jump to navigation

Hey, That Prickles! July 16, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Home & Garden, Vegetarian Recipes.
trackback

In April, I shared Our Budding Pineapple Plantation with you . . .

2014-04-25 09-46-09_0003

Since then, our lone pineapple has continued to grow . . .

2014-07-13 15-54-55_0026

With a rather majestic looking crown . . .

2014-07-13 15-54-41_0024

Aah . . . that’s better!

Care to share any good pineapple recipes?

Related post:  Pineapple Chutney

Comments»

1. Pix Under the Oaks - July 16, 2014

It is gorgeous Nancy, call me strange but I couldn’t eat it.. 😀 CH and I would have named it by now!

nrhatch - July 16, 2014

We are getting a little attached to it. Maybe I should have a naming contest ~ or a height and weight when “delivered” contest!

2. Jill Weatherholt - July 16, 2014

Aw…he’s to cute to eat! But, if you must, I like my pineapple peeled and cut into chucks…aah…that’s better. 🙂

nrhatch - July 16, 2014

I agree, Jill. The pineapple chutney recipe uses canned pineapple. With fresh pineapple, I like it peeled, cored, and chunked. Straight up!

3. NancyTex - July 16, 2014

So tiny and cute!

nrhatch - July 16, 2014

It’s a slow grow ~ at this rate, it might be our Halloween centerpiece.

4. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - July 16, 2014

I’m still so jealous! I am seriously considering planting my next top!

nrhatch - July 16, 2014

If you have a spot, go for it. We buried the 3 tops and liked how they looked. We would have been satisfied even if they never produced fruit ~> this pineapple is an unexpected jewel in the crown.

5. ericjbaker - July 16, 2014

The pineapple is the world’s funniest fruit. It looks like a hand grenade, sports a comically flamboyant hat, and is the best of all fruits for random humor. Like if you did a parody of Star Wars and had to incorporate fruit somehow. “That’s no moon… that’s a pineapple!” And so on.

nrhatch - July 16, 2014

Yes! The Pineapple Death Star Hand Grenade . . . with the Carmen Miranda Hat.

ericjbaker - July 16, 2014

Dig the shoulder pads and the gren/red combo. Very festive!

nrhatch - July 16, 2014

That outfit just screams, PAR~TAY! With a South American accent.

6. Eric Tonningsen - July 16, 2014

One can never not appreciate Carmen Miranda. The clip is wonderful. As for recipes, fresh pina always goes into my morning smoothies. Plus, it’s incredibly good for human’s digestive systems.

nrhatch - July 16, 2014

Fresh pineapple smoothie . . . yes, please! What a great way to start your day with yummy anti-oxidants.

7. Don - July 16, 2014

Planting and growing pineapples! I admire your courage Nancy. Not an easy thing to do. 🙂

nrhatch - July 16, 2014

When planting pineapples . . . patience is a virtue. It’s a slow grow. 😎

8. Silver in the Barn - July 16, 2014

Nancy, I am so impressed! I sort of agree with some of the other commenters that I would be so attached to it, I’d have a hard time eating it.

nrhatch - July 16, 2014

I’ve enjoyed watching it grow. If it reaches maturity, without getting plucked by a neighborhood critter, I expect I’ll be able to eat it guilt-free. But . . . time will tell.

9. Val Boyko - July 17, 2014

He’s getting big! Thanks for sharing the pineapple journey Nancy!
Val

nrhatch - July 17, 2014

I hope to be able to share continued Pineapple Progress . . . but it’s a slow grow. Great for developing patience with process.

10. Sandra Bell Kirchman - July 17, 2014

Love that pineapple! I think a naming contest would be fun. Carmen Pineapple-a. 😀

nrhatch - July 17, 2014

Carmen says she likes the idea ~ a naming contest will be a feather in her cap . . . or a spike in her crown!

11. jannatwrites - July 18, 2014

Pineapples are so cool! At least it’s interesting to look at – especially since it takes its time growing 🙂

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

Pineapple plantations require plenty of patience. But, whatever the ultimate outcome, we’ve enjoyed our time with “the little prince.”

12. Three Well Beings - July 18, 2014

We don’t have the same tropical climate, but with a little extra TLC I wonder if I could grow a pineapple? I must try. That is such a great plant and yours looks really so pretty in your garden! How fun!

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

If you have a small plot of land, go for it! I’ve loved the looks of the plants since day #1 and never really expected to pluck a prickly pineapple.

BTW: We aren’t in a tropical climate either, Debra. It can freeze (or hover just above freezing) in most of Florida. We have mild winters, no snow and ice, and the plants have survived at least 3 winters with no coddling.


What Say YOU?

