jump to navigation

Spanakopita Pizza January 23, 2013

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Health & Wellness, Vegetarian Recipes.
trackback

Last night for dinner, we enjoyed a Greek Spanakopita Pizza ~ much easier than buttering and layering phyllo pastry with fewer calories and far less fat.

The lemon juice really brightens up the flavors.

IMGP3594b

Spanakopita Pizza

1 med. onion, chopped
1 Tbsp. olive oil
10 oz. Green Giant chopped spinach
1 Rustic Crust Sourdough pizza shell
1-2 tsp. fresh lemon juice
oregano
black pepper
garlic salt
2 oz. feta cheese

Sauté onion in olive oil until soft.  Defrost and drain spinach, squeezing dry.  Stir spinach into onion.

Spread spinach and onions over pizza shell.  Sprinkle with lemon juice, oregano, black pepper, and garlic salt.

Top with crumbled feta cheese.  Cook at 425 degrees for 8-10 minutes.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. aawwa - January 23, 2013

Sounds yummy!

nrhatch - January 23, 2013

BFF is NOT a fan of naked spinach; the combination of spinach, onions, and feta in Spanakopita works for him. Even so, he was “dubious.” Until he took his first tentative bite. Then, like the Grouch in Green Eggs & Ham, he grinned.

“Hey, that’s good.”
Ding, Ding, Ding . . . we have a winner! 😀

2. suzicate - January 23, 2013

MMMMMM!!!!!

nrhatch - January 23, 2013

Easy, quick, inexpensive, nutritious, and delicious ~ exactly what I look for in our meals at home. 😀

3. sweetdaysundertheoaks - January 23, 2013

CH would love that! Without the spinach.. 🙂

nrhatch - January 23, 2013

BFF was “uncertain” about spinach on pizza . . . since he loves spanakopita, I figured it would be a “safe bet.” He pronounced it a winner!

Half the fun of making pizzas at home is custom-tailoring toppings to suit one’s fancy. I added a few black olives to my half and would have added sliced tomatoes if I had a few ripe ones on hand.

4. ryoko861 - January 23, 2013

Some places by me call this a “White Pie”. Some make it with ricotta, some with feta. TONS OF GARLIC! LOVE IT!

nrhatch - January 23, 2013

I love white pizzas made with mozzarella, Béchamel sauce, parmeson, and lots of garlic ~ topped with broccoli florets and black olives! This spinach pie is MUCH lower in fat and calories. 😀

5. Food,Photography & France - January 23, 2013

That is a terrific idea which I shall be copying soon. I always have frozen spinach in the freezer and feta in the fridge.

nrhatch - January 23, 2013

Enjoy! It’s such fun to experiment in the kitchen. Next up . . . pizza with garlicky potatoes, onions, red pepper, and broccoli. 😀

6. Pocket Perspectives - January 23, 2013

What a great idea! I love spanakopita but just can’t justify eating all that butter and pastry… which I dearly LOVE!… wonderful alternative! thanks!

nrhatch - January 23, 2013

Same here. I rarely order spanakopita due to all the excess fat.

I think the filling/topping would be delicious wrapped in a soft tortilla and grilled . . . Spanakopita Quesadilla. I’ve also made the topping (spinach, onion, feta, seasonings) and served it over rice.

Have fun experimenting. 😀

Pocket Perspectives - January 23, 2013

ooohh….my mouth is watering….and it’s only 10:30 in the morning!!!…yummm, those sound so tasty!

nrhatch - January 23, 2013

There is something about the combo of spinach and feta that elevates them both. 😉

Pocket Perspectives - January 23, 2013

I made it…added a few extra items, too…it was delicious! thanks!

nrhatch - January 24, 2013

Yay! And wow! That was a fast turn-around. Whee!

7. Grannymar - January 23, 2013

I never heard of Spanakopita Pizza before, it sounds interesting. Now, how to work it so that I can eat it without the dairy products…..
I’ll get there, I usually find a way.

ericjbaker - January 23, 2013

Best homemade pizza I’ve tasted: Pecan cranberry. It sounds weird and I was skeptical, but it was mad crazy good. You’ll have to make up yoru own recipe, since I don’t know from listing ingredients and steps, but I do recall that the cranberry was in sauce form, not fresh cranberries. The heat from the oven did something to glaze the sauce that was unbelievable.

nrhatch - January 23, 2013

It does sound weird . . . and wonderful!

I love cranberries and pecans and expect that cranberry glazed pecans would be fantastic.

Grannymar - January 24, 2013

That sounds right up my street! I have both cranberry sauce and pecans and the ingredients to make my favourite pizza base tomorrow. 😀

ericjbaker - January 24, 2013

I just invited myself over. Hope you don’t mind!

Grannymar - January 28, 2013

No problem, Eric. Just warn me so I don’t finish the pizza before you arrive.

nrhatch - January 24, 2013

Grannymar . . . you have just scored yourself an intriguing dinner guest. Ask him to bring his guitar! 😀

nrhatch - January 23, 2013

@Grannymar ~ most places would probably call it Spinach Feta pie . . . but I used my Spanakopita recipe as a “springboard” so that’s what I called it.

I put almost no cheese on it ~ just 2 oz. of feta for 8 slices of pie. You could omit it or substitute a bit of dairy free cheese.

Grannymar - January 24, 2013

@Nancy, At this stage, adaption is my middle name! I’ll find a way one of these days and Loooove the pecan/cranberry idea.

nrhatch - January 24, 2013

Adapting recipes is so much more fun than following someone else’s “recipe rules.” 😉

8. kateshrewsday - January 23, 2013

This looks delicious, Nancy!

nrhatch - January 23, 2013

I borrowed the photo from the Rustic Crust website, but ours looked quite similar. With less cheese.

9. diannegray - January 23, 2013

This looks sensational! I love spinach (though hubby is not so fond of it) 😀

nrhatch - January 23, 2013

BFF is not a spinach lover but he likes spanakopita so I expected he would like this. And he did! Yay!

If he hadn’t enjoyed it, I’d made it for me and let him top his half with whatever floated his boat.

10. Maggie - January 23, 2013

I need to try this – it sounds amazing.

nrhatch - January 23, 2013

Yay! Hope you enjoy it as much as we did . . . high flavor, low fat. And delicious.

11. Tammy - January 23, 2013

Love it!

nrhatch - January 24, 2013

Kathy (Pocket Perspectives) made it for dinner last night (with a few extra toppings) and loved it. Yay!

12. Three Well Beings - January 24, 2013

Oh wow this is a good one! I love Spanakopita and I love pizza…how can it miss! 🙂

nrhatch - January 24, 2013

We ate the leftovers last night . . . still yummy! This is definitely a recipe we’ll make again. :mrgreen:

13. cindy - January 24, 2013

Oooh, that looks fab, just what the doctor ordered. Thanks!

nrhatch - January 24, 2013

Smart doctor! 😉

14. sufilight - January 25, 2013

This look very yummy! Have to experiment in the kitchen as well!

nrhatch - January 25, 2013

Next up for us . . . garlic, yellow pepper, and potato pizza. With swiss? Or smoked gouda? I’ve never had potatoes on pizza but every time I see one I think YUM!

15. Pocket Perspectives - January 25, 2013

I used both feta and mozzarella…Trader Joe’s whole wheat pizza dough, (in a bag), sliced small yukon gold potatoes very, very thinly and lightly sauted potatoes with the onion in olive oil, added sweet red pepper to chopped fresh spinach and added some olive oil, salt and balsamic vinegar to the spinach…really good combination. ( I almost added little truffle oil, but figured some restraint might be good.) My H really liked the pizza, too…and the next morning…shocking here…he saw a Thai recipe he liked in the newspaper, cut it out (!!) and says he might cook it…inspired him I guess?

nrhatch - January 25, 2013

Our next pizza is going to be potatoes, peppers, garlic, onions, and mozzarella. I’ve been wanting to try a potato pizza for some time.

Hope your H stays inspired . . . it’s great to have our BFFs cook for us.

16. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - April 29, 2015

You are awesome!! Thanks Nancy!

nrhatch - April 29, 2015

Thanks, Kate! This is a Winner recipe. Enjoy.


What Say YOU?

