jump to navigation

Cannonball! July 6, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Humor, Nature, Poetry, Travel & Leisure.
trackback

Brittle air asphixiates

A smothering blanket of humidity
Strangles every breath

Melting feet to pavement

IMGP2622c

Stifling muggy heat
Chokes all thought

Escape plans evaporate

IMGP3233b

Crisp gingerbread cookies
Reduced to a leathery crust

In a hot summer oven

*

**

* * *

* S~P~L~A~S~H! *

IMGP1205

Aah . . . that’s better!

How do you like to Beat the Heat in the sultry days of summer?

Comments»

1. Pix Under the Oaks - July 6, 2014

I like to beat the heat sitting in a comfy chair in my air conditioned porch reading a book or watching a movie. Boring huh? Or under the Oaks listening to the birds… or reading blogs!

nrhatch - July 6, 2014

Sounds like a great way to beat the heat. I could not live in Florida in the summer without A/C . . . unless I lived IN the pool. 😎

2. Crowing Crone - July 6, 2014

Nothing beats AC for beating the heat! well except maybe a good hard rain

nrhatch - July 6, 2014

There is nothing like a good hard rain to clear the air.

3. Don - July 6, 2014

I love the way it soars in the beginning and then brings us down to earth with crisp gingerbread cookies, and then the splash. A true celebration of earthiness. Thanks Nancy. That’s what I thought and felt as I read your post. 🙂

nrhatch - July 6, 2014

Thanks, Don. I love summer days, but sometimes it feels like an oven.

4. Val Boyko - July 6, 2014

I felt the constriction melt and turn to crispness … ready to explode and release. Great choice of words Nancy!

nrhatch - July 6, 2014

Thanks, Val. The heat’s been intense, but maybe my brain’s not fried yet. 😎

5. Jill Weatherholt - July 6, 2014

I enjoy the heat on the weekends because during the week my office has icicles on the ceiling! It’s so cold.
Loved your description, Nancy!

nrhatch - July 6, 2014

I’m with you, Jill. When we go to a store, restaurant, theatre, etc., and the A/C is blasting Arctic Air, I need to go out and warm up.

Jill Weatherholt - July 6, 2014

When I lived in Florida, I couldn’t wait to get outside to defrost. 🙂

nrhatch - July 6, 2014

I generally bring a jacket, especially if we’re going to be sitting down inside. I’m usually OK if I keep moving.

6. diannegray - July 6, 2014

It’s not like this in Aus at the moment, but come Christmas time I’ll be splashing in that pool, Nancy! 😀

nrhatch - July 6, 2014

We can swim year round here (except for a few COLD days) but I prefer getting wet in the summer. We walk and bike more in the winter and swim more in the summer.

7. Behind the Story - July 7, 2014

Some good phrases. I like “melting feet to pavement.” It reminds me of the time last week when I tried to run barefoot across the hot sand in Maui and had to turn around and come back for my flip flops.

nrhatch - July 7, 2014

Thanks, Nicki. Some beaches are too hot to tackle barefoot. Dark sand gets HOT under blazing sun. There’s a big difference in temperature between the grayish sand in New Jersey and the white sand here. White sand stays cool to the touch.

8. Grannymar - July 7, 2014

We had one day where it was uncomfortably hot. The front rooms of my house have the heat in the mornings and the rooms at the back stay quite cool, by the middle of the afternoon when the sun moves round the front rooms are where I go to cool off.

nrhatch - July 7, 2014

It’s nice that you have cool spots for morning and afternoon.

My grandparents opened windows at night to admit cool air. In the morning, they shut the windows and pulled the blinds, trapping the cooler air inside and blocking access to the sun. It worked well, except on the hottest days.

Grannymar - July 7, 2014

I notice in France, Spain and Italy, the shutters are closed during the day in the summer months. They also have tiled floors. Here in Ireland we prefer carpet to help keep our feet warm. One week of good sunshine is considered a heatwave here!

9. jannatwrites - July 8, 2014

This is nice! I could feel the humidity strangling me… then I remembered, I’m in Arizona. *Whew* When it’s hot out, I stay inside- with air conditioning 🙂

nrhatch - July 8, 2014

I tried a Sauna for the first time this year ~ dry heat is still H~O~T but it is more manageable than when the humidity is approaching 100%.


What Say YOU?

