jump to navigation

Philomena May 15, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Books & Movies, Happiness, People.
trackback

Philomena shares the story of a young unmarried pregnant girl who, after being sent in disgrace to a convent by her father, agrees to put her son up for adoption.

Fifty years later, after seeking help from recalcitrant nuns to find her grown son, Philomena (played by Judi Dench) enlists the aid of a journalist (Steve Coogan) to help her track him down.

This touching comedic film, based on a true story, is not a documentary ~ it takes dramatic license and liberties in depicting historical events.

The creative blending of fact and fiction enhances the story line, allowing us to see how Philomena reconciles the nuns’ apparent lack of compassion without losing her deep and abiding faith.

Judi Dench reveals the amazing power of forgiveness to transform and heal.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. suzicate - May 15, 2014

Thanks for including the trailer of this. Looks like a good movie.

nrhatch - May 15, 2014

Just the right mix of comedy and drama ~> a serious film that allows viewers to laugh at the absurdities of life.

2. Pix Under the Oaks - May 15, 2014

Loved this movie! Saw it a couple of days after the Banks movie. Judi Dench was amazing in Philomena.

nrhatch - May 15, 2014

Judi Dench brings a great range to her roles ~ no cardboard cut-out is she.

3. Jill Weatherholt - May 15, 2014

This looks like a good movie, Nancy. I’m so glad you posted this because I haven’t even heard anything about it until now. 🙂

nrhatch - May 15, 2014

It’s not a “warm and fuzzy” film, but it is uplifting in its own way ~ with its subtle reminder that forgiving others benefits us.

4. nancytex2013 - May 15, 2014

Saw the film a few months ago and loved it. Dame Dench’s acting was fantastic.

nrhatch - May 15, 2014

She and Maggie Smith are perennial favorites with me ~ they breathe life into all their roles.

nancytex2013 - May 15, 2014

Couldn’t agree more.

nrhatch - May 15, 2014

I’m waiting for Judi to join Maggie in Downton Abbey ~ perhaps as a visitor from another estate.

5. lindsaycummingswrites - May 15, 2014

Looks really well done. Can’t wait to catch it!

nrhatch - May 15, 2014

It’s got the right mix of humor and human interest. Hope you enjoy.

6. jannatwrites - May 15, 2014

I’ll have to add it to my watch list. (I don’t see it on Netflix streaming yet, though 😦 )

nrhatch - May 15, 2014

It is available on Netflix via the mail . . . not sure why it’s not available on streaming at the same time. Who knew that “Snail Mail” movies were faster than streaming?

7. colonialist - May 15, 2014

Looks fantastic, but I am afraid it will fail on my fuzziness indicator.

nrhatch - May 15, 2014

What’s your fuzziness indicator? Does it light up when the line between fact and fiction is blurred?

When I watch movies, even those based on true events, I suspend disbelief by saying, “If it happened like this, is the story unfolding in a believable way?”

Otherwise, I wouldn’t enjoy movies like Harry Potter, Nanny McPhee, Star Wars, Animal Farm, Shrek, etc.

colonialist - May 15, 2014

No, it simply requires a fairly high level of warm and fuzzy feeling. I can only take so much of cold and stark, real though it may be.

nrhatch - May 15, 2014

The trailer would give you a sense of the film’s warm and fuzzy factor. I’m with you. I do not enjoy watching depressing films and will never recommend one here.

This film is a great balance between human interest and humor ~ it’s not exactly a “happy ending” story, but you get the sense that EVERYONE is in a better place when the credits roll.

8. Ronnie@Hurtledto60 - May 15, 2014

Fabulous film, it had me laughing and crying.

nrhatch - May 15, 2014

The writing is very clever and the delivery by Coogan and Dench is spot on, without distracting or detracting from the plot. As a result, the story pulls emotions from us, from tears to laughter.

9. 2e0mca - May 15, 2014

Dame Judi is one of our great treasures and anything involving her is almost guaranteed to be a joy to watch! Thanks for the heads up on this film Nancy – I think I’ll add it to the watch list 🙂

I’m with you, I don’t like depressing films. One of the most depressing I’ve ever watched was Downfall – even knowing the history behind the events it tells does not prepare you for how grim it is. A masterpiece but a very depressing one.

nrhatch - May 18, 2014

Awesome! Hope you enjoy it.

I found it quite uplifting despite what could be a very depressing subject matter and tale ~ it conveys the idea that it is NOT what happens to us that matters as much as how we choose to view it. Philomena’s attitude (as shared by Dench) makes all the difference.

BTW: I just found your comment in the SPAM filter, Martin. Sorry for the delay in fishing it out. I hadn’t checked it much this week and found 262 comments there ~ including two of your which I retrieved before flushing the rest.

10. Behind the Story - May 15, 2014

I enjoyed Philomena a lot. The back and forth relationship between the two main characters was unpredictable and heartwarming.

nrhatch - May 15, 2014

Yes! Like when Philomena holds a mirror up so he can see the impact of his behavior on others.

11. diannegray - May 15, 2014

I love Judi Dench – the trailer is a great teaser and it looks like a wonderful film 😀

nrhatch - May 16, 2014

The director turned what could have been a depressing backwards glance into something hope filled.

12. pix & kardz - May 15, 2014

enjoyed the trailer. sounds like a powerful, heartwarming story. gotta love forgiveness. thanks for sharing.

nrhatch - May 16, 2014

Hope floats and forgiveness lifts us up, up, and away!

13. bluebee - May 16, 2014

I missed it at the movies, but it’s on my list of DVD hires. My husband just bought me the whole ‘Breaking Bad’ series and I’m hooked on that at the moment.

nrhatch - May 16, 2014

We miss every movie at the movies ~ I like watching films at home, on our own, where we can press *PAUSE* if we want a snack or a break.

I need to check out the Breaking Bad series. I’ve heard people talking about it for awhile without seeing a single episode. Enjoy BB’s Breaking Bad marathon!

14. Three Well Beings - May 17, 2014

We really loved this movie, too, Nancy. It was so well-acted, a fantastic script, and a heart-wrenching story delivered with a little humor to lighten the overall heartbreak. I haven’t read the original book yet, but I’m very interested and probably will at some point. I don’t know that I’d learn a whole lot more, but the story of the friendship between Philomena and Martin really interests me. I hope your post boosts rentals! I always want to see a small scale movie of this caliber do well in the box office. 🙂

nrhatch - May 17, 2014

Humor turns this human interest story into an enjoyable watch ~ especially with Dench and Coogan to bring it to life.

Sometimes, after watching a movie based on a book, I’m inspired to read the book. Moviemakers, by necessity, leave things out. Other times, the movie gives me enough info that I move on to the next story. And the next. And the next. Skimming through the forest without concern for the branches.

15. Perfecting Motherhood - June 3, 2014

Thanks for reminding me I need to watch this movie.

nrhatch - June 3, 2014

Other than wanting to wring the wicked nun’s neck at the end, I found this movie delightful and full of depth.

Perfecting Motherhood - June 3, 2014

Sounds good!

nrhatch - June 3, 2014

Enjoy!


What Say YOU?

