jump to navigation

Picking A Prickly Pineapple August 25, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Home & Garden, Humor.
trackback

In May, we noticed a pineapple growing in our courtyard:

By mid-July, it had quite a regal crown:

And then it stopped growing and started ripening.  So I picked it:

2014-08-21 11-30-14_0015

To give you a bit of perspective, here’s my best Carmen Miranda imitation:

2014-08-21 11-28-23_0012a_1

Growing pineapples is NOT a get-rich-quick scheme!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. ericjbaker - August 25, 2014

I’m so satisfied that this photo sequence ended with a pineapple hat. Nothing else would have been ripe. Er, right.

nrhatch - August 25, 2014

Haha! Of course. I shellacked it for Halloween.

2. Crowing Crone - August 25, 2014

heh heh. love the pictures. How neat to have one just show up like that!

nrhatch - August 25, 2014

We planted pineapple tops 3-4 years ago, knowing they’re a slow grow. The appearance this spring was a surprise.

3. suzicate - August 25, 2014

Looks like a lovely hat of yesteryear!
It might be small, but perhaps it packs a mighty punch of flavor! Was it wonderful?

nrhatch - August 25, 2014

I enjoyed it, but can’t say it was “the best” pineapple I’ve ever eaten. Better than canned, not as juicy and sweet as some we’ve bought at the grocery store.

4. Val Boyko - August 25, 2014

Celebrate and dance like Carmen – knowing it had a great life 🙂
Val x

nrhatch - August 25, 2014

It’s life was short but sweet!

Val Boyko - August 25, 2014

LOL!!!
Val x

5. Jill Weatherholt - August 25, 2014

You get my vote for Miss Hawaii!

nrhatch - August 25, 2014

Haha! I’d just come back from the swimming pool . . . the bathing suit competition!

Jill Weatherholt - August 25, 2014

See! You were born to be Miss Hawaii, Nancy!

nrhatch - August 25, 2014

I’m a shoo in . . . as soon as I get a few nips and tucks . . . and someone to style my hair. 😉

6. Pix Under the Oaks - August 25, 2014

And……….. how was it?

nrhatch - August 25, 2014

Not bad. Not as sweet and juicy as some pineapples, but a nice treat to have plucked from the courtyard.

7. Rainee - August 25, 2014

Wow! How wonderful :-). When we went to Queensland in the Eastern States last year we saw some pineapple plantations. I love fresh pineapple! Great photos too 🙂

nrhatch - August 25, 2014

I’ve never been to a pineapple plantation . . . bet they have bigger, badder, and better buds than our little guy. :mrgreen:

Rainee - August 26, 2014

They didn’t look as cute though!

nrhatch - August 26, 2014

Yes! Our guy was one of a kind.

8. NancyTex - August 25, 2014

That is the cutest pineapple ever!

nrhatch - August 25, 2014

Yes! But such a prickly personality. :mrgreen:

NancyTex - August 25, 2014

Aw, that just gives her a little edge. Never a bad thing in my books.

nrhatch - August 25, 2014

Agreed! Here’s to maintaining our “edge.”

9. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - August 25, 2014

Ok, that is a little guy, but I’m still totally impressed by it! 😉

nrhatch - August 25, 2014

We’re glad that the little guy appeared on our doorstep. Literally. 🙂

10. katecrimmins - August 25, 2014

I was lucky enough to visit a pineapple plantation in Hawaii. There were pineapples that were cut but not collected by the equipment so we picked a few. OMG! There is no harsh acid to give you mouth sores, just sweet juicy wonderfulness. Now I have a hard time eating the ones that are flown in green.

nrhatch - August 25, 2014

Yes! My dad brought a pineapple home from Hawaii once . . . so much better than some/most/all of the pineapples I’ve had in the intervening years. Every once in a while I get one that is close and the sweetness just awes.

OK . . . now we’ve got to visit Hawaii! 😎

11. Kathy @ SMART Living 365.com - August 25, 2014

Just reading the line, “In May, we noticed a pineapple growing in our courtyard” says a LOT” about your life. That’s certainly not something I’d find in my yard here in the desert southwest….So how did it taste?

nrhatch - August 25, 2014

Not bad. Sweet enough to eat without adding sugar, but still a bit tart. Now I’m wondering whether the other two plants will produce pineapples for us.

12. jannatwrites - August 25, 2014

It looked so much bigger before you put it on your head! (Um, I’m not saying you have a big head…. does this pineapple make me look fat?!)

Glad you got a nice treat. I guess you have to have patience for pineapple.

nrhatch - August 25, 2014

That is a great line ~> does this pineapple make me look fat? 😆

My head put the pineapple into proper perspective.

13. bluebee - August 25, 2014

I’ve heard that there is something in pineapple that removes fingerprints from human fingers, but it’s probably an urban legend.

nrhatch - August 25, 2014

I’ve got no fingerprints ~ my steel string guitar rubbed ’em out long ago. I had to be fingerprinted for my last job ~ they tried 3x and gave up.

Ha! Fooled ’em!

14. latebloomerbuds - August 25, 2014

What a fun surprise! I’m sure you savored every morsel.

nrhatch - August 25, 2014

Definitely a sweet treat! And, who knows, maybe we’ll get another one . . . in 3-4 years.

15. valleygrail - August 25, 2014

I love versatility! Admire it, wear it, eat it; the perfect fruit!

nrhatch - August 25, 2014

Thanks, VG! It’s like being a princess and wearing a tiara . . . but different.

valleygrail - August 25, 2014

More organic, I think!

nrhatch - August 26, 2014

And the look never goes out of season.

16. Patricia - August 25, 2014

Very pretty. Now that you have had one maybe next year you will have a bunch of them. I tried growing one when I had a yard. All I got was leaves and fire ants.

nrhatch - August 26, 2014

We planted the 3 tops in 2009 or 2010. For 4 years, all we had were spiked leaves. It might be another 4 years before a pineapple peeks out and makes an appearance.

Patricia - August 28, 2014

Good thing there are grocery stores and farmer’s markets.

nrhatch - August 28, 2014

Exactly!

17. diannegray - August 26, 2014

Fantastic, Nancy! There’s nothing better than growing fresh fruit 😀 And I LOVE the pic xxx

nrhatch - August 26, 2014

Thanks! I’m hoping that my lemon tree will start producing again ~ nothing this year. Not sure why. Maybe too few pollinators to go around.

18. Three Well Beings - August 27, 2014

I’m impressed it was edible! And that you grew it yourself from a pineapple top? I love that part most of all. It was very pretty while growing, so I think it’s worth the effort. I’m going to give it a try!

nrhatch - August 27, 2014

Great fun watching it grow . . . and then eating it!

I expect you’ll have great success in your climate, Debra. Our might have gotten bigger if the courtyard got more sun. Good luck!

19. pix & kardz - August 28, 2014

it looked like it was growing so well and large – until i saw your tiny topper. very cute.
 
i am reminded of a time years ago when a local market was selling ripe Hawaiian pineapples, freshly imported. i should have suspected something, but i saw that the price was marked at $2.98 which seemed a real bargain so of course I chose the biggest, best-looking one. it wasn’t until i was at the cashier that i realized that the price was $2.98 a lb, which was quite a price at the time.
 
if a price seems too steep for me now, i have no qualms changing my mind at the checkout. but in those days i felt too embarrassed to voice my thoughts ‘$15 for one pineapple is crazy!’ and i smiled through my teeth as i paid for it.
 
after i got home i told my roomie at the time – we are going to have some pineapple. and we are going to enjoy it! and we did polish it off within a few days. however i have to admit, it really was one of the tastiest pineapples i ever had.

nrhatch - August 28, 2014

Pineapple is definitely a hit or miss fruit. I’ve had some that knocked my socks off and others that caused me to pucker up.

I’m with you about the price. Back then, I might not have spoken up to say, “I’m sorry. That’s more than I want to pay.” These days, I wouldn’t hesitate to say, “On second thought, I think I’ll pass on the pineapple.”

Glad you got a good one to polish off with your roomie.

20. Tokeloshe - September 10, 2014

Wow, it’s beautiful, is that a Croton next to it? We had them in our garden when we lived in South Africa, but unfortunately in Calgary they can only survive indoors.

nrhatch - September 10, 2014

It is a Croton (judging from the photos I checked on the internet). We didn’t plant it so I didn’t know the name. Thanks!


What Say YOU?

