jump to navigation

It’s Opposite Day! July 14, 2013

Posted by nrhatch in Blogging, Happiness, Humor.
trackback

WordPress prompted bloggers to do the opposite today:

If you normally write non-fiction, post a photo. If you normally post images, write fiction. If you normally write fiction, write a poem. If you normally write poetry, draw a picture.  WP Prompt ~ Opposite Day

Since I rarely post the WP Prompt, I decided to do the opposite and post it.

IMGP3580b

With a completely unrelated photo of Earth, Air, Kayaks, and Water.

Sometimes following our instinct is “just the thing” to do.  Unless our instincts are always wrong.

Remember George Costanza’s decision to do the “opposite”?  He decided that every instinct he’d ever had in life had been WRONG. So he declared his intent to do the opposite, with surprising and wonderful results.

What about you?  Care to mix it up today?

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Carl D'Agostino - July 14, 2013

Everyday was opposite day with ex.

nrhatch - July 14, 2013

As they say . . . opposites attract. 😛

2. Jan - July 14, 2013

So funny…and so true! If what you’ve always done isn’t working out for you, then do something different. As in the old saying ” Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result”.
Let’s shake up our world a bit. Who knows what fun things will happen!

nrhatch - July 14, 2013

Here’s to spicing things up with a dash of variety. 😉

3. Eric Tonningsen - July 14, 2013

Does it count if I put fresh sheets on the bed backwards? 🙂

nrhatch - July 14, 2013

Of course . . . as long as you start in the middle and work to the corners. 😉

Eric Tonningsen - July 14, 2013

And so it shall be. Thanks for the permission. 🙂

4. Sandra Bell Kirchman - July 14, 2013

Very funny! I think I need to try some new strategies. I have a tendency to not follow through on things. I get all excited about something and sign up or start out with great enthusiasm. Somewhere along the way, I lose my drive and eventually drop this new thing.

I was reading about a new opportunity the other day and went to sign up when I stopped. I don’t feel I have enough time to do what I have in front of me now. Why do I think I will have better success with a new opportunity that I won’t likely follow through on? So I stopped.

I figure I’m halfway there. The next step is to make myself follow through and at least have the satisfaction of having something in hand when I am finished one endeavor.

nrhatch - July 14, 2013

If you have a tendency NOT to follow through on things . . . then the opposite (for you) might be to pick something and FINISH it.

Anything would do for a start. 😀

5. Andra Watkins - July 14, 2013

I always loved that Seinfeld episode.

nrhatch - July 14, 2013

Seinfeld = the greatest show about nothing. :mrgreen:

6. diannegray - July 14, 2013

I’m in on this now. I’m not going to sand doors or windows today. I’m going shopping! YAY 😀

nrhatch - July 14, 2013

And shop for FUN stuff . . . not cleaning supplies! :mrgreen:

diannegray - July 14, 2013

Hmmm – okay. I might buy some new clothes and have my hair done (this WILL be a splash-up day!) 😀

nrhatch - July 14, 2013

You go, girl! 😀

7. shreejacob - July 14, 2013

LOL Nancy, here I am trying to do the opposite of what I usually do and trust my instincts, and there you post something that tells me that maybe it is fine to do the opposite! 😉

Hmm…I shall endeavor to ENJOY my time out with a friend who has asked me to accompany her for an astrological reading instead of allowing my goblin to scold me for “wasting my time” because I am not! I want to go! AND I’m going to go to the arts and crafts store and get me some stuff!!!!! and NOT feel bad for using the credit card!!!!! heheheheheh….for some reason my opposite day seems like a cheat day 😛

nrhatch - July 14, 2013

When we enjoy our “diversions,” we’re on the right track! Find some good stuff at the Arts & Crafts store and have a good time at your friend’s astrological reading.

It does seem a bit like cheating, doesn’t it. :mrgreen:

8. ericjbaker - July 14, 2013

I wasn’t going to leave a comment on this post, but now I have to.

Jeez!

Wait, maybe opposite for me is not being grouchy.

nrhatch - July 15, 2013

Ha! Gotcha! One of my favorite lines from Pete Townsend & Ronnie Lane’s Rough Mix album . . . “they say that the trick is to walk in backwards like you’re walking out.”

Oh, why did I say that? Well, I wasn’t going to mention it, so I decided I better. 😛

ericjbaker - July 15, 2013

I printed your comment and made a t-shirt out of it, because I never do that. But I’m wearing it inside out.

This can only get weirder from here.

nrhatch - July 15, 2013

Yes . . . living in the land of opposites can be quite a trip.

9. jannatwrites - July 15, 2013

I remember that Seinfeld episode!

We normally clean all the floors on Sunday…today, I watched movies with the kids all day 🙂 The floors will be done tomorrow instead.

nrhatch - July 15, 2013

Good for you! Floors can wait . . . unless your mother lives next door. :mrgreen:

10. theonlycinCindy - July 15, 2013

Thank you. This gives me the go-ahead to feel free and liberated, instead of sitting fretting over things I cannot change. I think I’ll spend the day making lavender posies for my friends, xxx

nrhatch - July 15, 2013

Wonderful plan, Cin. It’s hard to let go of the people, places, and things that we love, especially when it’s not by choice. Making lavender posies will fill your life with fragrance.

11. Pix Under the Oaks - July 15, 2013

It seems like such an easy thing to do. It is an opportune time for me to do that very thing!

nrhatch - July 15, 2013

Sometimes a change of pace IS the very thing. Enjoy! 😀

12. Three Well Beings - July 16, 2013

Every now and then we do recall that Seinfeld episode and laugh as we do something different than our typical. I loved the whole premise of this post, Nancy. Following the prompt because you rarely do. I got a chuckle out of that. 🙂

nrhatch - July 16, 2013

Thanks, Debra! When we shake things up a bit, we pay more attention to what where choosing to do. We become mindful of the plethora of possibilities. We turn off auto-pilot and climb into the driver’s seat.

Vroom . . . Vroom!

13. bluebee - July 18, 2013

I’m down with the lurgy & didn’t go to work! Yes!!! Anyway, nobody wants to be infected with my germs

nrhatch - July 18, 2013

You are correct. They do NOT wish to be infected. Hope you feel better soon.

14. bluebee - July 18, 2013

PS – love Seinfeld 🙂

nrhatch - July 18, 2013

So many amazing episodes about absolutely NOTHING! :mrgreen:


What Say YOU?

