jump to navigation

Simple Abundance April 22, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Happiness, Meditation, Mindfulness.
trackback

Ego concerns like fear, anger, and guilt get in the way of  our happiness.  We hang on to things for days that we should brush off in minutes.

When life hands you lemons, remember to spit out the seeds!

300px-Paradiso_Canto_31

Recognize the richness of your existence:  

* Riches are not from an abundance of worldly goods, but from a contented mind. ~ Mohammed

* How beautiful it is to do nothing, and then rest afterward. ~ Spanish Proverb

* What a wonderful life I’ve had!  I only wish I’d realized it sooner. ~ Colette

Aah . . . that’s better!

For a wonderful post on the power of breathing ~ Breathe Well and Be Well (Find Your Middle Ground)

Comments»

1. suzicate - April 22, 2014

Sometimes doing nothing is exactly what we need…just breathe…

nrhatch - April 22, 2014

Some people are so busy running, they don’t realize they’re being chased by their own shadows.

Here’s to pressing *pause* long enough to soak up the stillness.

2. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - April 22, 2014

I love that! It’s important to remember where our riches really are!

nrhatch - April 22, 2014

Here’s to flowing from moment to moment with a contented mind, no longer racing ahead to imagine the worst or regretting a past that cannot be changed.

Here, now . . . where the dance of life takes place.

3. Val Boyko - April 22, 2014

Great reminder for today. Thank you so much Nancy! Breath easy my friend 😉

nrhatch - April 22, 2014

When we learn how to breathe, our world expands. Thanks for sharing your insights ~ they’re a breath of fresh air.

4. Pix Under the Oaks - April 22, 2014

I enjoy doing nothing but sitting outside and listening to the birds! I need that today and that is what I will do.. unless we need to make a trip to St. Louis!

nrhatch - April 22, 2014

I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you get to enjoy a chorus of birds today, Pix.

5. colonialist - April 22, 2014

Shouldn’t one plant those seeds? 🙂

nrhatch - April 22, 2014

That’s a great idea! We have a lemon tree in the courtyard, but haven’t got any lemons off it lately.

We do have a pineapple growing . . . SLOWLY.

6. Tina DC Hayes - April 22, 2014

“When life hands you lemons, remember to spit out the seeds!” I love that line! I’m gonna try to remember that the next time I have a bad day. 🙂

nrhatch - April 22, 2014

That’s the spirit!

7. Grannymar - April 23, 2014

I am reminded of “Leisure” a poem by Welsh poet W. H. Davies

What is this life if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare.

No time to stand beneath the boughs
And stare as long as sheep or cows.

No time to see, when woods we pass,
Where squirrels hide their nuts in grass.

No time to see, in broad daylight,
Streams full of stars, like skies at night.

No time to turn at Beauty’s glance,
And watch her feet, how they can dance.

No time to wait till her mouth can
Enrich that smile her eyes began.

A poor life this if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare.

nrhatch - April 23, 2014

I have always loved that poem ~ I think my grandfather shared it with me for the first time. Thanks, GM!

8. jannatwrites - April 23, 2014

I did nothing on Sunday and it was great. I made the most of my ‘alone’ time and watched an entire season of Drop Dead Diva 🙂

nrhatch - April 23, 2014

Yay! Rewind time (and wine time) beats whine time anytime.

9. diannegray - April 23, 2014

Ah – I needed this today, Nancy. I particularly like the Colette quote – so true 😀

nrhatch - April 23, 2014

Glad it struck the right chord for you, Dianne. Colette’s quote is a great reminder to focus on the good right here and now.

10. I am J - April 24, 2014

“How beautiful it is to do nothing, and then rest afterward.” I haven’t done this in a long time, too long, and your lovely post today has reminded me to slow down and savor life. Every moment is far too precious to be wasted on “busy-ness.”

You’ve shared a powerful message here and I especially like how you get to the point and convey a powerful message in just a few well-chosen words.

nrhatch - April 24, 2014

Thanks, J! You always leave such lovely comments. Your Easter weekend (and all your renovating) sounded wonderful . . . but busy. Now it’s time to breathe deep and relax.

11. My Light Bag - April 24, 2014

Such beautiful thoughts and quotes!

nrhatch - April 24, 2014

Thanks, Polina. Simple ideas pay dividends when we remember to unclutter our minds of the extraneous. Aah . . .

12. Three Well Beings - April 25, 2014

I really love that Spanish proverb! Isn’t it wonderful to have the permission to do nothing–or rest. We can only give that to ourselves, however. It’s not exactly validated from external sources. Fantastic, Nancy!

nrhatch - April 25, 2014

Some people never allow themselves the luxury of doing nothing. They are far too busy and important to relax.

Once you’ve tried doing nothing . . . nothing else will do. 😎

13. sufilight - April 26, 2014

Loved this. Shared in Pinterest!

nrhatch - April 26, 2014

Thanks for the pin on Pinterest, Marie! Glad you enjoyed.


What Say YOU?

