jump to navigation

Waves, Currents, and Streams May 16, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Life Balance, People, Poetry, Word Play.
trackback

10259892_1466746060226587_7609586330931292798_nWe used to pass
notes in the hallway
between class

paying attention
to throngs of students
flowing by in waves

intent on spotting
the note’s intended

an audience of one

active engagement
with the environment

now, heads bow
in obeisance to
electrical currents

streams of texts
ricochet
from phone to phone

an incessant buzz
floods the air

nimble fingers fly

like waves of mosquitoes
intent on blood

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related post:  Poetry Time ~ Fold (Maggie)

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - May 16, 2014

My best friend (40+ years) and I always passed notes. Thankfully, her mother saved a few. We got together a couple years ago and read them…so funny! It wouldn’t be the same with a text message.

nrhatch - May 16, 2014

How fun! Glad you had a chance to giggle over amusing school musings.

Some letters passed to me in high school were pages long, culled from the happenings (and imaginings) of the day ~ Who said What to Whom and When. Now I’m lucky to get scribbled 2-line notes at the holidays. 😎

2. suzicate - May 16, 2014

I remember those days! The horrible times the notes were intercepted by the teacher, oh humiliation! I actually don’t ever remember one of mine being intercepted but I do recall it happening to a few others.

nrhatch - May 16, 2014

I remember notes getting intercepted and confiscated in grade school ~ oops! In high school, we passed notes written in class to friends passing by in the hallway. I wonder if we ever listened to the lesson?

3. Pix Under the Oaks - May 16, 2014

No nimble fingers flying here. I watch my niece on her iPhone and can’t figure out how she does it. I text if I have to and it is a one finger hunt and peck. Or I use a stylus.. not cool I am sure! Good Morning Nancy!

nrhatch - May 16, 2014

Morning, Pix! I blocked texts on my phone because I can’t be bothered sending or receiving them.

People can call me or e-mail me . . . or pass me a note via the USPS!

Pix Under the Oaks - May 16, 2014

I really do want to hear somebody’s voice when I am talking to them. I am good with email but I love to hear a voice!

nrhatch - May 16, 2014

Back and forth conversations are great for catching up. Voice inflections add innuendo add meaning. But I love e-mails for sharing info that isn’t time sensitive.

I send it when it’s convenient for me . . . they reply when it’s convenient for them.

4. nancytex2013 - May 16, 2014

The times, they are a changin’…

nrhatch - May 16, 2014

Absolutely.

5. ericjbaker - May 16, 2014

Cripes. My phone keypad is about 10 sizes too small to fit my thumbs. I can barely manage a full-sized keyboard.

nrhatch - May 16, 2014

If my nieces had a penny for every text they’ve sent, they’d be independently wealthy.

6. Don - May 16, 2014

Aah! the notes we used to sent to each other in school. Remember those little love letters “I like you, do you like me?” Best communicated with a little piece of paper than a phone. I wish I had a scrap book of all the letters we used to send to each other in school. 🙂

nrhatch - May 16, 2014

I saw a couple on TV who met in grade school and sent one of those notes:

Do you like me? ____ YES _____ NO

They ended up married. 😎

Don - May 16, 2014

🙂

7. diannegray - May 16, 2014

Those notes were great (except when they were intercepted!) But they could easily be destroyed. Now it’s so much harder to get rid of a text message before the world sees it!

nrhatch - May 16, 2014

Our digital footprints are ENORMOUS!

8. bluebee - May 16, 2014

Well-crafted, Nancy. We’re going to evolve into humpback creatures with our heads down.

nrhatch - May 16, 2014

Thanks, BB. I suspect you’re right ~ texting is going to leave texters with deformed heads, necks, and twitching wrists.

They might be tongue-tied too.

9. Behind the Story - May 16, 2014

I like the rhythm of your poem as well as the content.

After watching Rachel Maddow today on the difficulty of redacting secret information, maybe passing notes was a good way to go—unless of course the teacher caught you.

nrhatch - May 17, 2014

Thanks, Nicki. Good point. Notes have more physicality and substance, but digital messages are easy to transmit and harder to erase and eradicate. Even when we think they’re gone, they linger.

10. I am J - May 17, 2014

Gosh, you’re a poet, too? And a good one, I might add. I enjoyed this and was surprised by the nostalgia I had when reading it.

I’ve just spent the last two days going through boxes of cards and notes I’ve saved from the “old days” and every one of them has brought me joy and memories. But then, they are written in “Old English” with long words and archaic grammar rules (remember when you were “awakened” and not “woken” in the middle of the night?) By the next generation, my old stuff could easily be in some museum like a 20th century Rosetta Stone depicting how dull life was before “texting.” 🙂

nrhatch - May 17, 2014

Thanks, J! Sometimes poems are a more expeditious way to get a point across.

I love that you have notes and cards written in “Old English.” I used to have a BIG box but I culled it down and shared some of the funnier letters with the people who sent them. 😎

11. jannatwrites - May 18, 2014

Ah, I remember the note passing. It was all fun and games until the teacher intercepted one and read it to the class! I’m not a good texter. I sent my first one two years ago and I refuse to do the crazy abbreviations 🙂

nrhatch - May 18, 2014

I sent and received a few texts and decided that texting was not my preferred mode of communication.

So I blocked all texts on my phone. Much better!

12. Three Well Beings - May 19, 2014

“Heads bow in obeisance to electrical currents”–I love this line! I hadn’t thought about “note passing” in a very long time, Nancy. I remember how fun it was trying to outwit the teacher! 🙂

nrhatch - May 19, 2014

I wouldn’t trade my note passing days for the best Smart Phone on the planet! 😎


What Say YOU?

