jump to navigation

Our Thought Filters June 11, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Happiness, Life Balance, Mindfulness.
trackback

Cheshire_Cat_TennielBFF is on the back deck hosing off our air filter.

With each swipe of the hose, water washes away dirt, debris, and detritus leaving the filter as good as new.

If only we could clean our thought filters as easily . . . washing away all the preconceived notions, prejudices, and stale reactions that get in the way of perceiving the day as it is, instead of as we are.

Barn’s burnt down ~ now I can see the moon.Β ~ Masahide (1657-1723)

Aah . . . that’s better!

 

Comments»

1. Silver in the Barn - June 11, 2014

Can’t tell you how powerfully this message strikes me this morning. “Perceiving the day as it is, instead of how we are.” That is the struggle, but maybe if we’re aware of the filters, we might be halfway home.

nrhatch - June 11, 2014

We see the world behind our eyes . . . but, as you note, once we realize that, we are halfway home.

2. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - June 11, 2014

So very true! There are times I wish I could make a clean sweep! Instead I’ll just continue to work on washing a little at a time! πŸ™‚

nrhatch - June 11, 2014

It’s good to retain “treasured memories” of people, places, and things that we’ve enjoyed through the years . . . but carting a bunch of “trash” around in our wheelbarrows makes for slow going. We maneuver around the inevitable potholes in our path far easier when we “let go” of what is no longer serving us.

3. Jill Weatherholt - June 11, 2014

I make a point of cleaning my filters every morning. It’s nice to know that I’m in complete control of my thoughts. I can decide if it’s going to be a good day or bad. Of course it took many years to learn that. πŸ™‚
Great post, Nancy!

nrhatch - June 11, 2014

Go you! Marianne Williamson speaks of “washing off yesterday’s junk” every morning.

Here’s to being “Claritin Clear.” 😎

4. ericjbaker - June 11, 2014

Take your brain off “repeat”

nrhatch - June 11, 2014

Yes! When we leave our mind on “auto pilot,” it is apt to play and replay the same stale images in an endless loop.

Here’s to re-booting and deleting our browsing history.

ericjbaker - June 11, 2014

See. I’m learning.

πŸ˜‰

nrhatch - June 11, 2014

U B Ys! 😎

5. suzicate - June 11, 2014

I’ve finally learned how to filter what comes out of my mouth, but I think the process of filtering my thoughts is going to be a bit trickier.

nrhatch - June 11, 2014

Maybe it’s a bit of a backwards process, Suzi. We watch what we say by watching what we think . . . and, in time, the unexpressed thoughts just drift away to annoy someone less mindful. 😎

6. Val Boyko - June 11, 2014

Claritin clear is a great approach to each day!
Sometimes I think of a windshield/windscreen that get bugs and dirt attached to it over the years….. we can user our wipers on a regular basis to see clearly rather than waiting to get to the full car wash when we notice we aren’t seeing clearly πŸ™‚
Val

nrhatch - June 11, 2014

Yes! A dirty windshield coated with grease and grime. At times, all we need to do to see more clearly is step back into the role of “disinterested observer” and allow our compassion to surface.

7. Grannymar - June 11, 2014

If BFF gets bored, send him over to me. I have plenty of jobs that need sorting. πŸ˜‰

nrhatch - June 11, 2014

Hey, you have your own Toy Boys! BFF is all mine. 😎

Grannymar - June 11, 2014

πŸ˜†

8. colonialist - June 11, 2014

A clean new way of looking at things.
A wonderful example is set by the Cheshire cat – that smile is certainly enduring!

nrhatch - June 11, 2014

Imagine if we could wash away everything but our SMILE!

9. Maggie - June 11, 2014

Ugh. My thought filter is really dirty these days. It could use a good washing… or even a replacement.

nrhatch - June 11, 2014

I’m nibbling away at some of the “stuff” that no longer serves me. I definitely feel lighter without the weight.

10. Eric Tonningsen - June 11, 2014

Perhaps a unique variation on liposuction?

nrhatch - June 11, 2014

That might be a tad more invasive than what I had in mind. 😎

11. Three Well Beings - June 12, 2014

I do wish it were that easy, Nancy. I really think we do need to keep those cleaning projects continually looking for the “muck” we collect along the way! πŸ™‚

nrhatch - June 12, 2014

Yes! The Dalai Lama advocates a simple litmus test of: “Will this thought make me happy?” When we become more mindful about the thoughts we think, the more easily we can manipulate them . . . instead of them manipulating us.

For example:

If there is nothing you can do about the situation at present, let the thought drift away of its own accord. Let it go. If it lingers, promise that you will gladly give it ALL the time and attention it deserves on TUESDAY! If it still won’t leave, chase after it with a broom: GET OUT!!!

OR . . .

If the thought is a sad, stale memory that keeps surfacing (e.g., no one liked me when I was in high school and I still can’t figure out why), let it go. Picture a memory graveyard in your mind, and lead the funeral procession. Bury it once and for all.

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/07/25/how-to-be-happy-now/

12. jannatwrites - June 12, 2014

It would be nice if it was that easy! (Perhaps the world would be a kinder place if we all started clean!)

nrhatch - June 12, 2014

When we are overbooked and distracted, it’s hard to find time to do the “daily maintenance” on our interior landscape . . . but it’s worth making it a priority.

Even 30 minutes a day can pay real dividends because we learn to stop wasting time in idle worry, guilt, fear, and resentment . . . and use that time for focused and productive thinking.

13. Pix Under the Oaks - June 12, 2014

That would work so well for me! Maybe the visual will help.. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - June 12, 2014

Perhaps meditate to the image using Creative Visualization to see yourself washing all your cares away?

“And away go troubles down the drain!”

14. Piglet in Portugal - June 13, 2014

It would be nice to cleanse our minds of unproductive thoughts. Perhaps we should be baptized again when we are adults.

nrhatch - June 13, 2014

Haha! I’ve known some “born agains” who, despite being baptized as adults, had filters firmly in place. 😎

15. NancyTex - June 13, 2014

If only, indeed.

I would gladly subject myself to that power wash.

nrhatch - June 13, 2014

I strongly suspect that EXERCISE has a cleansing effect on our thoughts . . . it gets things moving and grooving and flowing again, elevating our spirits and helping us to “Let Go.”

NancyTex - June 13, 2014

I think you’re right. I know hiking definitely does for me. As one of my readers told me, “it’s your yoga!”. She’s right about that. I find it very meditative (when I’m not cussing up a storm).

nrhatch - June 13, 2014

Cussing is a fine adjunct to a meditative stroll/hike/slog up the canyon path . . . as long as you do it mindfully using apt metaphors for donkey piss. 😎


What Say YOU?

