jump to navigation

A Scottish Love Story August 23, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Joke, People.
trackback

220px-The_Love_of_Zero,_35mm_film_Robert_Florey1928A young Scottish lad and lass were sitting on a low stone wall, holding hands, gazing out over the loch.

For several minutes they sat silently.

Then the girl looked at the boy and said, “A penny for your thoughts, Angus.”

“Well, uh, I was thinkin… perhaps it’s aboot time for a wee kiss.”

The girl blushed, leaned over, and kissed him lightly on the cheek.

The two turned once again to gaze out over the loch.

Minutes passed and the girl spoke again. “Another penny for your thoughts, Angus?”

“Well, uh, I was thinkin’ perhaps it’s noo aboot time for a wee cuddle.”

The girl blushed, leaned over, and cuddled him for a few seconds.

228px-Eugene_de_Blaas_A_Pensive_MomentThe two turned again to the loch.

After a while, she whispered, “Another penny for your thoughts, Angus.”

The young man glanced down with a furled brow, “Well, noo, my thoughts are a wee bit more serious.”

“Really?” said the lass in a whisper.

“Aye,” said the lad, nodding.

The girl looked away and bit her lip in anticipation of the ultimate request.

Reaching out, he turned her face to his and said, “Dae ye nae think it’s aboot time ye paid me the first two pennies?”

Och . . . that’s a wee bit better!

Source: e-mail from an unknown author (sent by Granny1947)

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - August 23, 2014

Ha ha! Those Scottish lads…they always want more. Thanks for the chuckle, Nancy!

nrhatch - August 23, 2014

This cracked me up . . . a penny saved is a penny earned!

2. Silver in the Barn - August 23, 2014

I like your choice of photos too, Nancy. Cute one!

nrhatch - August 23, 2014

Thanks, Barb. I tried to find one with a laddie, lassie, and loch. No luck. Plan B:

“Do what you can with what you have where you are.”

3. Val Boyko - August 23, 2014

…. now lets’ talk about stereotypes!?!? … Och very funny Nancy 🙂

nrhatch - August 23, 2014

My mom’s Scottish through and through ~ and she’s a wee bit proud of her lineage of . . . “frugality.” 😛

I can hear my mother’s mother laughing at this punch line.

4. William D'Andrea - August 23, 2014

There be the story of the great Scottish Poet Robert Burns, who met two fair maidens by the banks of Loch Lomond. They be named Bonnie Banks and Bonnie Braes. Neither romance worked out. Then he took the high road, and eventually met the daughter of a fellow named Max Welton. Her name be Annie Laurie.

May auld acquaintance nay be forgot.

nrhatch - August 23, 2014

Good one, William. By the bonnie bonnie banks of Loch Lomond!

5. Grannymar - August 23, 2014

Those Scots are a canny lot!

6. nrhatch - August 23, 2014

Angus is a shrewd and prudent man . . . who won’t count his chickens until they’ve “hatched.”

7. Barbara - August 23, 2014

Guid lad Angus, a canny Scot for sure…..the hub is always saying that to me but I cannae help it, ma mam taught me!

Barbara - August 23, 2014

…and I approve of the “penny for your thoughts” bit!

nrhatch - August 24, 2014

When I noticed that on your blog last week, I thought you might enjoy this “love story.”

nrhatch - August 24, 2014

Aye, I’m a wee bit the same way . . . and I cannae help it! I learned thrift and frugality at the knee of a master.

8. Behind the Story - August 24, 2014

When my dad, who is half Scottish, was young, his Uncle James sent him a letter filled with news and advice. We thought this one was a gem: “Money is your best friend, Andrew,” he wrote.

nrhatch - August 24, 2014

That is a gem, Nicki ~ money is a great bartering tool. Much easier than carting oxen and sheep aboot! :mrgreen:

9. Crowing Crone - August 24, 2014

hee hee. a great ending to that!

nrhatch - August 24, 2014

Not the twist I expected ~ I thought they might land in the loch.

10. Pix Under the Oaks - August 24, 2014

I always say “a penny for your thoughts” to CH because the guy is a bit quiet and I can tell when the wheels are turning, keeps it all to himself. I will always be thinking of this now when I say it!

nrhatch - August 24, 2014

CH is going to raid your piggy bank some day and collect on all those promised pennies! :mrgreen:

Pix Under the Oaks - August 24, 2014

Ha! 😀

nrhatch - August 24, 2014

Or maybe he’ll just let you treat him to a Cheeseburger!

11. jannatwrites - August 25, 2014

Hehe, have to collect before those pennies add up 🙂

nrhatch - August 25, 2014

The jar of pennies on my desk makes a great paperweight/bookend. It would provide purchasing power for more than an hour worth of thoughts.

12. Three Well Beings - August 27, 2014

What a hoot! I will have to remember this one. 🙂 I’m always saying “A penny for your thoughts! “

nrhatch - August 27, 2014

Make sure you keep a few pennies in your pocket then . . . in case you stumble onto an Angus who wants payment up front. 😛


What Say YOU?

