jump to navigation

Her June 18, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Books & Movies, Fiction, Life Balance, Mindfulness, People.
trackback

In the Spike Jonze movie, Her, Joaquin Phoenix and Scarlett Johansson are perfect for each other . . . if you’re willing to overlook the fact that Samantha is the Operating System of Theodore Twombly’s computer.

The new wave of artificial intelligence packaged with a sexy voice.

Her, a quirky, amusing, and thought-provoking film, reminds me of issues raised in Robot & Frank, when Frank Langella, a retired cat burglar who’s tired of retirement, befriends a robot and creates a shared history.

In these days of cyber friendships, when gadgets and apps connect us via screens around the globe, the criteria we use to evaluate relationships is changing.

Someday, perhaps, dating an Operating System will be commonplace.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Have you seen the film?  What’d you think?

Related post:  The Odd Life of Timothy Green

 

 

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - June 18, 2014

I haven’t seen this movie, Nancy. It sounds interesting though. I’ll be interested to see what others say who have seen it.

nrhatch - June 18, 2014

It’s fascinating to consider the issues raised by the film in light of our increasing reliance on technology. Samantha feels real at times ~ not only to Theodore, but to his friends who talked to her.

2. NancyTex - June 18, 2014

I saw it many months ago and the jury is still out for me. I thought Joaquim Phoenix’ acting was incredible, but felt the movie went on a good 40 mins longer than it needed to.

As for the premise, at first it seemed absurd, then I started to see how it could be possible, and then it just left me sad. I don’t want to say too much here and spoil it for those who haven’t seen the movie yet.

nrhatch - June 18, 2014

I agree with you on the length ~ it would have benefited from a bit more editing. I did like the hopeful note at the end of the movie.

3. Don - June 18, 2014

I’m going to look out for it. It really looks good. Thanks, Nancy.

nrhatch - June 18, 2014

It really got me thinking about the cyber friendships we have with people on “the other side of the computer screen.”

Having a friendship with a real person in cyber space seems different than developing a friendship with the computer itself, but why?

* We can’t make eye contact with either.
* There’s no body language to decipher.
* We aren’t sitting in the same room.

And Samantha was a great listener! Maybe it boils down to the fact that with a real person there is the potential to take it to another level and meet in real time?

Don - June 18, 2014

Now you got me thinking. 🙂

nrhatch - June 18, 2014

I felt the same way after seeing Frank and Robot. We can’t have a friendship with a hunk of metal . . . can we?

4. Eric Tonningsen - June 18, 2014

I dated one once. She was considerably ahead of her time. She’s already obsolete.

nrhatch - June 18, 2014

Ha! “I have to break up with you. You’re just so . . . yesterday.”

5. jannatwrites - June 18, 2014

I hadn’t heard of this movie. Dating an operating system is an interesting concept. Maybe fixing the ‘bugs’ would be as easy as a system patch… leaves the toilet seat up… there’s a patch for that 🙂

nrhatch - June 18, 2014

It received an Oscar Nod but didn’t go home with the GOLD. It’s quirky, but quite thought-provoking given our growing cyber connectivity.

A few moments were LOL funny. Dating a cyber “spirit” does avoid the awkward toilet seat and toothpaste tube squabbles.

6. colonialist - June 18, 2014

I like my characters in the flesh, so to speak. Showing quite a lot of it, too.

nrhatch - June 18, 2014

I shared a similar with BFF at the conclusion of the movie. After all, cyber shadows cannot give back rubs. 😎

7. Val Boyko - June 18, 2014

Nancy, I haven’t seen it either … but it does bring up some interesting stuff about relationships.
After all, we are attracted to someone because of the way they make us feel initially. Its all about how we feel when we are around them. Its a very selfish and immature kind of love…. that can only grow into the deeper mutual bond when 2 people go through challenges together, and learn to appreciate each other, faults and all.
I think I got this from John Gray in my dating days 😉

nrhatch - June 18, 2014

It’s fascinating to watch the lover’s quarrels and petty jealousy arise between Theodore (a man) and Samantha (a machine).

8. lindalitebeing - June 18, 2014

Loved the film and blogged about it. While I thought it did speak a lot to our uber techno, online society, I also saw it as an example of how often one partner outgrows the other as they are not evolving at the same rate and that in this case, the OS moved on to a higher, more cosmic way of experiencing love.

nrhatch - June 18, 2014

Yes! That’s an excellent point, LLB. We learn from each other and then move on. Some of us to a more cosmic plane. Thanks.

9. Behind the Story - June 18, 2014

I haven’t see it yet, but I do intend to. It sounds like the kind of movie that gives you something to think about afterwards. Such a large part of our experience takes place inside our heads. And some things we experience in the flesh don’t make much of an impression. Anyway, I’m going to look for it.

nrhatch - June 18, 2014

Yes! Life is such a head game at times ~> we are prone to filtering experiences rather than embracing the flow of life.

At the outset, Samantha and Theodore accept each other “as is,” without much scrutiny. As they become more invested in the relationship, they begin to interpret and analyze the relationship and each other under a very high powered microscope.

10. diannegray - June 18, 2014

I haven’t seen the movie, but I’m sure we’re moving close to this scenario at a very rapid rate. You only have to walk into the street or sit in a coffee shop to see how many people absolutely love (and can’t do without) their phones! 😉

nrhatch - June 19, 2014

Yes! It is bizarre to see people wandering the streets staring into the tiny screens in the palms of their hands instead of noticing the world outside the world wide web.

11. Pix Under the Oaks - June 19, 2014

We watched Robot and Frank, suggested by you I believe. Loved it. And I will tell CH to put “Her” on the list. We watched The Odd Life of Timothy Green, suggested by you, and enjoyed it too.

nrhatch - June 19, 2014

The Odd Life of Timothy Green was a fave. Robot and Frank surprised me. As did Her. I didn’t expect to like them as much as I did. Her could have been shorter though.


What Say YOU?

