jump to navigation

The Lunchbox July 3, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Books & Movies, Food & Drink, Magick & Mystery.
trackback

200px-March-hareThis movie is an unexpected delight.

Through coincidence or synchronicity (or Universal conspiracy), two lonely people “meet” for lunch each day . . . without ever meeting.

The change in perspective allows each to see past the bleak confines of where they are to envision where they want to be.

The promise of a brighter future keeps them moving forward toward a spot of hope on the horizon.

“Sometimes the wrong train gets you to the right station.”

Handy subtitles for those who don’t speak Hindi.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Have you seen it?  Did it make you hunger for curry?  For understanding? For a heaping helping of synchronicity?

Comments»

1. Rainee - July 3, 2014

Looks good. Thanks Nancy, I will look out for it at the video store : )

nrhatch - July 3, 2014

I waffled a bit about putting this on our Netflix queue because subtitles can get old fast. But this movie shines right through them.

2. Val Boyko - July 3, 2014

Handy subtitles eh. (Smile)
It looks like a keeper 🙂
Val

nrhatch - July 3, 2014

The idea intrigued me and the characters delighted me ~ once they “watered their roots,” they bloomed.

3. NancyTex - July 3, 2014

NH, thank you for the recommendation! This is right up my alley – and I have put it on my short list.

nrhatch - July 3, 2014

I enjoyed it, NT. Watching the characters reach beyond their set boundaries had me cheering for them.

4. Jill Weatherholt - July 3, 2014

Subtitles are always good! Thanks for the recommendation, Nancy. Have a great 4th of July!

nrhatch - July 3, 2014

Thanks, Jill. I love listening to Indian accents, but would have been a bit lost without the translation. 😎

We have a 4th of July picnic/ pool party to attend, and fireworks on the beach tonight and tomorrow. YAY!

Jill Weatherholt - July 3, 2014

Fun, fun and more fun…enjoy!!!!!!!!!! They’re evacuating some of the beaches here in the Carolinas. I feel bad for those people who planned to spend the 4th at the beach.

nrhatch - July 3, 2014

Hurricane Arthur is apt to mess up plans, especially on the Outer Banks:

http://www.weather.com/news/weather-hurricanes/tropical-storm-arthur-fourth-july-20140701

5. ashokbhatia - July 3, 2014

Yes, one of the outstanding flicks dished out by the Bolllywood dream merchants in the recent past. Another one I liked in particular was ‘Bhootnath Returns’!

nrhatch - July 3, 2014

Thank you for weighing in. I’ll check out Bhootnath Returns.

6. Angeline M - July 3, 2014

I’ve just recently heard about this movie. Thanks for the review and the trailer.

nrhatch - July 3, 2014

My pleasure. Hope you enjoy!

7. Carol Balawyder - July 3, 2014

I saw the movie…it’s wonderful. 🙂

nrhatch - July 3, 2014

The transformation of the two main characters made me cheer!

Carol Balawyder - July 4, 2014

So true. I love movies about different cultures.

nrhatch - July 4, 2014

Yes! If this was set in the U.S., it would not have appealed to me in the same way. It’s one of the reasons I loved “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.”

“All will be well in the end. If all is not well, it is not yet the end.”

8. renicarego - July 3, 2014

Hey, pleasantly surprised that you watched Lunchbox and wrote about it too. Well described. It’s a great movie, yes. Loved it!

nrhatch - July 3, 2014

Thanks for weighing in, renicarego! Your vote makes it 4 thumbs up out of 4.

9. Grannymar - July 3, 2014

This sounds like a movie I would enjoy. Thanks Nancy.

nrhatch - July 3, 2014

Enjoy!

10. Patricia - July 3, 2014

I usually don’t like movies with subtitles…I find them hard to read with my cataract impaired eyesight. But I might try it. Are the words BIG?

nrhatch - July 4, 2014

I don’t know that they were BIG, but they were legible ~ light on dark. I didn’t have a tough time reading them.

Patricia - July 6, 2014

I am going to think about it…hate to waste a movie time if I can’t read what they are saying. 🙂

nrhatch - July 6, 2014

It’s hard to enjoy a movie if you have to strain to read the subtitles ~ these weren’t bad.

11. Pix Under the Oaks - July 4, 2014

I think we will give it a try! Thanks Nancy!

nrhatch - July 4, 2014

Hope you enjoy. I found it charming every time the female lead called out to her “Auntie.”

12. Three Well Beings - July 7, 2014

I’ve enjoyed your movie reviews in the past, and this looks very good. I think I’ve managed to see each one that you’ve recommended, so this will now go on the list. Thank you for being my personal movie previewer/reviewer! 🙂

nrhatch - July 7, 2014

Thanks, Debra. I tend to share movies that I enjoyed (pure entertainment value) AND found thought-provoking.

I’m on the fence about Hemingway and Gellhorn. I didn’t really enjoy it, but it did provoke thought. I’ve since read short bios for both Hemingway and Gellhorn ~> interesting characters who would seem “overblown” if we met them in the pages of a novel.

13. Silver in the Barn - July 10, 2014

THANK YOU!! This is exactly my sort of movie and I had not heard of it before. It will go on my list for sure. YAY!!!

nrhatch - July 10, 2014

Yay! Hope you enjoy it, Barbara.


What Say YOU?

