jump to navigation

Can You Pass This Quick Quiz? July 7, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Mindfulness.
trackback

Frog-CircusSomething to keep those “aging” grey cells active!

The Questions:

1. Johnny ‘s mother had three children. The first child was named April. The second child was named May.

What was the third child ‘s name?

2. The clerk at the butcher shop is five feet ten inches tall and wears size 13 sneakers.  What does he weigh?

3. Before Mt. Everest was discovered, what was the highest mountain in the world?

4. How much dirt is there in a hole that measures two feet by three feet by four feet?

5. What word in the English Language is always spelled incorrectly?

Xmas-Cat6. Billy was born on December 28th, yet his birthday is always in the summer.

How is this possible?

7. In California, you cannot take a picture of a man with a wooden leg.  Why not?

8. If you are running a race and pass the person in 2nd place, what place are you in now?

9. Which is correct to say: “The yolk of the egg are white” or “The yolk of the egg is white”?

get-attachment

10. If a farmer has 5 haystacks in one field and 4 haystacks in the other field, how many haystacks would he have if he combined them all in another field?

Tree-Frog-PerchedaThe Answers ~ score 10 points for each correct answer:

1. Johnny’s mother had three children. The first child was named April The second child was named May. What was the third child ‘s name?

Answer: Johnny

2. The clerk at the butcher shop is five feet ten inches tall, and wears size 13 sneakers. What does he weigh?

Answer: Meat

3. Before Mt. Everest was discovered, what was the highest mountain in the world?

Answer: Mt. Everest

4. How much dirt is there in a hole that measures two feet by three feet by four feet?

Answer: None

5. What word in the English Language is always spelled incorrectly?

Answer: Incorrectly

Huey,-Dewey-And-Louie

6. Billy was born on December 28th, yet his birthday is always in the summer.

How is this possible?

Answer: Billy lives in the Southern Hemisphere

(LOTS of my blogging buddies got this one right!)

7. In California, you cannot take a picture of a man with a wooden leg. Why not?

Answer: You can’t take pictures with a wooden leg. You need a camera or smart phone to take pictures.

Jogging8.  If you are running a race, and you pass the person in 2nd place, what place are you in now?

Answer: Second place.

9. Which is correct to say: “The yolk of the egg are white” or “The yolk of the egg is white”?

Answer: Neither.  The yolk of the egg is yellow.

10. If a farmer has 5 haystacks in one field and 4 haystacks in the other field, how many haystacks would he have if he combined them all in another field?

Answer: One big haystack.

Aah . . . that’s better!

How did you do?  Are your gray cells still in the prime of life?

E-mail from unknown author (sent by Granny 1947)

 

Comments»

1. Don - July 7, 2014

Enjoyed that Nancy. 🙂

nrhatch - July 7, 2014

Due to the nature of the quiz, I focusd on the questions and caught the catch in each. In casual conversation, I expect I would have tossed out a few wrong answers.

2. NancyTex - July 7, 2014

I must have eaten lots of brainy food for breakfast because I got them all. 🙂

nrhatch - July 7, 2014

These are not difficult questions . . . if we are being mindful. In a conversation, I’m sure I would have said “nine” for ten.

#6 was a “gimme” after 4 years of reading blogs from South Africa, Australia, and New Zealand. 😎

3. Tammy - July 7, 2014

Thanks Nancy

nrhatch - July 7, 2014

Hope you’re still enjoying the challenges of your new job ~> change keeps our gray cells “on the ball.”

4. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - July 7, 2014

The haystack one had me stumped for a bit – I couldn’t figure out the twist! 🙂

nrhatch - July 7, 2014

I expect that one would have tripped me up in a casual conversation. My brain screamed, “NINE!”

Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - July 7, 2014

Mine too!!!

5. katecrimmins - July 7, 2014

I got them all right. Somehow that makes me wonder if I am focusing on the little things.

nrhatch - July 7, 2014

Not too difficult . . . if you’re paying attention. Kind of like LIFE!

katecrimmins - July 7, 2014

But when I worked I could never get these kinds of questions. Much too obvious!

nrhatch - July 7, 2014

That, and needing to get to the next thing on the To Do List.

6. ericjbaker - July 7, 2014

I hope people got the right wrong answer for number 9.

nrhatch - July 7, 2014

That would give you an idea for your next grammar lesson. 😎

7. Eric Tonningsen - July 7, 2014

I was Eric Baker aligned and went grammatical. Missed #9. Fun exercise, Nancy.

nrhatch - July 7, 2014

Eric Baker will give partial credit to anyone who gets the right wrong answer.

8. Pix Under the Oaks - July 7, 2014

I love these! You have probably done more but I think this is the second post I have read.

nrhatch - July 7, 2014

I recall one other along these lines. They are fun to share.

9. Val Boyko - July 7, 2014

These are great to get the grey matter ignited today 🙂

nrhatch - July 7, 2014

Yay! Glad it got you chugging out of the station.

10. Jill Weatherholt - July 7, 2014

I missed #9 too, Nancy. I can’t even blame it on not eating egg yokes…that’s my favorite part. Love the photos!

nrhatch - July 7, 2014

I’m surprised at the number of folks who got #9 wrong ~ guess the yolks on me! I thought the photo of the chicken and the egg would clue everyone in. 😎

Jill Weatherholt - July 7, 2014

Ha ha! I guess some of us are a little slow.

nrhatch - July 7, 2014

Unlikely. More likely “distracted.”

11. Kate - July 7, 2014

Oh dear; I wear the dunce cap today for scoring worse than your other, supermely intelligent followers – I’ll blame it on the fact that it’s late evening here and a glass of wine may have dulled my reasoning and mental agility 😉

nrhatch - July 7, 2014

Evening, glass of wine, running around after Harry all day, making creative crafts, etc. ~> you’ve got ample excuses.

Will your next craft project be a Dunce Cap to sit in the corner?

12. diannegray - July 7, 2014

The only one I got wrong was #7 Do’h! Tricked me 😉

nrhatch - July 7, 2014

Well, you don’t live in America (and Americans have some strange rules), so I’m going to give you partial credit for that one. 😎

13. suzicate - July 7, 2014

Ha, I missed #6 and 7! Can I blame it on the glass of wine I just drank?

nrhatch - July 7, 2014

Yes! Wine is an accepted excuse on this quiz. 😎

14. Grannymar - July 8, 2014

Early morning reading on the 8th for me. My youngest brother has a birthday today. It was always a summer birthday, but since he moved to Melbourne, it had changed season to wintertime.

nrhatch - July 8, 2014

Happy Birthday to your brother down under! July birthdays are great ~> 1/2 way to the Holidays.

15. jannatwrites - July 8, 2014

I didn’t do so well on this. Not going to reveal how poorly, though 🙂

nrhatch - July 8, 2014

Well, I’m going to assume that’s because you had 3 other balls in the air at the same time. Or your characters were distracting you.

16. bluebee - July 11, 2014

Glad to know the old brain is working this morning. Time to take on the world!

nrhatch - July 11, 2014

Yay! Statistics show that people who take this quiz in the morning do better than those who take it AFTER wine in the evening. 😎


What Say YOU?

