jump to navigation

Pig’s Wild! May 27, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Humor.
trackback

Last week, we attended the Grand Opening of the revitalized Beachhouse restaurant in Bradenton Beach.

2014-05-22 17-05-53_0004

The interior decor is elegant, refined, and features a wall of wine.

2014-05-22 17-06-07_0005

The ribbon-cutting ceremony included complimentary appetizers of fresh, sustainable, locally grown fruits and veggies, local seafood, and . . . wild pig!

2014-05-22 17-07-35_0008

Judging from comments made by the owner, Ed Chiles, the emergence of wild pig on menus around the country ranks right up there with the Second Coming of Christ.

2014-05-22 17-08-01_0011

I can’t imagine ever getting that excited about pork.

2014-05-22 17-07-27_0007

Instead of sampling Stuffed Oysters, Salmon Tartare, and Wild Pig Sliders, we “pigged out” on Lobster Mac & Cheese while chatting with friends and a few local dignitaries.

2014-05-22 17-06-55_0006

We also enjoyed Shishito Peppers, Mini Caprese bites, Puffed Potato Balls, roasted red peppers, and fresh strawberries, blueberries, and . . . peaches!

2014-05-22 17-07-44_0009

Chiles relayed that peaches grown at King Farms are kin to those Adam and Eve enjoyed in the Garden of Eden . . . before they pissed off the Holy Host!

2014-05-22 17-10-39_0012

He might be right ~> they were decadent, delicious, delectable, divine!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - May 27, 2014

Lobster Mac and Cheese…sounds yummy! I love lobster, but I’ve never had it served that way, Nancy.

nrhatch - May 27, 2014

It’s the new thing around here, Jill. One restaurant added it and now we see it everywhere we go ~> of course, some dining establishments are more generous with the lobster than others.

Or as Clara Peller would say:

Jill Weatherholt - May 27, 2014

Lol! I miss that commercial!

nrhatch - May 27, 2014

Today’s commercials pale in comparison.

2. Don - May 27, 2014

Lol.. pissed off the Holy… Hell Nancy you’ve got a way of saying things. You make me laugh. Looks like you had a great day. ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - May 27, 2014

Thanks, Don. Outward appearances notwithstanding, I do filter much of what I think before offering it to the world . . .

Unleashing no more than a trickle of irreverence at a time. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

3. William D'Andrea - May 27, 2014

Isn’t the meat of a wild pig much tougher than farm raised? I suppose the Restaurant uses a very large supply of Adolph’s Tenderizer, when preparing a meal.

nrhatch - May 27, 2014

No idea. I haven’t eaten meat in 17+ years.

4. nancytex2013 - May 27, 2014

What a feast!

nrhatch - May 27, 2014

We had a good time. The restaurant was overdue for a re-do. Now it looks fabulous inside and out (where the Gulf of Mexico frames the tables with Caribbean Blue).

nancytex2013 - May 27, 2014

Stop teasing me!

nrhatch - May 27, 2014

I am a BIG tease!

Here’s some photos of the outside:
https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/10/21/flavor-to-savor/

5. suzicate - May 27, 2014

Ha, “Where’s the beef?” -hadn’t seen that in ages, love it.
Sounds like a cool restaurant with an interesting menu. I tried jalapeno poppers this weekend. My family had been trying to get me to make them, but I thought they’d be too hot for me to eat. A friend made them, and I loved them. Now, I guess I’ll give it a go at making them.

nrhatch - May 27, 2014

I love jalapeno poppers! If you make them, remove the white ribs and seeds. That’s where most of the capsaicin (heat) resides.

6. Behind the Story - May 27, 2014

Beautiful, colorful table arrangements. Nothing is lovelier than fruit, veggies and flowers. Those slices of eggplant look good.

nrhatch - May 27, 2014

They also served little cubes of eggplant parmeson ~ BFF said that was his FAVORITE thing.

My favorite ~ the lobster mac & cheese.

7. Val Boyko - May 27, 2014

It all sounds yummy!! What a treat nearby. ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - May 27, 2014

We had eaten there once since the soft re-opening, but we ate outside neath breezy skies.

This was our first time to really soak up the ambiance indoors.

8. Grannymar - May 27, 2014

Lobster Mac & Cheese is a new one on me. Mind you I would have to pass on the cheese. I had a day of fruit and veg to day, very satisfying, without any stodge!

nrhatch - May 27, 2014

They did a lovely job ~ setting out some of the treats on the sideboard and having waiters wander around with the rest.

I love fruits and veggies but . . . cheese is the reason I’ve not yet gone vegan. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

9. diannegray - May 27, 2014

You had me at Lobster Mac & Cheese! YUM ๐Ÿ˜€

Then you got me again at “before they pissed off the Holy Host!” LOL

It looks like you had a fabulous night ๐Ÿ˜‰

nrhatch - May 27, 2014

Thanks, Dianne! Delicious fun.

10. jannatwrites - May 27, 2014

You had me laughing with your peaches comment! Looks like a nice place with yummy food ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - May 28, 2014

Thanks, Janna! Its location is the best part . . . right on the sands of the Gulf. And they’re planning a 2nd phase of the redo to include a rooftop dining area.

11. Crowing Crone - May 28, 2014

a delightful post filled with wit and even wine! Ah, that is better indeed.

nrhatch - May 28, 2014

Thanks, Joss. Isn’t that wall of wine spectacular? It’s like a waterfall . . . or a winefall.

12. Pix Under the Oaks - May 28, 2014

I would pass on the wild pig. The lobster mac and cheese sounds delicious! Peaches too!!!

nrhatch - May 28, 2014

They served the mac & cheese in those bite sized tasting spoons. Every time a waiter offered me one . . . I took it!

All the fruit was good, but the peaches were exceptional. King Farm is not far, I must see if they do pick your own peaches. I’ve missed drip-down-your-face peaches almost as much as I’ve missed really red ripe tomatoes.

13. ericjbaker - May 28, 2014

Sounds like fun. I went to a pig roast this summer. I ate for both of us.

nrhatch - May 28, 2014

In college, we went to a Pig Pickin’ on someone’s family farm in Wakefield every year. The hosts would slap a whole hog onto a picnic table and let people pick it to pieces while kick ass tunes played in the background and people drank until they was silly. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

There is a time and place for everything . . . and it’s called college.

14. Three Well Beings - May 29, 2014

I don’t have a yen for wild pig either, Nancy. I would much prefer a sampling of the other items you enjoyed. What a bountiful reception they offered. It looks to be a very posh and enjoyable place to raise a glass–or two. ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - May 29, 2014

The Beachhouse did a great job with the updating . . . and I can’t wait to see the rooftop terrace! Having a real “dive bar” on the beach is also great ~ a “come as you are” and sink your toes in the sand spot.

15. Tokeloshe - June 11, 2014

We also have a restaurant in Calgary called Bear’s Den, which also has wine bottles on the walls, Although they serve Bison, they don;t serve bear or Wild Pigs.

nrhatch - June 11, 2014

Thanks, Tok. If you post a photo of the wine bottles on the wall of the Bear’s Den, shoot me a link.

Tokeloshe - June 11, 2014

Nancy I didn’t take any photos unfortunately, but I found these photo on their website. http://www.bears-den.ca/DSC_3275.jpg and http://www.bears-den.ca/DSC_4074.jpg
As you can see from the next image, the decor is beautiful with stunning wall carvings.

The food, service and atmosphere is also excellent, if you ever visit Calgary.
http://www.bears-den.ca/

nrhatch - June 11, 2014

Thanks, Tok. That looks like a great place to relax and unwind.


What Say YOU?

