jump to navigation

Here and Now May 30, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Mindfulness.
trackback

It is easy to allow ourselves to be drawn out of the present, into the past and future . . . oblivious to the moment at hand.

2014-05-05 11-30-44_0029

Returning our attention to the present moment pays dividends as we hear and see what is being offered.

2014-05-05 11-30-36_0028

Here and Now.

2014-05-05 11-31-30_0032

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related post: Β Nobody Home (Milk Fever’s Blog)

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - May 30, 2014

They look so happy together! πŸ™‚

nrhatch - May 30, 2014

They added a festive air to the ceremony. Especially the blue haired clown with the pink tights.

2. Pix Under the Oaks - May 30, 2014

I have been working on it!

nrhatch - May 30, 2014

Last night it took me hours to fall asleep because my mind kept wandering forward and back ~ it’s hard to fall asleep if you’re caught up in time travel. I’m guessing sleep is only found in the NOW.

3. Grannymar - May 30, 2014

I seem to be stuck in the now, right now. I really need to move on and finish a project. Slaps wrists and presses Post! πŸ˜‰

nrhatch - May 30, 2014

Haha! Sometimes we need to give ourselves a slap so that we can shift gears.

4. ericjbaker - May 30, 2014

Don’t forget to stop and taste the cupcakes!

nrhatch - May 30, 2014

Yes! A cupcake is just right to bring our attention back to this moment. Who wants to be “lost in space” when they could be savoring delectable deliciousness?

5. kateshrewsday - May 30, 2014

Wonderful pictures, Nancy, so exuberant. I have to work on this whole here and now thing: I spend my life looking at what has been and what hasn’t happened next, and far too often I let myself be fearful. Time to concentrate on the things that matter. Thanks for the reminder.

nrhatch - May 30, 2014

I am working on releasing fear too, Kate.

I’ve decided to unsubscribe from the plethora of internet alerts that land in my in-box on an hourly basis to warn me that the sky is falling, or that nuclear fallout is just around the corner, or that the Koch brothers are up to the same old shit, or that another species has bit the bullet, or that poachers are winning the war in Rhodesia, or that people are dying of cancer, or that congress has abandoned “we the people” or that . . . well you get the idea.

It’s taking a toll on me and I’ve had ENOUGH. Maybe next year, I’ll be more fit for the role of Mother Teresa.

Behind the Story - May 31, 2014

Even Mother Teresa concentrated a lot on the work at hand. Throughout most of human history people didn’t even know what was happening in the rest of the world. Now we’re bombarded with knowledge of all these enormous problems that are beyond our individual ability to solve. I agree with your decision to unsubscribe.

nrhatch - May 31, 2014

Exactly what I’m thinking, Nicki. We all want to do our part to make the world a better place but sometimes we have to start in our own little corner. If we reach out too far . . . we’re apt to fall into the abyss.

6. Carol Balawyder - May 30, 2014

Nancy, your post made me realize how I can miss all the fun when I’m not mindful and just too much in my head.

Lack of calcium can cause sleeplessnes. You might want to check out Ellie’s post on Sleep, Glorious Sleep at:

http://newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/?s=Sleep%2C+glorious+sleep

I wish you sweet dreams all weekend long. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - May 31, 2014

Thanks, Carol. I got a “solid” (almost) TEN HOURS last night and feel like a new woman!

Sleep is so important to our physical and mental well-being.

Carol Balawyder - May 31, 2014

Isn’t it. πŸ™‚ Wow ten hours. You must be really bright and about. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - May 31, 2014

A night and day difference from how I felt yesterday! 😎

7. milkfever - May 30, 2014

Wow, that is exactly where I am at right now. Right here and now. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - May 31, 2014

MOO! Hey Milkfever . . . I haven’t see you in a cow’s age! Your last post is FAB!

http://milkfever.wordpress.com/2014/05/31/nobody-home/

8. Behind the Story - May 31, 2014

Beautiful, joyful pictures. Fun in the sun.

nrhatch - May 31, 2014

Thanks, Nicki. Milkfever’s post hammered home the point you and I discussed above ~ if we give our energy away to every cause that comes along, we have no energy for us.

9. diannegray - May 31, 2014

No matter where I am I am here! – aah, that does feel better πŸ˜€

nrhatch - May 31, 2014

A good stretch!
From head to toe
The day is young
Let’s go, go, . . . BE!

10. Eric Tonningsen - May 31, 2014

These images conjure pleasing thoughts/memories. In my mind I can still hear the sounds and appreciate the smells that accompany the presence of clowns — happy clowns, not the scary ones! This lends nicely to the present moment.

nrhatch - May 31, 2014

Thanks, Eric. Happy clowns are great. The scary ones, not so much! Hope everything in your Here and Now is pleasing.

11. bluebee - May 31, 2014

*guilty* I’m switching off my iPad right now and getting my university assignment that’s due tomorrow finished.

nrhatch - May 31, 2014

Good for you, BB! Nothing like a deadline to get us back on track. I did several “here and now” things today ~ cooking, walking, biking, eating. Don’t know that I’ve worried about the future at all today. Yay!

12. nancytex2013 - May 31, 2014

Normally clowns creep me out, but those are pretty happy looking!

nrhatch - May 31, 2014

You made it up and over the rim! Yay! I look forward to hearing about your trek.

We didn’t see any scary clowns that day. Just BIG grins.

nancytex2013 - May 31, 2014

Barely, NH. I’m hobbling like a 90 year old today. Two. Full. Days. Later. 😦
But…I DID IT! πŸ™‚

nrhatch - May 31, 2014

I’m impressed, NT. In contrast, we took a 2 mile stroll around the neighborhood today . . . on LEVEL ground.

Take the rest of the summer off! 😎

13. I am J - May 31, 2014

I hope your 10 hours of sleep has brought you back to “now.” I know when I can’t sleep, I FEEL and sometimes act like a clown, and not at all like the happy ones in these great pictures. Looks like you had a good time.

nrhatch - May 31, 2014

Yesterday was a foggy, groggy, slog of a day. Blah! Today, in contrast was BRILLIANT! There is nothing in the world like a good night sleep to lift my spirits.

Speaking of sleep, I’m about to dive into bed and head for the land of Nod. BLISS!

I am J - May 31, 2014

“Sleep tight.” Winkin and Blinkin…. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - June 1, 2014

I slept as snug as a bug in a rug. For 8 hours straight! Unheard of for me. YAY!

14. Three Well Beings - June 2, 2014

I can’t help but smile looking at these photos! The colors are spectacular–I LOVE the blue wig. I think paying attention to the present and staying there is a real trick sometimes–it really seems countercultural! But we do miss out when we run ahead or lag behind. Good reminder as I start a new and busy week. I really would like to slow down and enjoy. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - June 2, 2014

Yay! Glad they made you smile. Hope your week is not so busy that you end up wandering down the street, so lost in thought that you miss something fantastic (like one of these guys) passing by.

Paying attention keeps us safe and, often, more efficient. Have a FAB week.

15. Tokeloshe - June 3, 2014

Oh what fun! I love clowns.

nrhatch - June 3, 2014

I do too, Tok. I find them amusing and colorful and bright and fun. What a great way to pay the bills . . . by making people laugh.


What Say YOU?

