jump to navigation

On A Scale From 1 – 22 February 2, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Happiness, Mindfulness.
trackback

Wikipedia ~ American Humor (in Public Domain)

Emotions are an indicator of our current vibrational frequency.

The positive (and negative) vibes we give off act as magnets to attract more of the same to us.

The better we feel, the more likely we are to keep feeling good because we attract more feel good stuff when we are feeling good.

When we are in complete alignment with our Source Energy, we feel free, powerful, happy, loved, valued.

It’s all good!

If we grade our emotions on a scale from positive to negative, the scale might look something like the 22-point scale shared in Ask and It Is Given:

Mickey-OK1. Joy/ Knowledge/ Empowerment/ Freedom/ Love/ Appreciation/ Gratitude

2. Passion

3. Enthusiasm/Eagerness/Happiness

4. Positive Expectation/Belief

Donald-Duck-Baseball5. Optimism

6. Hopefulness

7. Contentment

8. Boredom

9. Pessimism

Broccoli-Mocking-Stewie10. Frustration/Irritation/Impatience

11. Overwhelmed

12. Disappointment

13. Doubt

Donald-Duck-Lazy14. Worry 

15. Blame

16. Discouragement

17. Anger

18. Revenge

19. Hatred/Rage

Grumpy gus20. Jealousy

21. Insecurity/Guilt/Unworthiness

22. Fear/Grief/Depression/Despair/Powerlessness

No matter where we are on the scale, we can move UP the scale, bit by bit, by swapping out a negative thought for a more positive thought.

When we learn to embrace all with joy, knowing that anything can be a gift of gold in disguise, we’re back in full connection with who we really are.

Aah . . . that’s better!  

Related post:  Listen To Your Body, It’s Listening To You (Find Your Middle Ground)

Comments»

1. Rainee - February 2, 2014

Nice post :-). I am having a good spell currently so I am experiencing many of the positive emotions. I like the concept of changing upscale ‘bit by bit’ – we can’t do it all at once – at least I can’t 🙂

nrhatch - February 2, 2014

Yay! That’s the best way/place to be. The view is more expansive for one thing.

When we are on the bottom rung, most of us can manage to move up a rung or two at a time, but the top rung is out of reach until we improve our mood.

Laughter lightens and lifts ~ we do not laugh because we are happy. We are happy because we laugh. 😆

2. granny1947 - February 2, 2014

All sounds good.
Easier said than done, sometimes.
Thanks heavens for Youtube and bloopers…I try to get my daily laugh in somehow.

nrhatch - February 2, 2014

Laughter is a great way to lighten our mood and kick it up a few notches. Action helps too ~ cleaning a closet, tidying up drawers, punching a pillow. :mrgreen:

3. Tom Merriman - February 2, 2014

Yes, I love being in the ‘right’ frequency, Nancy – I do like to feel good!

nrhatch - February 2, 2014

Being at 7 or above (on this scale) is what I aim for . . . most of the time. When I’m tired, sick, or just plain cranky, I stop in at #10 for a time . . . and rebound as quickly as I can.

4. ericjbaker - February 2, 2014

I typically range from 6 to 10 on that scale, minus 8. I don’t get bored.

nrhatch - February 2, 2014

That’s a decent range . . . especially given your relative youth.

I’ve moved up on the scale over time. Whether it’s a product of aging, practice, or both, I can’t say. Like you, I am seldom bored unless I’m sick ~ I got bored of feeling sick pretty quick. 😉

5. diannegray - February 2, 2014

It’s interesting that there are more negatives than positives. I would have thought (on the balance scale) that the negative feelings would come in at number 11. I can switch between the positives and negatives, but am usually high on the positive scale. I’ve been to 22 in my life and never want to pay that number a visit again 😉 Having said that, we find a new appreciation the positives when we’re that low…

nrhatch - February 2, 2014

I agree with you. This is “a” scale to consider, but I don’t think it is “the” definitive scale for all people all the time. It’s a helpful illustration for purposes of the discussion. Perhaps we each need to modify it so that it’s a better reflection of us.

I’m not sure that I’d use a 22 point scale as my Happiness Meter or that I’d dump so many things in Spot #1 ~ if we spread them out, the negatives and positives would even out.

Using this scale, I agree that #22 is NOT THE PLACE I WANT TO BE.

6. jannatwrites - February 2, 2014

Like Dianne, I noticed that the negatives start earlier in the scale. There are some people who seem to take advantage of that. I might have some days on the higher (negative) end of the scale, but thankfully, most days are seven and below 😛

nrhatch - February 2, 2014

When I’m “hitting on all cyclinders,” I’m somewhere between 1 and 7. I take an occasional “dip” into the “negatives” just to make things interesting ~ but I try not to linger there any longer than necessary.

If I’m a #1 . . . I’m not too fussy about what I call it (“it’s all good”), but “Negative Nellie” and “Pessimistic Pete” may need a more PRECISE label for their doubt, worry, anger, or whathaveyou.”

7. sufilight - February 2, 2014

I am between 1 and 7 most of the time, but sometimes I experience #22 in the form of a sudden mini panic feeling but I bounce right back to my real self: the content one. For me staying balanced is learning to not identify with all of my thoughts reason why I am exploring mindfulness. 🙂

nrhatch - February 2, 2014

That’s the key . . . bouncing back to where we want to be, rather than buying into the thoughts that landed us in a heap at #22.

Just finished watching the SuperBowl. I’m guessing LOTS of SeaHawks players are hovering around #1 . . . while the Broncos have probably gravitated somewhere between #12 and #16.

8. Behind the Story - February 3, 2014

It’s interesting that #1 has such a wide variety of manifestations. I particularly like these words of advice you give: “The better we feel, the more likely we are to keep feeling good because we attract more feel good stuff when we are feeling good.” Good post.

nrhatch - February 3, 2014

I expect the creator of this scale wanted to illustrate with #1 (and #22) that feeling good (or bad) is contagious . . . spilling over into all areas of our life.

I know that has been my expectation. Positive vibes are like an avalanche that imbue the whole world with Good Stuff.

9. colonialist - February 3, 2014

Valid idea. One could, though, spend some time in arguing the exact order of progression. I would put pessimism and boredom lower down the scale, as coming as a result of some of the others.

nrhatch - February 3, 2014

This is “A” scale to consider, but it is not “THE” definitive scale for all people all the time.

I used it to illustrate the discussion. Perhaps we each need to modify it so that it’s a better reflection of us.

10. Eric Tonningsen - February 4, 2014

I ‘get’ the range, your related perspectives and incremental approach towards shifts/growth. All helpful. What I find most challenging in all of this is “When we are in complete alignment with our Source Energy…” Aspirational, yet a high bar for many.

nrhatch - February 4, 2014

I often find myself in complete alignment . . . where JOY permeates my entire being and I am grateful just to be ALIVE!

Alas, it doesn’t always last. 😉

11. Three Well Beings - February 4, 2014

This is such an important message, Nancy. I am completely convinced of its truth! I have at times even experimented with it, knowing that I was really in one of those “awful” moods, but then I started shifting the inner talk and observing how the feelings followed “up” the scale! I think it’s significant to me that “overwhelmed” is right in the middle of the scale. It’s when I feel overwhelmed with responsibility or something tough that I can either plummet lower, or stop, breathe, recalibrate and recognize that the feeling is simply a temporary condition, and then move on up the ladder to better well-being. I think that’s a huge “aha” moment. Very helpful!

nrhatch - February 4, 2014

Thank you, Debra. Your way of “applying the brakes” with a deep breath is PERFECT.

If we are feeling good, we don’t need to pay much attention to our inner /self talk. But when our mood starts to head south, if we tune in, we often find the source of our discontent lies in the thoughts we are thinking. If we change the channel, our perspective shifts and we can reclaim a higher rung on the ladder.

12. My Light Bag - February 4, 2014

Very interesting scale. I’d never thought of emotions on such a scale, I just thought it was A and B – light and dark. Thank you for sharing.

nrhatch - February 4, 2014

That’s why I included the scale used by Ester and Jerry Hicks ~ it’s a great way to see the variants in how we are experiencing the present moment. We are always looking through a “veil” of emotions. The better we feel, the better the world looks.

13. librarylady - February 4, 2014

Excellant post – once again. I Love the scale, it kind of lays it out in black and white – this is where I am, this is where I want to be. I totally agree with your theory that positive brings more positive, you get back what you send out. Today I will choose not to be offended by anyone, . . . oh dear, I work with the public . . wish me luck..

nrhatch - February 4, 2014

Yes! We can CHOOSE not to be offended . . . especially when we don’t value “their” opinion. 😉

I find the scale to be a helpful image to keep in mind when we want to get from HERE to THERE.

14. Perfecting Motherhood - February 15, 2014

Great post! I think I navigate between #1 and 3 on most days (and I know someone who hangs out towards the bottom of the list so I’m glad I’m not down there).

A few days ago I was sitting in a county office to try to sign up for Medi-Cal (California’s version of Medicaid). I was telling the county worker about my life of the past few years and she said something very sound: once you’ve hit rock bottom, you can only go up. That’s so true, and something I tell myself on a regular basis.

nrhatch - February 15, 2014

Boy, you are at the right end of the spectrum, Milka. When we’re imbued with POSITIVE energy, life is easier . . . even in the face of the types of challenges you’ve had to address over the past few years. Good luck staying UP as you bounce back from “rock bottom.”

Perfecting Motherhood - February 16, 2014

It takes a lot to bug me these days. In the past week I’ve had a flat tire, problems with my garage door, my seedlings baked in my greenhouse and it was my 4th attempt for sign up for Medi-Cal. I feel I’ve been to hell and back in the past couple of years and I can take almost anything. When s#$&t happens, now I just say, bring it on!

nrhatch - February 16, 2014

You are one of the most resilient people I’ve ever (not) met ~ you handle flat tires and life’s curveballs better than most people deal with paper cuts. You rock!


What Say YOU?

