” ~ I’m so in awe of the speed of comedians’ jokes. Robbin Williams and Stephen Colbert come to mind.

nrhatch - August 29, 2014

Thanks, Nicki. The HH quote might be original to me ~ probably coined after someone confused “Wine Time” with “Whine Time.”

And, yes! The funniest comedy skits and bits are those pulled from common sense observations about life’s absurdities, especially when delivered with rapid fire staccato punch lines.

Behind the Story - August 29, 2014

I wondered where that came from. We wouldn’t want to confuse “Wine Time” with “Whine Time.” I’ll have to remember that.

nrhatch - August 29, 2014

Most of the Happy Hours we have around here are, indeed, happy hours, but every once in a while a “cranky pants” shows up wanting to throw a bucket of water on everyone’s mirth. It’s our job to wrest it away from them until “later.”

9. Val Boyko - August 29, 2014

Love em all! Keep me coming Nancy 🙂
Have a good weekend!
Val x

nrhatch - August 29, 2014

Your goal the other day ~> curiosity.
My goal today ~> laughing/smiling at life’s nuances.

So far, so good. It’s been a Happy Day all day.

10. colonialist - August 29, 2014

Henry Ward Beecher bottom dollar on that. He can’t bet his own ’cause he’s broke.

nrhatch - August 29, 2014

He’s not only broke . . . he’s dead. Which probably means he’s lost his sense of humor at last. 😛

colonialist - August 29, 2014

*hollow giggles come from Nancy’s ceiling…*

nrhatch - August 29, 2014

He’s laughing out loud so loud you can hear him all the way across the pond!

11. jannatwrites - August 30, 2014

Great quotes! I’m all for laughter (my sense of humor is the one thing I do exercise regularly 🙂 )

nrhatch - August 30, 2014

I do not understand how people who never laugh make it from one day to the next. My sense of humor is one of my most valuable possessions.

12. Pix Under the Oaks - August 30, 2014

LOVE the quote by William James!

nrhatch - August 30, 2014

Hope your day is filled with smiles, Pix!

Pix Under the Oaks - August 30, 2014

Thanks Nancy! Wishing you and BFF a nice Florida weekend!

13. William D'Andrea - August 30, 2014

I am a natural comedian who is also a writer.
When it comes to being a writer, I consider myself an entertainer, and my stories are my performances. As an entertainer, I am a natural comedian, and when I am writing, this joker is wild!

nrhatch - August 30, 2014

Hope your book sales take off so you can laugh all the way to the bank! :mrgreen:

William D'Andrea - September 2, 2014

So far, one copy of one of the books has been sold for $2.99. I will receive 35% of that as my royalty payment. That, along with my senior citizen’s discount, would pay for one ride to the bank on a local bus, along with a transfer; but not for the return trip. I suppose that’s something to laugh about.
It’s like I’ve said before, when it comes to being a writer, no matter how good your writing is, don’t quit your day job.

14. kateshrewsday - September 1, 2014

“Just common sense, dancing.” Wonderful 🙂

nrhatch - September 1, 2014

Great image for a cartoon ~> with common sense dancing.

15. Three Well Beings - September 4, 2014

I think one of the best things about me is perhaps my sense of humor. I do tend to find the humor in situations, even if at times it’s tinged with irony because life is so often ludicrous! We had dinner with my kids/grandchildren last night and I got in trouble with their mommy because one of them wouldn’t stop fooling around and said something “smart” and I laughed out loud. She was being impudent, but it struck me so funny I couldn’t help myself. I was always guilty of this when the children were young and Aimee remembers how her brother never got in trouble (she claims she did) because I always laughed. I do think life improves with laughter. We need it for survival!

nrhatch - September 4, 2014

It is hard not to laugh out loud when youngsters say something funny because they don’t have their “filters” firmly in place yet.

I expect your daughter sees the humor in your “unfiltered” sense of humor. A sense of humor is such a great life preserver to have in our tool belt.

16. Perfecting Motherhood - September 9, 2014

Need a laugh? Spend 10 minutes with kids! They laugh (and make you laugh) many more times a day than adults. 🙂

nrhatch - September 9, 2014

Kids are great laughter machines ~ especially the ones with giggle guts. Just hearing kids laugh makes me laugh.


What Say YOU?

