jump to navigation

Step Into The Glade June 29, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Mindfulness, Poetry.
trackback

448px-Alice_05a-1116x1492Step into the glade
Let down your guard
This place is safe
You are hidden here
No one can see
Through the trees
The shelter of leaves
Allows you to breathe

This place is safe
Hear and heed
The whisper from within
That connects you to
All that has been
And all that ever will be

This place is safe
Inhale its deep scent
Down to your toes
It knows, you see
Who you are and will be.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Crowing Crone - June 29, 2014

this is just lovely and so much how I feel when in the woods.

nrhatch - June 29, 2014

The very air, redolent with life and death, serves to ground me.

2. NancyTex - June 29, 2014

I usually battle feelings of sheer fear (snakes, bugs) and peace/calm when I’m in the woods. Makes for a somewhat schizophrenic experience. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - June 29, 2014

Haha! I’m with you . . . I keep one eye open for snakes sneaking up on me. 😎

3. Grannymar - June 29, 2014

It was a toss up for me today: A walk in the woods or a spell of writing. No more procrastination, time to write a chapter!

nrhatch - June 29, 2014

I am beginning to realize (with respect to my “serious” writing) that living up north served its purpose ~ hibernating inside through long dreary cold icy snowy gray winters encouraged me to sit at the keyboard and write.

Perhaps the summertime heat here should be my muse’s cue?

4. Jill Weatherholt - June 29, 2014

Lovely, Nancy. You described how I feel each time I visit the ocean…peace and tranquility.

nrhatch - June 29, 2014

Thanks, Jill. I love the ocean too. Nature nurtures!

5. Val Boyko - June 29, 2014

Stepping into the glade … sounds wonderful. I’ll meet you there.
Val x

nrhatch - June 29, 2014

It seems like a cool place to hang out on a HOT summer day.

6. In the Stillness of Willow Hill - June 29, 2014

Finding a “safe” place is so important, especially in the beginning of our spiritual journey. I love that now, my world has more safe places than I ever imagined in the past.

nrhatch - June 29, 2014

My favorite safe place is my meditation chair. From there, I fly through the air and go anywhere ~ one day it’s the mountains, the next it’s the sea.

And I almost never have a bumpy landing. 😎

7. kateshrewsday - June 29, 2014

Sounds just like my forest πŸ™‚

nrhatch - June 29, 2014

Your forest has come alive for me on more than one occasion, Kate. I wonder if I would feel safe there . . . next to the haunted ruins?

8. diannegray - June 29, 2014

My favourite place, Nancy πŸ˜€

nrhatch - June 29, 2014

I bet your wander down to the creek with the dogs each afternoon gives you a chance to breathe deep.

diannegray - June 30, 2014

It certainly does. I absolutely love it πŸ˜€

I didn’t mention this on my blog, but one of the dogs died the weekend before last (22 June). It was the German Shepherd – the oldest of the four (11 years). He was fine when we went for our walk on Saturday afternoon, but when I went to feed them Sunday morning he had passed away in his sleep. I was terribly upset, but after a few mournful days I thought ‘what a lovely way to go’ – it was very peaceful (and I guess this is what we want for ourselves as well!) We buried him in his favourite spot down at the creek, which is a also another blessing of living on a farm. Anyway, just rambling on here xxx

nrhatch - June 30, 2014

I’m sorry, Dianne. Losing our beloved pets is HARD.

That’s the way I would want any loved one to go ~> enjoy a favorite outing, have dinner, go to sleep, don’t wake up.

Give an extra portion of loving to the other three. They might be missing their “big brother.”

9. ericjbaker - June 29, 2014

This could have been written from the PoV of an alligator.

nrhatch - June 30, 2014

Haha!

“You are getting very sleepy. You will listen to my voice and do as I say. Come a little bit closer . . . you’re my kind of guy!”

10. Pix Under the Oaks - June 30, 2014

Lovely Nancy. It’s how I feel about The Tiny Ten.. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - June 30, 2014

From the photos you’ve shared, I can see why, Pix. Especially in Spring, Summer, and Fall.

11. jannatwrites - July 1, 2014

Beautiful poem. Peace is a beautiful thing!

nrhatch - July 1, 2014

I had an “unsettling” day yesterday. When I got in bed, thoughts racing, I made a determined attempt to slow them down and reclaim my peace.

Peace is a beautiful thing.

12. Jacqueline King - July 1, 2014

Evocative imagery, Nancy. Your portrayal of the safe place as ‘knowing’ is very comforting! πŸ™‚

nrhatch - July 1, 2014

Thanks, Jacqueline. I’m glad that my poetry is not subject to critique or criticism by my high school English teacher (or classmates). I’m sure they would have a field day with it. But I liked the sound of this rolling off the tongue enough to share the imagery.

I step into the glade every time I meditate ~ it’s the safest/ wisest place I know. Look deep. The answers lie within. 😎

13. Three Well Beings - July 2, 2014

A place to be still! That’s what I find in the woods–on the very rare occasion of that possibility! The woods can be a shelter and feel very safe. Although, now that I’ve read through the comments, Nancy, I haven’t really thought about snakes before. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - July 2, 2014

Do you remember The Parent Trap? With the twins (Hayley Mills) playing a trick on their prospective step-mother?

“Just tap two sticks together as you walk. It will frighten away the mountain lions!”

Nature is not always “safe” . . . but the odds are in our favor.


What Say YOU?

