jump to navigation

Exercise Rocks! June 4, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Exercise & Fitness, Health & Wellness.
trackback

250px-Scottish_hammer_throw_illustrationExercise releases endorphins and elevates mood.

It improves our fitness and sense of well-being.

It makes us happy.

Exercise ups our energy level, increases our metabolism, and regulates our appetite.

It normalizes melatonin production and enhances the sleep cycle.

It resets the limbic system, and releases pent up stress and anxiety.

Even if we’re not tossing rocks, exercise rocks!

It’s the fountain of youth.

Get moving!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Pix Under the Oaks - June 4, 2014

I hear you! Now if I could just convince myself to get going.. πŸ˜€

nrhatch - June 4, 2014

Since up-ing my exercise quotient a few weeks ago ~> I’ve seen an upward trend in mood, energy, enthusiasm.

Let’s see if I can keep it up. 😎

2. Judson - June 4, 2014

Something I need to remind myself of constantly.

nrhatch - June 4, 2014

Me too! So I post periodic reminders here . . . where I can see them. 😎

3. Jill Weatherholt - June 4, 2014

Great advice, Nancy! I too recently upped my exercise…started running instead of walking at a brisk pace…I feel great!

nrhatch - June 4, 2014

Yay! Since moving to Florida 5 years ago, we’ve walked more, biked more, and gone swimming more. But I gave myself a gold star if I did 30 minutes 3x a week.

Now, we aim for an hour a day. And feel MUCH better.

Val Boyko - June 4, 2014

Awesome πŸ™‚

4. nancytex2013 - June 4, 2014

You’re preaching to the converted. πŸ™‚ Amen, sista!

nrhatch - June 4, 2014

Halleluiah! Where’s my pedometer?!

5. Don - June 4, 2014

Going out for my walk after shutting down my computer. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - June 4, 2014

Enjoy your walk . . . every step of the way!

6. 2e0mca - June 4, 2014

The pharmaceutical industry agrees – exercise is good for the balance sheet with increased sales of anti-inflammatories… Did my foot in playing Tennis last Thursday πŸ˜‰ But I did enjoy myself πŸ™‚

nrhatch - June 4, 2014

Haha! At the increased sales . . . not at you hurting your foot. Hope you feel better soon! Glad you had fun.

Big Pharm makes out better when we are couch potatoes stuffing our faces with chips. The more we MOVE IT, the less heart meds, diabetes meds, cancer meds, blood pressure meds., cholesterol meds, anti-depressants, etc., they get to sell.

Somehow I doubt the increased sales of anti-inflammatories will offset all that on the balance sheet. 😎

2e0mca - June 4, 2014

Thanks for the good wishes πŸ™‚ They’re not making anything out of cold compresses either… Good old bag of frozen peas πŸ˜‰ Looking forward to a nice walk round Brent Reservoir on Sunday by which time I hope to be almost healed πŸ™‚

nrhatch - June 4, 2014

That sounds promising. Keep those frozen peas at the ready until you are “good to go” again.

7. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - June 4, 2014

Love it! I have declared my June goals and am on the path to completion πŸ™‚

nrhatch - June 4, 2014

Yay! You and Nancy are probably running rings around me, but I am glad that I stepped it up a notch and kicked it into high gear.

As NT says, Keep moving!

Val Boyko - June 4, 2014

Good for you Kate! πŸ˜‰

8. Grannymar - June 4, 2014

I try to have a walk everyday, Next week, I hope to have more interesting territory to explore.

nrhatch - June 4, 2014

I am so glad that you’ll be able to wander a bit farther afield now that you can drive again. We often walk the same route, but it’s nice to mix it up with wanders here and there. Have fun.

9. livelytwist - June 4, 2014

I started jogging again in March and I have to agree with your post. I wonder why I ever took a break. Energy levels, metabolism, and appetite, three words that motivate me to get moving! Thanks for sharing.

nrhatch - June 4, 2014

Awesome! Instead of focusing on the number on the scale (which can be slow to budge), I’ve focused on my attitude, energy levels, and enthusiasm. It’s made all the difference in my motivation to keep moving.

10. ericjbaker - June 4, 2014

Yeah. But do rocks exercise? I’ve never seen them do it, yet they have very low body fat.

Some inanimate objects have all the luck!

nrhatch - June 4, 2014

Rocks are the ultimate Couch Potatoes. It’s just not fair. All they have to do is sit there and look pretty.

11. Val Boyko - June 4, 2014

… the shot putt? Not so sure about that for my rotator cuff … lol

nrhatch - June 4, 2014

Same here, Val. My shoulders would scream if I tried to toss the caber or the shot put.

“No! Not going to do it! Wouldn’t be prudent!”

12. diannegray - June 4, 2014

Okay – I’m jumping off my chair now to head off to the shops πŸ™‚ I take my elderly mother-in-law shopping once a week and she tells me it’s best exercise she gets all week! LOL πŸ˜‰

nrhatch - June 4, 2014

Go you! 😎

13. Barbara - June 4, 2014

I know you’re right Nancy, the hardest part is starting……..so I reckon we need to make it a habit, then we just do it without thinking.

nrhatch - June 4, 2014

That’s the ticket! To put your sneakers on and be halfway out the door before your head comes up with excuses. 😎

14. jannatwrites - June 6, 2014

I don’t want to think about anything having to do with rocks! (Our rock project has been untouched for a week and a half and it’s not getting done on its own πŸ™‚ )

nrhatch - June 6, 2014

The Pyramids would have stalled too . . . if they hadn’t had all those extra hands to maneuver the blocks into place.

It’s the summer. Enjoy!


What Say YOU?

