jump to navigation

Posters, Postage, and Postal Posers May 14, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Humor.
trackback

Last week, we went to the Ringling Museum in Sarasota for the unveiling of eight brand new Vintage Circus Poster Stamps issued by the United States Postal Service (USPS).

Circus_Stamp_Ceremony_center_web5f217f

The grounds, as always, looked great.

2014-05-05 10-52-00_0001

The 100-year-old Bell Wagon (featured in Cecil B. DeMille’s The Greatest Show on Earth) entertained guests with popular favorites.

2014-05-05 10-53-05_0004

The Lion and Gladiator Wagon made a special appearance.

2014-05-05 10-54-28_0010

After a short pat-on-the-back ceremony, a bevy of comical clowns snapped together a giant jigsaw puzzle of postage stamps:

2014-05-05 11-21-31_0017

This is a snap . . .

2014-05-05 11-22-13_0021

Four down, two up, and two to go . . .

2014-05-05 11-22-42_0022

This is a Stick Up . . .

2014-05-05 11-22-53_0023

Ta da!  The sheet is complete . . .

2014-05-05 11-29-59_0026

A slightly better view . . .

2014-05-05 11-37-53_0039

What’s a poster postage ceremony without after-the-fact photo posers?

2014-05-05 11-31-30_0032

Some posers pose with painted on smiles (or frowns) . . .

2014-05-05 11-31-40_0033

Posters, Postage, and Postal Posers = Perfect Together!

2014-05-05 11-31-16_0031

Aah . . . that’s better!

Are you a philatelist?
Do you find clowns funnier than your average funambulist?

Or are clowns hiding-under-the-covers S~C~A~R~Y?

 

Comments»

1. Arlee Bird - May 14, 2014

I hadn’t heard about these new stamps, but I don’t keep up with stamp collecting like I used to. I have a sizeable stamp collection from my pre-adult days and still occasionally buy new issues of US stamps that I like. I may have to get some of these circus stamps.

Lee
Tossing It Out

nrhatch - May 14, 2014

We bought 3 sheets ~ to post snail mail cards and birthday checks to our nieces and nephews. I’m so glad the USPS started issuing Forever Stamps so that they stay current with inflation.

2. Jill Weatherholt - May 14, 2014

Wow, what a great celebration…wonderful pictures, Nancy. That is a very cool stamp.
I’ve always been a little frightened of clowns, not sure why.

nrhatch - May 14, 2014

I do not have a deep seated fear of clowns BUT I saw an episode of a crime drama once (probably The Mentalist) involving clowns that was plenty SCARY.

A murder occurred near a Clown Convention ~ all those people hiding behind masks gave me cause for pause in deciding WhoDunnIt.

3. colonialist - May 14, 2014

I don’t like the ones showing performing animals – which should be stamped out! 🙂

nrhatch - May 14, 2014

Bwahaha! Protesters gathered outside the Ringling Museum entrance on the day of the ceremony to protest the use of performing animals, especially elephants, in circuses. None of the signs was as clever as your idea to “Stamp Out Animal Acts.”

And I agree. I won’t go to circuses that have performing animals.

colonialist - May 14, 2014

There are two sides to that question, too – aren’t there to everything? My unfinished Tabike 3 is in the process of having a look at them.

nrhatch - May 14, 2014

Interesting theme for your Tabike 3. I’m pretty sure which side of the question I fall on.

4. Don - May 14, 2014

What a magnificent little ceremony. I wish I was there. That old bell wagon is something to behold. I loved the architecture of that building

nrhatch - May 14, 2014

It’s the first time we’ve heard the Bell Wagon ~ it sounded great as it announced, “IT’S THE CIRCUS!”

We enjoyed the outdoor ceremony (except for the Love Bugs circling our heads in their perpetual mating dance), bought some stamps, and scooted through the Circus Museum on our way out.

5. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - May 14, 2014

Love those stamps! And I loved The Greatest Show on Earth! I had to buy it on DVD when I realized I didn’t have a VCR anymore! 🙂

nrhatch - May 14, 2014

Yay! Glad you enjoyed seeing the stamps. I haven’t seen The Greatest Show on Earth in ages . . . but it plays on perpetual loop in the Circus Museum at Ringling. There are always a few visitors sitting on benches to watch.

6. nancytex2013 - May 14, 2014

Clowns creep me out…but your pictures are fabulous!

nrhatch - May 14, 2014

Some clowns can be quite menacing. I loved the clown with blue hair, pink tights, and orange skirt and shirt. What a colorful combo!

nancytex2013 - May 14, 2014

Agreed!

7. Val Boyko - May 14, 2014

It looks like a fun occasion Nancy! I’ve been there and find the whole place fascinating and beautiful.
Clowns have always made me feel uncomfortable. Guess I never did get used to people hiding behind masks. I had the same feeling about Mickey Mouse too … but I grew out of that one when I realized he was a cartoon character 🙂

nrhatch - May 14, 2014

One of our favorite stops in the Circus Museum is the miniature circus. Just amazing.

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/09/04/send-in-the-clowns/

Mickey Mouse is not nearly as scary as Donald Duck . . . who, by the way, just turned 80!

8. diannegray - May 14, 2014

Great collection, Nancy.

I actually find clowns kinda scary after seeing a doco about John Wayne Gacy many years ago 😯

nrhatch - May 14, 2014

ACK! I’ve never heard of him before. I bet this is what you saw:

diannegray - May 14, 2014

Thanks for the reminder! 😀

nrhatch - May 15, 2014

Hope you didn’t have nightmares. I’m not going to watch the clip for just that reason.

9. Three Well Beings - May 15, 2014

Funambulist! Now that’s a new word for me! I’ve never been a philatelist, but I often admire the stamps as small works of art. And everything about the circus is appealing to me, although I think I’m more attracted to the colors and sounds more than individual acts. What a very fun museum! That I would really enjoy!

nrhatch - May 15, 2014

Funambulist is such a great word for aerialists. Wandering around the circus museum reveals fascinating facts and tantalizing tidbits about the circus and its performers.

10. Pix Under the Oaks - May 15, 2014

The wagon is gorgeous and what a cool presentation of the stamps! It was sunny there!!! We haven’t seen the sun in days BUT at least we have some much needed rain!

nrhatch - May 15, 2014

I’m glad you’re catching up on the rain, but hope you see some sun soon. Our afternoon rains started on Tuesday. Mornings filled with blue skies and afternoons punctuated by pouring rain. Until this morning, when gray skies greeted me. 😎

11. jannatwrites - May 15, 2014

Looks like fun! Clowns don’t scare me, unless of course, the red isn’t paint and they are chasing me with a machete… then they are quite frightening 🙂

nrhatch - May 15, 2014

When I first heard that lots of folks are scared of clowns, it surprised me a bit since they rarely seem intimidating. But I’ve seen some pretty freaky masks since then (like Tricky Dick) and I get it. Especially when machetes are involved.

Another terror inducing character . . . Chuck E. Cheese!

12. ericjbaker - May 15, 2014

My favorite USPS stamps were the Universal Classic Monsters series from about 20 years ago. I don’t collect stamps, but I did get a mouse pad with a reproduction of the “The Wolfman” stamp for a graphic. I use it to this very day.

nrhatch - May 15, 2014

I missed the Universal Classic Monsters series 20 years ago ~ at the time, I was busy arguing with a bunch of lawyers about this, that, and the other thing. 😎

Glad you’re enjoying your retro repro of The Wolfman. My mousepad is a wave. Hang Ten, Dude!

ericjbaker - May 15, 2014

It’s very close to death. I got my money’s worth, though.

nrhatch - May 15, 2014

My mouse is making choking sounds . . . as if it’s giving up the ghost. Cowabunga, Dude!

13. What Are You . . . Some Kind Of A Bozo? | Spirit Lights The Way - May 22, 2014

[…] the Posters, Postage, and Postal Posers Ceremony, BFF and I wandered through the Circus […]


What Say YOU?

