jump to navigation

My Batch Wattery November 6, 2013

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Poetry, Word Play.
trackback

IMGP1696aI woke up befuddled and got out of bed
Words jumbled and tumbled around in my head
I picked up my watch, no second hand sweeping
My watch had stopped while I was sleeping
To alert my guy to this time-less plight
I cried out, “My batch wattery stopped in the night.”

He didn’t understand the jumbled words uttered
Words careening round, haphazardly sputtered
I tried again, pushing the sleep out of my eyes
But once more I chimed, “My batch wattery died.”

I tabled the watch, with its battery dead
And retraced my steps to go back to bed
Aslumber, I need no second hand sweeping
Time ceases to exist when I am sleeping

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Waldo "Wally" Tomosky - November 6, 2013

Loved it!

nrhatch - November 6, 2013

Thanks, Wally! The title came to me one morning when the words I wanted to say refused to come out right. 😀

2. Tammy - November 6, 2013

Nice job Nancy!

nrhatch - November 6, 2013

Thanks, Tammy. Quite fun making THESE words fall into formation.

3. colonialist - November 6, 2013

How very annoying and how very trying –
At least it should shout when it knows it is dying?

nrhatch - November 6, 2013

It whispered to me all week, misplacing minutes here and there
I thought I had time to act . . . it’s not that I didn’t care. 😉

4. Pix Under the Oaks - November 6, 2013

😀 You mean BFF didn’t try to fix it?

nrhatch - November 6, 2013

Once it died, we went out and bought a new batch wattery to install. Aah . . . that’s better!

5. shreejacob - November 6, 2013

Loved the poem! it’s one of those to read with that sing song manner!

nrhatch - November 6, 2013

Thanks, Shree. Here’s to silly sing song verses! :mrgreen:

6. Morgan - November 6, 2013

Clever 🙂

nrhatch - November 6, 2013

Thanks, Morgan!

7. suzicate - November 6, 2013

Love this! I was away for three days and came home to the digital clocks all blinking and even the grandfather clock had stopped as we had forgotten to wind it before we left…I was lost until all were reset, lol! Perhaps I should have just taken a nap and forgotten about time!

nrhatch - November 6, 2013

Thanks, Suzi! Your comment reminds me of times we’ve reset time for Daylight Savings Time or its reverse . . . and then had a power failure requiring us to reset the *blinking* clocks again.

Here’s to power napping . . . without time yapping while we doze.

8. Catherine Johnson - November 6, 2013

Fantastic Nancy!

nrhatch - November 6, 2013

Thanks, Catherine. Nothing like a bit of silly word play to brighten the day. That and a nap, of course.

Catherine Johnson - November 6, 2013

Exactly! :0)

9. viviankirkfield - November 6, 2013

Well-done, Nancy…and lots of fun!
And don’t mind me…I’m off to crawl back into bed for a few more minutes.:

nrhatch - November 6, 2013

Sounds enticing, Vivian! Especially after all your efforts to move across country this fall.

10. barb19 - November 6, 2013

I love it Nancy!

nrhatch - November 6, 2013

Thanks, Barb. Sometimes having the words come out wrong is all right. 😀

Just got back from a Birthday Dinner for our 17-year-old niece. Now I’m ready for some shut eye.

11. Three Well Beings - November 6, 2013

This is so clever, Nancy. You definitely made the right decision when words failed! Go back to sleep. 🙂

nrhatch - November 7, 2013

Thanks, Debra. “When in doubt . . . turn the lights OUT!” 😐

12. sufilight - November 7, 2013

This was fun to read! I can almost hear the words “My batch wattery died.” 😀

nrhatch - November 7, 2013

I think I said it wrong 3x before I managed to untangle the words that morning. BFF and I were rolling on the floor laughing at my inability to say “watch battery.” 😆

13. 2e0mca - November 7, 2013

Very funny and very good 🙂 I got fed up with replacing batch wattery’s a few years back and treated myself to a kinetic batch – keeps good time 🙂

nrhatch - November 7, 2013

Thanks, Martin! A kinetic watch sounds great!

As my watch battery was giving up the ghost, it kept time fine during the day on my wrist and stopped dead at night when it was sitting idle on the nightstand.

“A body in motion stays in motion, a body at rest stays at rest.”

14. jannatwrites - November 7, 2013

Going back to bed sounds like an excellent idea. I understood batch wattery perfectly, so perhaps I should try the nap, too 🙂

nrhatch - November 7, 2013

Batch wattery has a nice ring to it! Sometimes a nap is just the thing! 😉

15. Grannymar - November 9, 2013

I wonder if a Heffalump sat on your batch wattery when you were asleep?

nrhatch - November 9, 2013

Ooh . . . a Heffalump could make mincemeat of a batch wattery!

16. Palm Fronds to Baskets | Spirit Lights The Way - February 4, 2014

[…] Related posts:  Cyber Hermit * A Defining Moment * Circle of Friends * My Batch Wattery […]


What Say YOU?

