jump to navigation

People Watching: Food Courts July 13, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Joke, Mindfulness, People.
trackback

I took my dad to the mall the other day to buy some new shoes; he is 82. We decided to grab a bite at the food court.

As we ate, he honed in on a teenager sitting at the table next to us. The teenager had spiked hair in a wide variety of colors: green, red, orange, and blue.

My dad kept staring at him, without saying anything.

Annoyed, the teenager sarcastically asked, “What’s the matter, old man, never done anything wild in your life?”

Knowing my Dad, I quickly swallowed my food.

Dear old dad returned the volley with ease, “Got drunk and had sex with a peacock once . . . I was just wondering if you were my kid.”

Aah . . . that’s better!

Source:  e-mail from an unknown author.

Comments»

1. two engaging goldens - July 13, 2014

God bless him – what a great response. Joy

nrhatch - July 13, 2014

I can hear “Walter” (Jeff Dunham’s puppet) coming up with a comeback like that. 😎

2. scifihammy - July 13, 2014

Words of wisdom! hehe 🙂

nrhatch - July 13, 2014

Here’s to being Wise and Witty!

3. NancyTex - July 13, 2014

And that’s how you handle a smart ass. 🙂

nrhatch - July 13, 2014

Exactly! Here’s to being the King of Comeback. 😎

4. Silver in the Barn - July 13, 2014

LOVE IT!!

nrhatch - July 13, 2014

I thought after our witty little lady yesterday that turn about for the gents made sense.

5. Jill Weatherholt - July 13, 2014

That’s hilarious, Nancy! I laughed out loud…thanks! 🙂

nrhatch - July 13, 2014

Glad you got a kick out of him, Jill.

6. Pix Under the Oaks - July 13, 2014

I love people that can be quick with a quip!

nrhatch - July 13, 2014

Me too! I hope my sense of humor stays with me until I reach the Finish Line.

7. Behind the Story - July 13, 2014

What a fantastic comeback!

nrhatch - July 13, 2014

Snappy and witty with perfect comedic timing.

8. jannatwrites - July 13, 2014

Haha… bet that left (pea) cock-y youth speechless 🙂

nrhatch - July 13, 2014

I bet he laughed and said, “You’re alright . . . for an old guy.”

9. bluebee - July 13, 2014

Hahaha

nrhatch - July 13, 2014

Almost makes me want to go people watching at the food court while “listening in.”

10. valleygrail - July 13, 2014

That was priceless!

nrhatch - July 14, 2014

Yay! Glad you got a chuckle out of his quick wit.

11. Barbara - July 14, 2014

Brilliant! Like I said yesterday, don’t mess with old folks.

nrhatch - July 14, 2014

With life comes experience . . . and perspective. 😎

12. diannegray - July 14, 2014

What a classic! 😀

nrhatch - July 14, 2014

Next time I’m at the food court, I’m going to do some eavesdropping. 😎

13. Three Well Beings - July 15, 2014

Perfect come back! I catch myself staring at tattoos. I’d better come up with my own retort, just in case!

nrhatch - July 15, 2014

Yes! I’m intrigued by the “why” of “too many” tattoos and body piercings ~ especially eyebrows, cheeks, lips, and tongues. If you come up with a good retort for when you’re caught staring, let me know. 😎


What Say YOU?

