jump to navigation

It’s Curtains for Coffee July 18, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Humor.
trackback

Last month, the South Florida Museum partnered up to present a play in the planetarium, preceded by dessert and coffee in the atrium, PLUS a sneak peak at its exhibit on Coffee.

I don’t have any photos from the play because they asked us to “Please Refrain from Photography.”

I don’t have any photos of the Blonde Banana Brownie because I ate it.

I do have a few snaps to share from the Coffee exhibit . . .

2014-06-21 20-17-42_0012

Harvesting coffee is labor intensive because the beans are hand-picked . . .

2014-06-21 20-19-43_0020

Beans must be processed the day of harvest to remove the hull . . .

2014-06-21 20-19-57_0022

Goats get buzzed off coffee beans (no roasting required) . . .

2014-06-21 20-18-05_0014

Coffee beans are shipped in burlap bags with unique artwork . . .

2014-06-21 20-18-25_0015

Through the ages, we’ve developed many coffee accoutrements . . .

2014-06-21 20-17-54_0013

Because we “heart” coffee . . .

2014-06-21 20-19-02_0019

This sack seems to say “Rise and Shine” . . .

2014-06-21 20-18-55_0018

But this one says it all . . .

2014-06-21 20-18-34_0016a

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Crowing Crone - July 18, 2014

love the burlap bags!

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

Me too! I had fun picking out a few favorites to share, including “Gimme Coffee.”

2. Jill Weatherholt - July 18, 2014

What a cool exhibit, Nancy! Everything is better when coffee is involved. Love the gimme coffee bag!

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

Like afternoon tea, meeting for coffee is “civilized.” A great way to hang out with friends (or hook up with a potential beau). And no one gets rip-snorting drunk off of espresso.

Just a subtle buzz. No hangover. Perfect with a sweet treat.

Jill Weatherholt - July 18, 2014

My latest addiction at Starbucks is a Mocha Lite Frappuccino. It’s not on most menus, but they make it. It’s like a coffee Slurpee, not whipped cream and only 120 calories. It’s awesome!

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

That sounds terrific, Jill. A bargain basement calorie count!

3. JOriginal MuseJoanne - July 18, 2014

I’ll bet that Blonde Banana Brownie went down well with a Java chaser πŸ˜‰

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

It did! The Coffee Shop brought 7-8 coffees for us to sample with biscotti or Banana Nut Brownies. We felt like real grown ups since we almost never have coffee (and dessert!) AT NIGHT.

And, as I recall, neither of us had trouble falling asleep.

4. katecrimmins - July 18, 2014

I would have been in heaven although I am disappointed that you wolfed down the brownie without memorializing it for your fans. Of course, that means I won’t be drooling over my computer.

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

I feel terrible about not taking a photo of the banana brownie. I just wolfed it down with a cuppa Joe.

5. NancyTex - July 18, 2014

mmm coffee…

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

It’s my favorite aroma in the morning. 😎

NancyTex - July 18, 2014

the scent of a nice, rich espresso after a satisfying dinner isn’t anything to sneeze at either!

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

I love the smell of espresso. :mrgreen:
(But it tastes too “muddy” for me).

6. ericjbaker - July 18, 2014

Those bags could be repurposed into something trendy, marketable, and expensive.

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

It would give the moniker “bag lady” a whole new twist!

7. Pix Under the Oaks - July 18, 2014

Love the bags! I am not a coffee drinker but I enjoy smelling it brew when CH makes it the morning.. πŸ˜€

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

The best part of waking up . . . is smelling the coffee brew.

8. Silver in the Barn - July 18, 2014

Ericjbaker just made me laugh! I kind of thought the same thing. Some designer will be using them to upholster wing chairs, you watch!

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

Eric just started a serial story on his blog this morning. It might have something to do with a cereal killer? Or maybe pizza?

It’s a LONG short story, so he’s sharing it in small bites so that we don’t get indigestion. You might like to check it out.

No zombies or werewolves yet. Yay!

9. restlessjo - July 18, 2014

Grateful for small mercies! I always enjoy a good cup of coffee πŸ™‚

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

Thanks for sharing your writing world on Jill’s blog! Enjoyed the interview.

10. diannegray - July 18, 2014

Now I feel like a Blonde Banana Brownie (okay – if I said this to my kids they’d say ‘you don’t look like one’) πŸ˜‰

I’d love to have some of those sacs scattered around the RUC πŸ˜€

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

The burlap bags tickled my fancy too . . . and so did the goat!

The Banana Brownie tasted like a decadent dense banana nut quick bread with sweet vanilla (or maybe maple) icing. They offered us seconds but we were already floating on a sugar high and turned them down. Did I mention it was sweet?

11. Behind the Story - July 18, 2014

Beautiful coffee bags. I love the sun and moon. What would we do without coffee and tea? And coffee shops and tea houses.

nrhatch - July 19, 2014

The sun and moon is my favorite . . . but the last one made me laugh. Coffee and tea are “rise and shine” beverages.

12. jannatwrites - July 19, 2014

“I don’t have any photos of the Blonde Banana Brownie because I ate it.” – that would be me!

I’m not a coffee drinker, but I bet my husband would enjoy such an exhibit…. I don’t think he goes a day without at least one cup πŸ™‚

nrhatch - July 19, 2014

Since I started drinking coffee, there haven’t been many days that didn’t start with same Java Juice to rev the engines.

“A cup of Joe and I’m good to Go.” Vroom. Vroom.

13. Three Well Beings - July 19, 2014

The artwork is great. And I love all the coffee accoutrements. I have a fair share of those items in various cupboards myself! I do love my coffee, although my husband claims I don’t drink coffee, I drink coffee beverages. I do jazz it up a bit! I am dependent on my morning coffee, though, no matter what it’s called. The Banana Brownie would have been a hit with me! πŸ™‚

nrhatch - July 19, 2014

A cup of coffee in the morning (with almond milk and sugar) helps me transition from sleepy slumber to awake and alert with fewer groans of protest. It’s a Kick Start to the day!

I had a French Press, espresso cups, etc., but now it’s just Mr. Coffee and me. 😎

14. Val Boyko - July 19, 2014

Coffee and a sweet treat … makes my day too! Thank you for sharing the exhibit and the great bags πŸ™‚

nrhatch - July 19, 2014

Enjoy the tail end of your Italian vacation, Val! Better get an extra helping of Gelato before heading home.


What Say YOU?

