jump to navigation

A One-Of-A-Kind You! July 25, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Humor.
trackback

monkeysAnother year older?
You ought to be proud
You ought to get boisterous,
noistrous, and loud!

Just think of the things
you know how to do
The sorts of things no one
can do except you

Your brain’s full of wherefores
and who’s whos and whys.
You think someone else
has tried the same tries?

You’re one of a kind,
you’re uncommonly rare
You can’t be replaced
’cause there isn’t a spare

Okay, you’re another year older, it’s true . . .
But how many people
can say they are YOU?!

No one, that’s who!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Source:  Hallmark Dr. Seuss Card (sent by Betsy L.)

This is the other side of the coin from yesterday’s post.  You may not have a grand and glorious purpose to serve, but you do have a “job” to do.

Just Be . . . YOU!

Comments»

1. A One-Of-A-Kind You! | Human Relationships - July 25, 2014

[…] A One-Of-A-Kind You!. […]

2. Jill Weatherholt - July 25, 2014

I really enjoyed this, Nancy…especially since I celebrated a birthday this week! 🙂

nrhatch - July 25, 2014

Yay! Another July Baby! Hope your day was boisterous, noistrous, and loud, Jill! And full of good things to eat!

I’m glad our cyber paths crossed!

3. Silver in the Barn - July 25, 2014

Noistrous! I love that word. Adding to my repertoire.

nrhatch - July 25, 2014

Yay! One of my favorite things about Dr. Seuss rhymes is his ability to find or make the perfect word for every line.

That said, I hope this post qualifies as “fair use.” I want to follow in his footsteps, not step on his shoes. 😎

4. NancyTex - July 25, 2014

Great counter post, NH!

nrhatch - July 25, 2014

Thanks, NT. A happy bit of serendipity. I wrote yesterday’s post without thinking about this card. I decided to share this card without regard to yesterday’s post. And then I took a giant step back . . .

Life is filled to overflowing with all manner of paradox.

5. Don - July 25, 2014

Yeh! yeh! Nancy. Marvellous. Said in a way only Dr Seuss can. I must say that I become suspicious of any stance that describes our emergence in to or towards a kind of universal consciousness of uniformity and oneness without taking cognisance of individual identity.

nrhatch - July 25, 2014

Agreed! We see the world behind our eyes . . . a perspective that NO ONE else can share. Why should “they” view the world in the same way when they haven’t had the same experiences?

If we are destined to become “clones” . . . ONE would be enough.

6. Grannymar - July 25, 2014

‘…. You ought to get boisterous, noistrous, and loud!’ I love it.

nrhatch - July 25, 2014

Such a great way to celebrate the passage of years ~ here’s to raising the roof!

7. ericjbaker - July 25, 2014

Dr. Seuss is the greatest writer who ever lived.

nrhatch - July 25, 2014

I’m a BIG fan of the good doctor ~ he had a way with words.

8. In the Stillness of Willow Hill - July 25, 2014

Delightful.

nrhatch - July 25, 2014

I love the message in this missive.

9. Patricia - July 25, 2014

I like having birthdays. It’s like having your personal New Year celebration.

nrhatch - July 26, 2014

Whee! Happy NEW Year!

10. bluebee - July 26, 2014

Fun poem 😄 It’s a privilege to grow old.

nrhatch - July 26, 2014

That’s a good way to look at it, BB. We watched a movie the other night where a girl died of consumption at 22 ~ before she’d had a chance to dream big and reach far.

11. Pix Under the Oaks - July 26, 2014

So I am a one of a kind! I know someBODY who is probably happy about that! I am feeling better about my one of a kind self.. 😀

nrhatch - July 26, 2014

Yup! I know more than a few people who are ecstatic that I don’t have a bunch of clones wandering about getting into mischief.

Ooh . . . an army of ME. That’s scary! 🙄

12. William D'Andrea - July 26, 2014

My Birthday will be next Sunday, August 3rd. I will be 69 years old, and right now I’m in very good shape; much better than I’d been for many months. This past Winter and into the Spring I was feeling very depressed, and physically run down. Also, as a writer, I’d lost all interest in writing. I was beginning to wonder; since I’m a senior citizen, was I going into decline? That was a scary idea.
Now things have changed. I’ve been taking a nutritional supplement, called “Focus Formula”, which is supposed to help with “Memory-Recall” and “Concentration”. That’s right. “Smarter pills.”
The supplement has done much more than that. My entire body immediately began working better. I had a few pulled muscles and dislocations. As soon as I started taking those pills, I felt my muscles loosening up and pulling everything back into its proper place, this is a gradual healing process. I’m feeling much healthier and in better spirits than I have for a very long time. I actually have a bounce in my step.
There is a saying “Pull yourself together.” With me, that seems to be exactly what’s happening, and it’s no figure of speech.
I believe that my healing through the use of the nutritional supplement, is a blessing from the Lord. Like all blessings it’s something I should share. The right way to do that, is for me to suggest that if someone thinks “Focus Formula” might work for him or her, then he or she should go to a nearby pharmacy, ask someone who’s knowledgeable about it, and then make an informed decision about whether he or she should purchase the product.
I know the old jokes about Smarter Pills, but the ones I’m taking are working for me.

nrhatch - July 26, 2014

Glad you’re “pulling yourself together.” Happy (almost) Birthday.

13. Three Well Beings - July 28, 2014

That’s my goal, Nancy! Be ME! Sometimes that’s harder than it sounds. LOL! But before I leave this planet, I’m going to get that straight. Thank you!

nrhatch - July 28, 2014

I think we’re like diamonds ~ multi-faceted. There’s the ME that enjoys writing and reading, the Me that enjoys cooking and eating, the ME that enjoys making people laugh and think, the ME that wanted to go to law school, the ME that wanted to leave the practice of law, the ME that sings, the ME that plays guitar.

Here’s to YOU! And you . . . and you . . . and you. 😎


What Say YOU?

