jump to navigation

“I Vant To Suck Your Blood” August 7, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Health & Wellness, Humor, Nature, People.
trackback

You’re not imagining it.

Those blood-sucking-good-for-nothing-tiny-vampires that should never have been allowed on the Ark really DO love YOU best!

Mosquito (in Public Domain)

Here’s why:

1. Blood Type ~ “Mmm . . . Type O.  My fave!”

2. Body Temp and Sweat ~ “Fee Fie Fo Fum, I smell the blood of a yum yum.”

3. Body Size ~ larger people expel more CO2, an aphrodisiac for skeeters.

4. Beer ~ skeeters are booze hounds.  If you drink it, they will find you.

5. Other factors ~ pregnancy, skin bacteria, clothing color, and genetics.

Or you might just lack the natural repellent that allows “even a Type O, exercising, pregnant woman in a black shirt to ward off mosquitoes.”

Aah . . . that’s better!

For more information:  Why Mosquitoes Bite Some People More Than Others  (Smithsonian)

 

Comments»

1. tenderlytina - August 7, 2014

If there’s one within a million miles it will find me. Such is life.

nrhatch - August 7, 2014

Sounds like you’re Skeeter Central ~ the Grand Central Station for skeeter bites. That sucks! :mrgreen:

tenderlytina - August 7, 2014

Yes, it does, been that way my whole life

2. suzicate - August 7, 2014

They gravitate toward the hubby while I don’t have much of a problem with them, and I am type O not him…I think he just must be sweeter than me, ha! However, I’m not much of a sweater.

nrhatch - August 7, 2014

There are so many variables discussed in the article that the scientists seem to be saying, “we’re not really sure yet.”

It may be related to what we eat and emit through our pores and breath. I recall that skeeters found me less “interesting” after I switched to a vegetarian diet. 😎

3. Jill Weatherholt - August 7, 2014

I’m a mosquito magnet, Nancy. 😦

nrhatch - August 7, 2014

If you hang out with a bunch of sweaty drinkers, they might switch allegiance . . . but keep the calamine lotion handy.

4. Rainee - August 7, 2014

What an interesting topic! I am one of the lucky ones that they don’t like 🙂

nrhatch - August 7, 2014

I am not their preferred meal either . . . but I’ll do in a pinch. 😎

5. Silver in the Barn - August 7, 2014

We are lucky in our neck of the woods (chose the word neck intentionally, Nancy!) We have lots of bats and they take care of mosquitoes quite efficiently.

nrhatch - August 7, 2014

Bats are wonderful that way . . . eating thousands of the little beasties in a single meal.

6. viviankirkfield - August 7, 2014

Sorry I’ve been MIA for a while…I’ve been focusing on my writing and stepping back from blogging and commenting. 😦
Great info on mosquitoes, Nancy…and tis the season to be…bitten. 🙂 In Colorado, I never saw a mosquito…so moving back here to the east coast took some adjustment…and lots of bug spray. 🙂
Hope all is well!

nrhatch - August 7, 2014

Hi Vivian! Life is full of ebbs and flows and adapting to change. Hope you’ve been enjoying your focus on writing.

Mosquitoes don’t like living in the desert. The arid air dries them out too much. :mrgreen:

7. katecrimmins - August 7, 2014

Until this year, I haven’t been their favorite. Then something changed. Now I am like caviar! They fight over me. Makes me wonder what’s going on in my body.

nrhatch - August 7, 2014

They like the aphrodisiac you’re wearing ~ eau de Starbucks, perhaps?

katecrimmins - August 7, 2014

No, I’ve been wearing that for years of non-biting. Must be something else.

nrhatch - August 7, 2014

I expect that our chemical composition changes as we grow, um, wiser . . . that’s probably it.

Or, perhaps, you’re not hanging around with enough heavy drinkers. Make friends with beer guzzling neighbors?

8. bearyweather - August 7, 2014

Did you know it is only the female mosquitoes that suck our (or animal) blood? The males like flower nectar.
It is true … hard to imagine with the billions of them that bit me this year (they love my ankles).

nrhatch - August 7, 2014

I have heard that before. I’ve also heard that they bite ankles because ankles are outside the Swat Zone.

9. In the Stillness of Willow Hill - August 7, 2014

Mosquitoes never touch me. I’m so thankful!

nrhatch - August 7, 2014

You can pop that onto your gratitude list for the day.

10. William D'Andrea - August 7, 2014

A few years ago, everyone in my neighborhood received an official letter warning that a truck would be going along the streets, spraying insecticide on everything. On the day and time it was scheduled, one guy stepped outside his house and was hit by a full blast.

People asked him, “Why are you complaining? They did announce ahead of time that they’d be spraying pests, didn’t they?”

nrhatch - August 7, 2014

Talk about adding insult to injury! 😛

11. Pix Under the Oaks - August 7, 2014

They love me! They don’t bother CH!!!

nrhatch - August 7, 2014

Most mosquitoes seem to prefer BFF to me . . . and he doesn’t usually have beer breath.

12. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - August 7, 2014

I was happier not knowing that! Now I’m afraid that they’ll be all over me since I’m a type O! Or, I’ll just make sure I’m always hanging out with my friends that drink… surely beer tops blood!

and I can’t believe I just typed the end to that sentence! 🙂

nrhatch - August 7, 2014

That’s the perfect tail for your tale, Kate ~ beer tops blood in my book too.

13. JOriginal Muse - August 7, 2014

I’m Type O and used to get the blood sucked out of me a lot. However, now that you mention it, it may be my transition to veganism that made me less desirable. Yet one more reason to go vegan 😉

nrhatch - August 7, 2014

Here’s to fruits, veggies, and grains . . .

14. Eric Tonningsen - August 7, 2014

Re: title. Is this this the German or Hungarian Nancy speaking?

nrhatch - August 7, 2014

Transylvania’s Count Dracula. 😛

William D'Andrea - August 11, 2014

I remember in the former TV Series “Buffy: the Vampire Slayer” there was a vampire named Spike, who spoke with a cockney English accent. When he used the word “Bloody”, it was more than just a cockney figure of speech.

nrhatch - August 11, 2014

Never watched the series. I tend to steer clear of Vampires. Except for Johnny Depp in Dark Shadows.

15. Grannymar - August 7, 2014

Fingers, knees and toes crossed as I mutter: I don’t think we have those nasties in Ireland. It is probably to cold and damp for them to survive.

nrhatch - August 7, 2014

They love Maine . . . and it’s cold and damp. Canada too. So maybe it’s just the luck of the Irish! :mrgreen:

16. Val Boyko - August 7, 2014

I’m getting my hubby to switch from wine to beer!! I am a magnet and he is never bitten ….
A great share Nancy!
Val x

nrhatch - August 7, 2014

It will be interesting to see if scientists succeed in creating an anti-body to repel the critters.

One day, perhaps, we’ll get a mosquito shot at the beginning of the summer and keep those buggers at bay.

17. Tokeloshe - August 7, 2014

Zhey love me too.

nrhatch - August 7, 2014

Judging from the comments, mosquitoes have good taste (and enjoy people who taste good).

18. ericjbaker - August 7, 2014

I got my mosquito bite for the year already. i usually get one about ever 3 years or so and then wonder what it was about that particular mosquito that found me tasty when all others ignore me.

nrhatch - August 7, 2014

Perhaps there was no one else at Ground Zero so they shrugged and said, “Tag! You’re IT!”

ericjbaker - August 7, 2014

I guess I have sour blood. I’ve never been bitten by a vampire, either.

nrhatch - August 8, 2014

Watch out for werewolves ~ different strokes for supernatural folks.

ericjbaker - August 8, 2014

Werewolves don’t seem to be picky eaters, do they?

nrhatch - August 8, 2014

No. They’re not finicky like cats.

19. jannatwrites - August 8, 2014

Mosquitoes love me (but I hate them.) I haven’t used my scented soaps and lotions for months. I even wore jeans, long sleeve shirt and socks/tennis shoes when outside at dusk and I still got mosquito bites on my ankles. Can’t wait for the cold temps, hehe….

nrhatch - August 8, 2014

We used to use Skin So Soft by Avon as an insect repellent ~ it smelled “OK” and kept the critters at bay. Some of them anyway.

20. bluebee - August 9, 2014

My poor niece gets bitten by the pesky things regularly, often on her eyelids while she sleeps 😦

nrhatch - August 9, 2014

OUCH!!! That’s such a sensitive place to get bitten. She needs mosquito netting to guard her while she gets some shuteye.

21. Three Well Beings - August 11, 2014

Oh this is interesting. I am Type O and don’t have too much trouble, but I’m interested in the genetic component. I don’t remember my parents or sibling having much trouble either, but one of my granddaughter’s attracts them! I always thought perhaps my vitamins gave off a repellant scent, but that is probably an unproved theory. Regardless, nasty critters! Should have been excluded from the ark! 🙂

nrhatch - August 11, 2014

I found the various parameters interesting ~> highlighting the fact that scientists don’t really know why some of us attract the nasty little buggers and others don’t.

If only Noah had left them behind. With the cockroaches. 😛


What Say YOU?

