jump to navigation

Par For The Course July 19, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Humor, Joke.
trackback

Golf-BallThe owner of a golf course in Georgia was confused about paying an invoice, so he decided to ask his secretary for some mathematical help.

He called her into his office and said, “Y’all graduated from the University of Georgia and I need some help. If I wuz to give yew $20,000, minus 14%, how much would you take off?”

The secretary thought a moment, and then replied, “Everthang but my earrings.”

Aah . . . that’s better!

Source:  e-mail from unknown author (sent by Joe M.)

Comments»

1. Silver in the Barn - July 19, 2014

I saw it coming but it still made me laugh!!!

nrhatch - July 19, 2014

He shoots! He scores! :mrgreen:

2. katecrimmins - July 19, 2014

Hmmm….she was a bookkeeper at a company I worked at…..

nrhatch - July 19, 2014

You can’t trust those gals in accounting! 😎

katecrimmins - July 19, 2014

Nope and btw, the earrings came off too.

nrhatch - July 19, 2014

Haha! Talk about getting down to the “bottom line.”

3. Pix Under the Oaks - July 19, 2014

I didn’t see it coming! Ha!

nrhatch - July 19, 2014

I got a kick out of her “everthang.” 😎

4. valleygrail - July 19, 2014

So funny!! I did not see that coming!

nrhatch - July 19, 2014

Yay! The best jokes are those we can see happening . . . but we didn’t see them coming. :mrgreen:

valleygrail - July 19, 2014

You are so right! I love your humor!

nrhatch - July 19, 2014

Thanks, VG. I just swung by your blog for the first time. I don’t know why it took me so long. Enjoyed meeting Smoky Joe.

5. granny1947 - July 19, 2014

Love it and it didn’t come from me!!!

nrhatch - July 19, 2014

I’ll be sharing at least one of the ones you send me today ~ stay tuned!

6. ericjbaker - July 19, 2014

I’d take it off for $20, but no one is buying.

😦

😉

nrhatch - July 19, 2014

That reminds me of the old Joe Namath commercials for shaving cream ~> “Take it off. Take it all off.”

ericjbaker - July 19, 2014

Thanks for making me feel old.

😉

nrhatch - July 19, 2014

I bet the Namath ads aired way before you needed to shop for shaving cream.

7. Eric Tonningsen - July 19, 2014

Those Southern Belle’s…

nrhatch - July 19, 2014

You can dress ’em up . . . but they don’t stay that way! :mrgreen:

8. Behind the Story - July 19, 2014

I did see it coming, but that didn’t ruin a thing.

The specifics of the joke (“the owner of a golf course in Georgia”) make me wonder whether there’s a true story in there somewhere. Or should I ask? Probably not.

nrhatch - July 19, 2014

I suspect it’s more joke than true story . . . with a kernel of observation about human nature thrown in for good measure.

9. Jill Weatherholt - July 19, 2014

That’s great, Nancy! I live on a golf course, you definitely have to watch out for those owners and their secretaries!
OMG…Joe Namath! Didn’t he do a panty hose commercial also? Was Eric even born when those commercials were made? 🙂

Jill Weatherholt - July 19, 2014

Correction…”You definitely have to watch”…I’m having a glass of wine on an empty stomach.

nrhatch - July 19, 2014

All fixed! Eric wasn’t old enough to watch TV, shave, or carry a man purse when those commercials aired.

10. Val Boyko - July 20, 2014

You are on par today!! 🙂

nrhatch - July 20, 2014

Thanks, Val! Hope your day features a hole-in-one!

11. diannegray - July 22, 2014

Haaaaa! She is a graduate! 😀

nrhatch - July 22, 2014

It’s the little details that make the joke! I bet this was written by an alum from a rival school. 😎

12. Three Well Beings - July 25, 2014

How can you not laugh! LOL!

nrhatch - July 25, 2014

Laughter is the thang I’m after! 😎


What Say YOU?

