jump to navigation

3 Things I Learned This Week June 7, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Books & Movies, Humor, Mindfulness.
trackback

170px-PuckCoverAs a child, I loved the story of Epaminondas ~ a young boy who was forever applying the “right lesson” at the wrong time.

So much so that his auntie often shook her head and said, “Epaminondas, Epaminondas ~ you ain’t got the sense you was born with!”

Like Epaminondas, I’ve learned a few things this week.

Let’s hope that moving forward, I apply the right lesson at the right time:

1.  “Legal lingo” doesn’t translate well into the “real world.”

When lawyers counsel clients to avoid “even the appearance of impropriety” by revealing potential “conflicts of interest,” they are not saying that anyone has done or is doing anything wrong.

It’s “code” for laying all one’s cards on the table so that no one looking on will ever be able to raise the issue of possible impropriety or shady dealings due to the relationship of the parties.

2.  I need to avoid the temptation to extrapolate from what’s “right for me” to what’s “right for you.” 

Unless retained to represent someone else, I should keep my nose out of their business.  It doesn’t matter if I know what I would do if I were in their shoes . . . because they aren’t MY shoes.

3.  I am NOT the General Manager of the Universe.

What a relief!  A huge weight has been lifted from my shoulders.  Almost as if Atlas Shrugged ~ an interesting synchronicity since we happened to watch a documentary on Ayn Rand last night.

Aah . . . that’s better!

If any of you are looking for a “beach read” this summer, I have it on good authority that Andra’s book,  To Live Forever: An Afterlife Journey of Meriwether Lewis, is a page turner!

“The mystery of how and why Meriwether Lewis died at thirty-five on the Natchez Trace in 1809 Tennessee is one of the lynchpins that holds the story together and propels it forward. In a wonderful leap of imagination, Watkins pits two adversarial figures straight out of American history against each other for one last deadly confrontation, with the winner gaining redemption and the loser falling into the eternal abyss.” [J.R. Stewart]

Related posts:  Traveling the Natchez Trace with Meriwether Lewis and author Andra Watkins (Breathe Lighter) * Interview: Andra Watkins (Blog Critics) * To Live Forever by Andra Watkins (I Heart Reading) * To Live Forever ~ A Novel By Andra Watkins (Michael Carnell) * More Press & Praise for the book.

 

 

Comments»

1. smilecalm - June 7, 2014

wonderful learning what’s right
in each moment 🙂

nrhatch - June 7, 2014

When we LISTEN . . . anything in life can be our guide.

2. kateshrewsday - June 7, 2014

I think the post of Universe General Manager must be a most odious one. How would he or she ever sleep at night?
Good to reflect on a week and draw the juice out of it, Nancy.

nrhatch - June 7, 2014

You have no idea how apt your comment is, Kate. I’ve been struggling with mild insomnia for years . . . I suspect it’s because I didn’t trust the Universe to carry on in my absence. 😎

This has been an eye-opening, life-changing week for me ~ much like Scrooge experienced with his ghostly apparitions on Christmas Eve.

ericjbaker - June 8, 2014

One of use should move to the other side of the world. That way, we can alternate 12-hour shifts.

nrhatch - June 8, 2014

Perfect! And we can both still get some shut eye.

3. http://theenglishprofessoratlarge.com - June 7, 2014

Years ago, I abdicated as the self-appointed director of the universe, and it was, indeed, liberating. Now, I just enjoy the moments of daily living and take what comes as calmly as I can. Yes, I also endorse Andra’s book that I most recently read. You’re right. It is a page-turner.I hope she sells thousands of copies.

nrhatch - June 7, 2014

Not only is it exhausting, the pay scale doesn’t even approach the non-stop round-the-clock demands of the position. 😎

Judging from the reviews I’ve seen, Andra should see many sales and happy fans in the coming months.

4. ashokbhatia - June 7, 2014

If I was ever known as the guy with a Permanently Worried Expression on my visage, surely it was because my frail shoulders carried the burden of the entire civilization then. I am learning to let it take care of itself!

nrhatch - June 7, 2014

Yes! What a relief to “let it all go!” I am breathing much lighter today as a result.

5. Don - June 7, 2014

Marvellous lessons Nancy, especially the second and last. The last one gives you such rest and freedom, in fact all three of them give you this.

nrhatch - June 7, 2014

Yes! Knowing that I don’t have to juggle so many balls at once has been freeing indeed. 😎

6. Eric Tonningsen - June 7, 2014

Me likes this post. While cliche-ish and a bit ‘woo-woo’ to some, I have embraced The Universe unfolding as is intended. Letting go, being in flow, listening and allowing – all represent invaluable lessons and perspective for me. I’m glad that the reflecting if your past week has been beneficial for you, Nancy.

nrhatch - June 7, 2014

Thanks, Eric. I love the line in Desiderata that ends “no doubt the Universe is unfolding as it should.” The funny/amusing thing is that I’ve felt like a “go with the flow” spirit for years ~ yesterday I connected a few previously unseen dots to realize that I needed to “let go” of a few more things if I really wanted to “flow with the current of life” instead of against it.

Today, I feel “light as a feather, giddy as a school girl.”

Eric Tonningsen - June 7, 2014

Light and giddy are good! 🙂

nrhatch - June 7, 2014

Much better than heavy and morose.

7. Jill Weatherholt - June 7, 2014

Great lessons, Nancy. Isn’t it nice to know we don’t have to be the General Manager of the Universe? What a relief! 🙂

nrhatch - June 7, 2014

It really is a wonderful feeling! About to head out to hear the Dimensions in Blue ~ Air Force Band. I’ll leave the choice of notes to the musicians! 😎

Jill Weatherholt - June 7, 2014

Have fun! We’re getting ready for the Belmont Stakes…hoping to see a triple crown winner. 🙂

nrhatch - June 7, 2014

Sorry you didn’t get to see a triple crown winner. I’m sure that would have thrilled the owner of California Chrome ~ he sounded a bit disgruntled (in the NY Times article I read) about Tonality being able to run at Belmont.

8. Patricia - June 7, 2014

General Manager of the Universe! I had a hard enough time managing my little world so I resigned. Now I am just the custodian.

nrhatch - June 7, 2014

Does that mean you spend your days cleaning up other people’s messes? That doesn’t sound much better than being G.M. 😎

Patricia - June 8, 2014

Oh no! I am like the custodian that stands around with a broom watching the traffic go by.

nrhatch - June 8, 2014

Bwahaha! That’s a good gig if you can get it! 😎

9. Behind the Story - June 8, 2014

Your 2nd and 3rd things learned remind me of the letting go that parents and grandparents have to do. They must go from changing their child’s diapers to letting him live his own life. The steps along the way are tricky, and what is right for the parent may not be what is right for the grown-up child.

nrhatch - June 8, 2014

I have been hanging on tight to far too many things. It’s a good thing I didn’t have kids . . . or the control freak in me might have stunted their growth.

My new mantra ~> “let go” and “allow life to flow.” 😎

10. Grannymar - June 8, 2014

I gave up trying to rule the world, nowadays, I live in the moment and let others get on with their lives.

nrhatch - June 8, 2014

I believed I did the same. I thought I lived mindfully in the moment and allowed others to do as they pleased.

This week I realized that I have been hanging on to too many things and trying to juggle too many balls . . . even when they are not my balls.

I need to let it all go and allow life to flow. At one with the peace.

11. Pix Under the Oaks - June 8, 2014

I still have the problem of making sure all my little ducks are in a row and worrying when they don’t behave. I am ALWAYS working on letting go a little bit at a time. Some of the things that have happened in the last year have simply overwhelmed me and I have thrown up my hands and learned that things do go on!

nrhatch - June 8, 2014

Letting go and allowing life to flow is my focus this week.

I thought I had jettisoned much of the flotsam and jetsam over 15 years ago and this week I found that I’d merely swept much of it under the rug. Now I’m beating the $%^& out of that rug to get rid of (I mean, let go of) the detritus.

Throwing up our hands helps! This too shall pass. 😎

12. MyTruthMyClarity - June 8, 2014

Allowing life to lead this dance has afforded me much peace. I have surrendered….one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. Now I’m really able to embrace the journey of life. Here’s to living on purpose! :8)

nrhatch - June 8, 2014

Living in the flow is a wonderful way to enjoy all that life has to offer. Here’s to you, truth, and clarity!

MyTruthMyClarity - June 8, 2014

Thanks for the feedback….. ;9)

13. Val Boyko - June 8, 2014

Isn’t it funny how the real general manager of the universe shows up to remind us of a lesson we thought we had learned long ago …
Enjoy this lightness and freedom Nancy!

nrhatch - June 8, 2014

It is funny. And once I connected the “invisible dots,” I saw the same message in many places saying Let Go!

Thanks for your part in pointing me in the right direction.

14. I am J - June 9, 2014

I think the BEST diet of all, Nancy, is shedding the weight of the world and the need to be responsible for others. You truly sound “free” now! And it’s always good to remember old lessons.

Your post reminded me of one of my favorite scenes and songs from “Les Miserables” when Jean Valjean sings “Who Am I?” After some conflicting thoughts about his responsibilities and lessons he’s learned, he finally accepts who he is, prisoner 24601, and the whole song then becomes a declaration of truth, freedom and courage.

I got the feeling after reading your post that you, too, have arrived at a similar sense of freedom. Soar high and happy.

nrhatch - June 9, 2014

Thanks, J. We first learn WHAT to do in order to “let go” (that’s the easy part). Then we have to put that understanding into practice. We have to remember to apply it until it becomes habit. No matter what is happening around us.

Yesterday, I reminded myself several times to step back and just be an observer ~ “You are no longer G.M. Let it go.”

15. jannatwrites - June 9, 2014

Great things to take away from this week. General manager of the universe {shivers} I want nothing to do with that (or anyone else’s business, for that matter!)

nrhatch - June 9, 2014

Old habits die hard ~ vestiges of advocating on behalf of others for so many years as an attorney. I’m still ready to jump in and “rescue” damsels in distress (even if they haven’t requested assistance). My goal: stop trying to “counsel” others.

16. NancyTex - June 9, 2014

Brava to you NH. Nicely done.

nrhatch - June 9, 2014

Thanks, NT! I really loved those photos you shared today. What a canyon!

NancyTex - June 10, 2014

What a hidden treasure! Can’t believe it’s not better known.

nrhatch - June 10, 2014

I would love to see it in person . . . next time we head out west.

For anyone who wants to see some of Mother Nature’s amazing abstract art:

http://myyearofsweat.wordpress.com/2014/06/09/where-the-deer-and-the-antelope-play/

17. The Extrapolation Temptation | Spirit Lights The Way - June 13, 2014

[…] Related posts:  Philip Hensher (Carol Balawyder) * I Destroyed My Best Friend (Life Penned) * 3 Things I Learned This Week […]


What Say YOU?

