jump to navigation

The Prayer of St. Francis November 3, 2013

Posted by nrhatch in Art & Photography, Gratitude, Happiness, Nature, Poetry.
trackback

Make me an instrument of thy peace
Where there is hatred, let me sow love

IMGP3990

Where there is injury, pardon
Where there is doubt, faith
Where there is despair, hope

IMGP3946

Where there is darkness, light
Where there is sadness, joy

IMGP3933

Grant that I may not so much seek
To be consoled as to console
To be understood as to understand
To be loved as to love

IMGP3979

For it is in giving that we receive
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned
It is in dying to self that we are born to eternal life

~ St. Francis

IMGP3962

Aah . . . that’s better!

“If the sight of the blue skies fills you with joy, if a blade of grass springing up in the fields has power to move you, if the simple things in nature have a message you understand, Rejoice, for your soul is alive.” ~ Eleanora Duse

Comments»

1. Crowing Crone Joss - November 3, 2013

It’s one of my favourite songs and your use of these paintings alongside would surely make St Francis smile!

nrhatch - November 3, 2013

Thanks, Joss. St. Francis loved nature, so flowers seemed a perfect fit. Perhaps I should have included a bird or two. Hope your Sunday is filled with sweet surprises.

2. Maggie - November 3, 2013

Lovely post!

nrhatch - November 3, 2013

This prayer was a favorite of my mother-in-law, included on the prayer cards at her funeral. When we let go of Ego’s incessant demands, our Spirits shine. 😎

3. Pocket Perspectives - November 3, 2013

Such a beautiful prayer…and the paintings, too.

nrhatch - November 3, 2013

Thanks, Kathy! Given St. Francis’s love of nature, flowers seemed a good fit for his prayer.

4. Pix Under the Oaks - November 3, 2013

The watercolors are lovely Nancy. The quote by Eleanora Duse is perfect. Enjoy your Sunday!

nrhatch - November 3, 2013

Thanks, Pix. I love that quote . . . being surrounded by nature always makes my heart sing. Have a JOY filled day!

5. jannatwrites - November 3, 2013

I love the paintings. They are the perfect companion to the peaceful words of this post.

nrhatch - November 3, 2013

Thanks, Janna.

Hope you have a peace filled Sunday ~ perfect for recharging your batteries for the inevitable challenges of the coming week.

6. Don - November 3, 2013

Those paintings are so St Francis-like, Nancy. He would appreciate them with the words.

nrhatch - November 3, 2013

Thanks, Don! This prayer was a favorite of my mother-in-law ~ a gentle reminder to shift our focus from ME! ME! ME! to others.

Not because we care about leaving a lasting legacy, but because we feel better HERE and NOW when we share the best parts of ourselves with the world . . . even if no one else notices.

7. colonialist - November 3, 2013

Yay for St Francis!
Love the illustrations.

nrhatch - November 3, 2013

Thanks, Col! I’ve enjoyed sharing some of my floral paintings, and hope St. Francis didn’t mind too much. 😀

8. Patricia - November 3, 2013

Your paintings are lovely. Thank you for sharing.

nrhatch - November 3, 2013

Thanks, Patricia. It’s been fun sharing some of the paintings I’ve done over the years. Maybe the next “bad weather day” will be a play with paints day.

Patricia - November 3, 2013

That would be wonderful. Be sure to share.

nrhatch - November 3, 2013

Deal!

9. barb19 - November 3, 2013

I read a book about St Francis years ago and it left a huge impression on me which has lasted a lifetime. His love of nature, animals, birds and the simple things in life are an inspiration.

nrhatch - November 3, 2013

I don’t know too much about him . . . but he definitely comes across in artwork as a true “nature lover.”

10. shreejacob - November 3, 2013

Love this prayer and the hymn…love the painting..and definitely…a “Ah…that’s better” post 🙂

nrhatch - November 3, 2013

Thanks, Shree! Right back at you. Your poem is full of light! And that photo of the Tiger and Child . . . precious!

shreejacob - November 4, 2013

I know right!! That picture has been making it’s rounds on FB too!

Thank you for that lovely comment 🙂 and you’re welcome..so many people I’m following are out with poems of some kind or the other today!! 😀

nrhatch - November 4, 2013

Recharging our batteries after all the Halloween Hoopla? 😯

11. Barb - November 4, 2013

This prayer is such comfort to me. Thanks for posting it.

nrhatch - November 4, 2013

So glad it touched you today, Barb. I sometimes post things on SLTW so I know where they are when I need them.

12. Booksphotographsandartwork - November 4, 2013

Beautiful! Well said and well painted.

nrhatch - November 4, 2013

Thanks, Linda. Nature always takes me to my “peaceful place.”

13. Grannymar - November 4, 2013

Love the Eleanora Duse quote and your paintings sit well with the prayer of St Francis.

I sometimes find it easier to be in touch with our creator, in the middle of a field, rather than a packed church of fidgeting people.

nrhatch - November 4, 2013

Thanks, GM. I agree. I feel more connected to the source of all things when I’m outside watching the waves or feeling the wind on my face. Being in church makes me feel disconnected because I don’t buy into the vast majority of the notions they’re selling.

14. joannevalentinesimson - November 4, 2013

This has always been one of my favorites! I have a copy sitting atop a bookcase of religious and spiritual books, along with a Giotto image of St Francis that I picked up in Assisi in 1957.

nrhatch - November 4, 2013

Good one to keep handy. Very cool that you’ve had the Giotto image from Assisi since 1957.

joannevalentinesimson - November 5, 2013

I went on a pilgrimage to Italy with a group of French students during my Junior Year in France. It was a marvelous experience!

nrhatch - November 5, 2013

Sounds like a great experience for you.

15. sufilight - November 7, 2013

This is so beautiful! The words and the paintings. This prayer is my most favorite one. I used to go to St. Patrick’s church in NYC during my lunch hour (even if I was not a practicing Catholic) so I could read this prayer on the statue of St. Francis which is outside the church. It gave me a sense of peace.

nrhatch - November 7, 2013

Since writing this, I came across the bulletin for my dad’s Memorial Service last summer ~ this is the prayer we included. It is a peaceful prayer . . . a desire to move in the right direction, and make better choices, without waiting for perfection.


What Say YOU?

