jump to navigation

Shapes and Shades June 15, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Life Balance, Nature, Poetry.
trackback

220px-Lightning_striking_the_Eiffel_Tower_-_NOAAI have faith the sun will rise
Even when veiled by stormy skies

Shapes and shades of purple sage
Reach up and out from age to age

The horizon remains steadfast too
Even when hidden from our view

Waters streaming as we gaze
Through mists of time and foggy haze

Aah . . . that’s better!

* Life is not about waiting for the storms to pass.  It’s about learning how to dance in the rain.   ~ Vivian Greene

* A certain amount of opposition is a great help.  Kites rise against the wind, not with it. ~ John Neal

Comments»

1. wefalllaughing - June 15, 2014

Beautiful poem and great quotes to go with it.

nrhatch - June 15, 2014

Thanks, WFL. Change is ever-present, yet life has consistency. Time and tide ebb and flow.

2. Pix Under the Oaks - June 15, 2014

Perfect for me today and I need to remember it all week!

nrhatch - June 15, 2014

Emotions, like weather, exist in a state of flux ~ except for the occasional “stall.” Have a good week, Pix.

3. Rainee - June 15, 2014

Nice! I liked that 🙂

nrhatch - June 15, 2014

Thanks, Rainee. Hope your Sunday is cruising along.

4. Don - June 15, 2014

Love the John Neal quote. Certain things remain true in life in the midst of all sorts of change. The secret is to see them.

nrhatch - June 15, 2014

Here’s to remaining AWAKE and AWARE.

5. ericjbaker - June 15, 2014

Well done. Good quotes too.

nrhatch - June 15, 2014

Here’s to rising . . . against the wind. 😎

6. Val Boyko - June 15, 2014

Love the messages here!
Val x

nrhatch - June 15, 2014

Thanks, Val. It’s to the uplift we get from positive expectations.

7. livelytwist - June 15, 2014

I have faith the sun will rise
Even when veiled by stormy skies

I believe this. It is the reason I am still here.

I have faith the sun will rise
Even when veiled by stormy skies

nrhatch - June 15, 2014

Me too, Timi. I am quite fond of saying, “This too shall pass.”

8. Jill Weatherholt - June 15, 2014

Lovely poem, Nancy! I love the Neal quote. 🙂

nrhatch - June 15, 2014

Thanks, Jill. Here’s to flying high even under stormy skies.

9. Behind the Story - June 16, 2014

Beautiful poem!

Vivian Greene’s words about dancing in the rain struck a chord with me today. It was raining softly while I was at the mall. I didn’t bother with a jacket or umbrella, and as I walked through the outdoor area, past REI and J Jill and the Loft, I found myself enjoying the feeling of the rain on my head.

nrhatch - June 16, 2014

Thanks, Nicki. Meandering in a soft warm rain is refreshing. Glad you had the chance to enjoy it.

10. anotherday2paradise - June 16, 2014

Very inspirational, Nancy, and a great image too. 🙂

nrhatch - June 16, 2014

Thanks. That photo captures “Earth ~ Air ~ Fire ~ Water.”

11. jannatwrites - June 16, 2014

Nice poem! I agree with the sentiments. I also like the Vivian Greene quote. Now if we could just get some rain to dance in 🙂

nrhatch - June 16, 2014

I find the constancy and flow of time and tides calming as a backdrop and counterpoint to the constant change we experience in our day to day lives.

Hope you get to do a Rain Dance soon.

12. Eric Tonningsen - June 17, 2014

Nice. And appreciated. 🙂

nrhatch - June 17, 2014

Dance on!

13. Three Well Beings - June 18, 2014

I am not sure I’m the best at dancing in the rain, but I do believe life would be a whole lot smoother if I did! 🙂 I enjoyed this reminder to give that more thought, Nancy!

nrhatch - June 18, 2014

If you haven’t seen it, you might enjoy The Odd Life of Timothy Green:

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2012/12/07/the-key-to-life/

He definitely knew how to dance in the rain!


What Say YOU?

