jump to navigation

Taste of Pine Avenue ~ Garden Project July 23, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Home & Garden, Sustainable Living.
trackback

For a different type of community garden, check out the Taste of Pine Avenue Garden Project, featuring nutritious food grown in raised bed gardens outside shops in Anna Maria’s quaint business district:

In the garden:  Okinawa Spinach, Edible Hibiscus, Katuk, Moringa, Ethiopian Kale, Roselle, Chinese Spinach, and Seminole Pumpkin.

Aah . . . that’s better!

For Recipes, like Peanut Butter & Jelly and Katuk or Moringa Muffins:

Perfect Island ~ Growing Edibles

For more information:

ECHOnet.org * Echo’s Guide to Summertime Garden Vegetables

Related posts: The Historic Green Village

Comments»

1. Pix Under the Oaks - July 23, 2014

I will watch Nancy when I have a peaceful hour to myself!

nrhatch - July 23, 2014

It’s an interesting panel discussion about growing what wants to be grown where you have space to grow it.

We went to the gardens yesterday (27 raised beds up and down the street) to see what was growing. Only picked a single red pepper because I didn’t recognize most of the plants. I came home with the web address, did some reading, and an interested to try katuk, moringa, and roselle.

2. Jill Weatherholt - July 23, 2014

You are a wealth of information, Nancy!

nrhatch - July 23, 2014

It’s a great idea to create more locally grown sustainable food . . . and to encourage folks to plant in their own yards.

Jill Weatherholt - July 23, 2014

First I must get rid of the controlling HOA…no gardens allowed! 😦

nrhatch - July 23, 2014

We can’t have a proper garden . . . but we can grow things in the courtyard (like our pineapple and our lemon tree) and in containers. I might have to give some of these heat loving plants a try.

3. Grannymar - July 23, 2014

I had spuds and veggies straight from the garden at my sisters. We did wait until she cooked them 😉 they were very tasty and just right for me after my tummy bug.

nrhatch - July 23, 2014

Spuds and veggies straight from the garden are THE BEST! Glad that you are recovering from your tummy ailment.

4. Barbara - July 23, 2014

Wow, I’ve never heard of some of these plants…..very interesting, and wonderful to encourage people to grow their own.
Growing your own vegies is extremely satisfying and so much tastier than shop bought. I’m planting peas, snow peas, beets, spinach, and broccoli today in my own yard – nothing as exciting as in the video, but still good stuff!

nrhatch - July 23, 2014

I had never heard of them either. But I am going to give a few of them a try. Perhaps a Pasta dish with peanut thai sauce an kaput.

5. Val Boyko - July 24, 2014

What cool people and a wonderful project!! Really interesting 🙂 You do live in an amazing place Nancy!

nrhatch - July 24, 2014

I agree, Val. This spot of the planet is filled with things of interest to me . . . all beside a sparkling turquoise sea.

6. Three Well Beings - July 28, 2014

There are some goodies here I’ve never even heard of either. Katuk and Moringa–now I’m curious! I love community gardens and this sounds very special. I know you must get up every morning and pinch yourself with all that’s found on that wonderful island! 🙂

nrhatch - July 28, 2014

Moving here is one of the Top 10 BEST Decisions of my life ~ being 2 miles from the beach is exactly where I want to be. Any night we want a sunset stroll, we can be on the sand in about 5 minutes.

Yesterday, 5 of us wanted to go to the beach. BFF drove us over and dropped us off (so we didn’t have to scout out a parking spot). Two hours later, we called him for a ride home. By the time we gathered chairs, noodles, umbrella, towels, cooler, and got them to the parking lot, he drove up.

And the beach is just one aspect of this idyllic island. 😎


What Say YOU?

