jump to navigation

Chikungunya, Dude! June 5, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Health & Wellness, Humor.
trackback

Mosquito (in Public Domain)

A mosquito borne virus, which originated in East Africa before spreading to Asia, Europe, and the Caribbean, continues to make the news.

Symptoms of Chikungunya Fever include fever, headache, severe muscle pain, and a rash.

These symptoms appear 3-7 days after an individual is infected by a mosquito bite and can last for 2-4 months.  The infectious stage lasts 10-15 days.

The name (which sounds like “chicken goon-ya”) comes from the East African dialect for “doubled over.”

That does not sound good.

Take suitable precautions to avoid getting bit by these blood-sucking-good-for-nothing-critters that should never have been allowed on the Ark.

What the hell was Noah thinking?

Aah . . . that’s better! 

 

 

 

Comments»

1. suzicate - June 5, 2014

I haven’t heard of this one. Seems to be more and more of mosquito and tick borne viruses/ diseases these days.

nrhatch - June 5, 2014

It does seem that way . . . ticks are another blood sucker that never should have been allowed on the Ark.

2. katecrimmins - June 5, 2014

I have a list that Noah should have used!

nrhatch - June 5, 2014

Why are we not consulted about these things BEFORE hand? 😎

katecrimmins - June 5, 2014

Yes, really!

Grannymar - June 5, 2014

You were not around, Nancy. Unless you are not telling………!

nrhatch - June 5, 2014

* If I’d known I was going to live this long, I’d have taken better care of myself. ~ Ubie Blake

3. Jill Weatherholt - June 5, 2014

I can be at a cookout with 20 people and I’ll be the only one getting eaten alive. I love the summer, but hate dealing with those blood-suckers!

nrhatch - June 5, 2014

BFF has the same problem. I suspect it’s because you are both so “sweet”!

Jill Weatherholt - June 5, 2014

🙂

4. Don - June 5, 2014

Lol – Noah was just being kind, man.

nrhatch - June 5, 2014

Kindness echoes!

5. Val Boyko - June 5, 2014

He was too busy with the big stubborn beasts that didn’t want to get on board … (?)

nrhatch - June 5, 2014

Can you imagine engineering a feat like that? With all those differing personalities, quirks, and idiosyncrasies?

Reminds me of the movie, Evan Almighty, with Morgan Freeman as God and Steve Carell as Noah. 😎

6. 2e0mca - June 5, 2014

Not all Mosquitos are bad – I give you Anopheles bimerlinus…

http://www.geograph.org.uk/photo/139417

Well, they might be bad if you were the enemy 😉

nrhatch - June 5, 2014

Bet that mosquito has a big BUZZ! Thanks for the link.

7. ericjbaker - June 5, 2014

Noah was thinking how stupid he was after a two weeks, when all the big cats and crocodiles ate all the other animals.

nrhatch - June 5, 2014

I expect you’re right . . . he couldn’t be umpire and referee to all the snarling and snapping.

8. Behind the Story - June 5, 2014

If Noah had forgotten the mosquitoes, what would be the downside? I can’t think of any.

When we lived in Vanuatu (South Pacific), the Israeli doctor told us that even though there was a lot of malaria there, we shouldn’t get the anti-malarial shots. There were too many side effects. He advised us to rent a house where there was a good breeze and no standing water and to avoid getting bit around sunrise and sunset, which was when that type of mosquito was out looking for blood. It worked for us.

When we lived in Manila, a scientist who studied mosquitoes told us we didn’t need to worry about malaria because the type of mosquito that carries it avoids places where the air is polluted. So no malaria there, but there were more than enough cousins of the malaria-carrying mosquito who didn’t mind dirty air a bit.

nrhatch - June 5, 2014

Me neither, Nicki ~ I know I wouldn’t miss them one bit. I didn’t realize that the malaria carrying mosquito avoids dirty air but we are encouraged to make sure there is no standing water for breeding..

9. jannatwrites - June 6, 2014

This is a new one for me. I detest mosquitoes. Your last statement made me chuckle because my older son wanted know why we had mosquitoes. I told him there must be some use for them but I couldn’t think of anything at the moment. Still can’t. Too bad extinction isn’t likely…

nrhatch - June 6, 2014

I came up blank too, Janna. I’m not super buddy-buddy with snakes, but I see they have their uses ~ like rodent control.

10. livelytwist - June 6, 2014

Ha, I know a thing or two about malaria, and it ain’t pretty. Mosquito nets, mosquito coils (yuk!), inscet repellants to the rescue!

nrhatch - June 6, 2014

Here in the states, resorts overseas often photograph rooms with mosquito nets swaying and drifting in the breeze ~ to advertise the romance of their getaways.

There is nothing romantic about bug bites. Just sayin’ 😎

11. Pix Under the Oaks - June 6, 2014

Skeeters seek me out.. they ignore CH. Must be the blood thinners.. 😀 I use Off. It kinda works. Good Morning Nancy!

nrhatch - June 6, 2014

Good Morning, Pix! BFF attracts most of them when we’re together . . . but we’re not over run with skeeters here.

Pix Under the Oaks - June 6, 2014

No! They are all here!!!!!!!!!!!

nrhatch - June 8, 2014

What we’re dealing with is the skeeter’s cousin, once or twice removed. The creatures from the deep lagoon. Midges. They look like mosquitoes but they don’t have an appetite for human blood.

Good thing . . . because we have 1000’s hanging about.

12. kateshrewsday - June 7, 2014

Oooh, nasty. I wonder if it has arrived here yet?

nrhatch - June 7, 2014

The articles mentioned Europe, but not specifically the UK. Nasty little buzzing buggers!

13. bluebee - June 8, 2014

Mosquitos – what are they good for? Malaria, cerebral malaria, Chikungunya fever and that pesky noise as they dive in for a big slurp of your blood. Ergh!

nrhatch - June 8, 2014

Oh, the noise! The noise! It’s the 2nd worst sound to hear when you’re enjoying a lovely picnic or outdoor outing.

Right behind THUNDER!

14. Three Well Beings - June 9, 2014

Oh my! Another pest to worry about! I hadn’t heard about this one at all. Mosquitos are such a problem all over the world, and I think sometimes we tend to feel a little protected from the diseases they spread. Now that you’ve alerted me to this maybe my ears will pick up on the alerts. I hope they don’t like our climate! Maybe we’re too dry for them. 🙂

nrhatch - June 9, 2014

Florida might be the only problem state thus far ~ I think there have only been 4 cases to date. It’s not an epidemic. I expect that visitors will continue flocking to Mickey Land and FL beaches for the foreseeable future.

Last night we enjoyed a 2-mile sunset walk on the beach ~ the perfect way to end World Oceans Day. 😎


What Say YOU?

