jump to navigation

“I Don’t Know Where I’m Going” November 7, 2013

Posted by nrhatch in Magick & Mystery, Mindfulness, Word Play.
trackback

Calvin-gots-an-IdeaI’ve been reading through old letters foraged from my dad’s study after he died.

I’ve sorted them in date order from the 1930’s to the 1980’s ~ more from some years than from others.

The box contains hundreds of letters filled with thousands of sentences and sentiments.

A waterfall of words cascading across time.

Yesterday, a few words splashed out in a delicious synchronicitous moment.

On Halloween, we helped some neighbors clean out their villa for sale.  They let us take anything we wanted.  We came home with a flat panel TV, a stereo receiver, a 5-disc CD player, a step-ladder, some binoculars, etc.

Best trick or TREATING ever!

A few days later, BFF hooked up the stereo.  Yesterday, I put a stack of CD’s in the player without paying much attention to my choices.

* One of the CD’s happened to be Hootie and the Blowfish, Cracked Rear View.

* One of the songs on the CD happened to be “Time.”

* One of the lines in “Time” happens to be “I don’t know where I’m going.”

As Hootie sang in the background, I picked up a letter from my dad to his dad, written in 1946 just after dad enlisted in the Army.

And I happened to read a sentence which happened to contain the same words Hootie happened to be singing at that very moment in “Time” . . .

“I don’t know where I’m going.”

Mickey-OKThe moment coalesced in the perfect alignment and overlay of words dad happened to write in 1946 with words Hootie happened to sing 1994 that I happened to read and hear at the same moment in 2013.

Amazing orchestration, Maestro!
BRAVO!  ENCORE!

Even when we don’t know where we’re going, it’s a good idea to pay attention.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related post:  “We’re In The Army Now”

Comments»

1. suzicate - November 7, 2013

What a splendid moment that was! You know I”m going to say there’s a message in there! I usually don’t know where I’m going but I am aware of where I am at the moment.

nrhatch - November 7, 2013

Pretty cool moment, Suzi. “Wow. Did that just happen?”

I’m trying to decipher a recurring message about the “legacies” we leave. I keep stumbling into the world LEGACY. In the past week or so:

* Eric wrote a post, Preserving Your Legacy
* Someone at water aerobics attended a lecture on legacies
* The next Netflix movie in our queue ~ The Bourne Legacy

Eric’s post:
http://tonningsen.wordpress.com/2013/11/02/preserving-your-legacy/

2. Lisa A. Kramer - November 7, 2013

What an awesome find on all counts. And a message from your Dad too. Such neat synchronicities.

nrhatch - November 7, 2013

I did a double take as the words filtered in from two directions in perfect alignment. Very cool!

3. shreejacob - November 7, 2013

Ooo..a treasure trove of letters. I think one of the most awesome things is to come across old letters..they tell such wonderful stories! I guess with emails it’s not as nice..or romantic.

It’s true about paying attention when Life plays…we are so often looking for things that we miss what’s happening right in front of us.

nrhatch - November 7, 2013

Song lyrics often convey exactly what we need to hear when we need to hear it . . . even if we’ve listened to the song hundreds of times before without noticing “those” words.

I’m trying to find the right balance with the letters ~ keep a few that provide the essence of dad while letting go of the rest. If we hang on to everything, we become anchored to the past.

shreejacob - November 7, 2013

True about that….being anchored to the last..I didn’t think of it!
I still hope you enjoy going through the letters and finding a little more about your dad and all 🙂

nrhatch - November 7, 2013

Same here! I have noticed that he had quite a good sense of humor while in his teens ~ especially when teasing his younger sister.

4. sued51 - November 7, 2013

I love when stuff like that happens! I believe we are all connected across time and space…I wrote about a couple of times that happened to me:

http://sued51.wordpress.com/2010/10/08/do-you-believe-in-telepathy-part-2/

nrhatch - November 7, 2013

Thanks, Sue. I’ll be by in short order to check out your post. I definitely believe there is more to this sphere than meets the eye (or ear). I sense activity from “beyond the veil.”

sued51 - November 7, 2013

I SO agree! 🙂

5. Pix Under the Oaks - November 7, 2013

Beautiful Nancy! I love it when that happens. Thankfully I saved almost all the letters my Mom wrote to me when I was in college. I have one or two my Dad wrote. They are special because he didn’t show much emotion.

nrhatch - November 7, 2013

I have a shoebox of letters from my parents, grandparents, nieces, nephews, and friends. I try to keep a sprinkling from each rather than a massive waterfall.

Given the lost art of letter writing, future generations may have only digital details to save and savor.

6. jannatwrites - November 7, 2013

Wow, that is a cool moment! (Oh and two thumbs up for the trick or treating haul. All I got was a Reese’s peanut butter cup :razz:)

nrhatch - November 7, 2013

Quite a delicious moment. At first, I wondered if I’d really heard the lyrics or had superimposed words from the letter. I double checked ~ a perfect match.

We went over to help and ended up with quite a haul of unexpected bounty. 😉

7. ericjbaker - November 7, 2013

Cool story. My mom has a trunck of letters written by her parents to each other as well as letters from uncles, aunts, cousins, etc dating back to the late 1800s and from all over North America and Europe. She’s been going through that crate for years and still isn’t done. It certianly gives life to those old balck-and-white photos when you learn the stories behind them.

nrhatch - November 7, 2013

Cool! My great grandfather and his brother fought in the Civil War and wrote letters home to Vermont on a regular basis. My dad cataloged those letters in connection with his genealogy research. Fascinating to read them and, as you say, put life into those B&W photos!

8. Don - November 7, 2013

What a Moment. One can’t explain it. It simply needs to be lived. It is as if there are no barriers of time.

nrhatch - November 7, 2013

Once the song was queued to play, the Universe just need to get me to pick up the “right” letter at the “right” time . . .

A quick tap on the shoulder -> “that one! yes, that one right there!” Perfect!

9. colonialist - November 7, 2013

Synchronicity in full and spectacular form!

nrhatch - November 7, 2013

Quite an eye opener! 😯

10. Tom Merriman - November 7, 2013

Oh wow, Nancy! I love those fabulous synchronous moments when you’re reading and someone in the background says the very same words! In that moment you can actually feel yourself being carried along. Very bizarre, yet very good at the same time!

nrhatch - November 7, 2013

Yes! That’s another great example . . . or I’m thinking something and someone says exactly what I’m thinking.

Very cool . . . in a mysterious sort of way.

11. bluebee - November 8, 2013

How wonderful, Nancy – there is such trepidation in reading such letters. I like not knowing where I’m going: I never used to…

nrhatch - November 8, 2013

I’ve read all the letters from my dad’s stint in the army ~ he served in Korea with the Central Intelligence Corps and handled some exciting investigations.

None is discussed in detail in his letters ~> CONFIDENTIAL! 😛

12. Three Well Beings - November 8, 2013

What an amazing moment, Nancy. Did it feel a little bit like a hug from your dad? I think reading those letters must be a joy and yet still a tug on the heart. But what a treasure trove! And wow yes! What a trick-or-treat deal. 🙂

nrhatch - November 8, 2013

Thanks, Debra. It felt like a huge WINK from the Universe . . . in part because I don’t know what to do with the letters after reading them ~ keep them, share them, shred them. In short, “I don’t know where I’m going.” 😛

The Halloween TREAT deal was an unexpected surprise. We don’t adopt much STUFF these days (even free stuff); the things we chose meld well with what we have.

13. Grannymar - November 9, 2013

Oh, I love coincidences like that. Now any time you hear the phrase “I don’t know where I’m going.”, it will take you right back to that precious moment.

nrhatch - November 9, 2013

I heard it again today at an outdoor concert by Patchouli. As Julie sang “Anything is Possible,” I noted the next line ~ “I don’t know where we’re going.”

It’ll be jumping out from all corners now.

14. Wow! What A Weekend! | Spirit Lights The Way - November 12, 2013

[…] Ring any bells? […]

15. Ayn Rand & Objectivism | Spirit Lights The Way - June 12, 2014

[…] Synchronicity & Mystery * A Beacon in the Dark * Way of the Peaceful Warrior * I Don’t Know Where I’m Going * Divine Inspiration in Unlikely […]


What Say YOU?

