jump to navigation

Teasing Taunts August 6, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Humor, Meditation, Mindfulness.
trackback

The-Pink-PantherAs soon as my mind hears the beginning of the Meditation CD (ocean waves or mountain streams), it settles down and takes a time out.

Well, not always.

Sometimes it continues to flit about like a speeding cheetah on steroids.

When it’s acting recalcitrant, I settle back to watch its merry dance . . . without chasing after its teasing taunts.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related post:  Distractions (In the Stillness of Willow Hill)

Comments»

1. Silver in the Barn - August 6, 2014

That’s the image I’ll have in mind at my next 3 a.m. wakeful period. A speeding cheetah. That’s exactly right!

nrhatch - August 6, 2014

Willow Hill put the image of speeding cheetahs in my mind.

The mind acts the sloth when we wish it to speed up, while speeding up when we ask it to slow down.

2. Don - August 6, 2014

And then in some strange way it simply starts to settle. 🙂

nrhatch - August 6, 2014

Yes! When we don’t chase after thoughts as they arise, the clouds start to part.

3. Val Boyko - August 6, 2014

How fascinating 🙂

4. NancyTex - August 6, 2014

I think, perhaps, that one if the biggest benefits of my yoga practice is that I now observe – but don’t judge – my speeding cheetah mind, without trying to still it. On the days it slows and quiets, I’m grateful – but on the days the merry dance is on tap, I just accept it without fighting it. That IS better! 🙂

nrhatch - August 6, 2014

Yes! That’s it ~> Accept all with joy. Relinquish all with joy.

Or as John used to say: “There’s nothing to get hung about. Strawberry Fields Forever.”

nrhatch - August 6, 2014

I get a kick out of watching my monkey mind at play.

5. katecrimmins - August 6, 2014

That’s what happens to me on chocolate!

nrhatch - August 6, 2014

Speeding Cheetahs LOVE chocolate! 😎

6. valleygrail - August 6, 2014

Smart! Watch that merry dance! Sure beats being at odds with all the activity going on inside our heads.

nrhatch - August 6, 2014

It’s amazing to watch the mind in action, bouncing about like a ping-pong ball in a wind tunnel.

7. ericjbaker - August 6, 2014

The only sound that relaxes me is a small window fan. Straight from nature!

nrhatch - August 6, 2014

Window fans = White Noise.

ericjbaker - August 6, 2014

Therefore

Fox News = Window fans

nrhatch - August 6, 2014

Haha! Res ipsa loquitur. :mrgreen:

8. Grannymar - August 6, 2014

I have a CD like that, but feel very uneasy each time I try to listen to it. I gave up and relax with some simple craft work to keep my fingers happy. That works for me.

nrhatch - August 6, 2014

Some meditation CD’s resonate with me. Others don’t.

I had one of “thunder storms at night” that was not relaxing ~ it made me feel as if I was in a tent in a raging storm about to be swept down stream. I gave it away. 😎

Arts and Crafts can be as relaxing as meditation.

9. Eric Tonningsen - August 6, 2014

Beautiful. Watching often yields relaxing. 🙂

nrhatch - August 6, 2014

Yes! Or . . . we get so exhausted trying to keep up with the mind’s wanderings that we nod off.

10. Jill Weatherholt - August 6, 2014

Working a jigsaw puzzle is one of the best ways for me to relax and clear my mind.

nrhatch - August 6, 2014

Yes! Something to think about without having to think about something.

11. Pix Under the Oaks - August 6, 2014

Nancy when I can’t sleep at night, which is every night I listen to Relax Daily’s Ocean Breeze on YouTube. I am usually out in no time! I use it during the day too when I have the anxieties!

nrhatch - August 6, 2014

When I went for a listen, I found lots of relaxing tunes, but this looks like the one you mentioned:

Pix Under the Oaks - August 6, 2014

That’s it! Ah!

nrhatch - August 6, 2014

Very relaxing. I can almost feel the breeze and hear the waves.

12. Three Well Beings - August 7, 2014

It’s interesting you’d share this. I was just thinking about something similar in my yoga class. Sometimes I’m very aware of the soft, pleasant and mood-enhancing music, but I often find I’m concentrating on the music alone. On the days when I’m really where I need to be in my practice, focused on my breath and blocking out distraction, I don’t even hear the music. And sometimes it is just a merry dance! 🙂

nrhatch - August 7, 2014

The CD’s I listen to help me settle, acting as white noise to block out more jarring sounds. I find, like you, that the music disappears (along with my thoughts) as I get deeper into the practice.

On the “best” days, the whole world fades away. And there is nothing to do . . . Just Be.

13. bluebee - August 8, 2014

You need a glass of wine with that CD :mrgreen:

nrhatch - August 8, 2014

Call me mellow yellow . . . :mrgreen:


What Say YOU?

