jump to navigation

Existential Angst November 16, 2012

Posted by nrhatch in Art & Photography, Humor, Word Play.
trackback

“Let’s go.  I’m bored.”

“Bored?  How can you be bored in a museum filled with  depictions of our existential existence?  Look at the juxtaposition of these three shots . . .”

“Three words:  They. . . Are . . . Rubbish.”

* * * * *

Written for the Trifextra Weekend Challenge.  To read the prompt, CLICK HERE.

Art, like beauty, is in the eye of the beholder.

What say you?  Have you ever had a difference of opinion with someone about the intrinsic value of a piece of art, music, or writing?

Who was “right”?  😉

Related post:  The Really Awful Mannerisms in New York Style Poetry (Colonialist)

Comments»

1. Draug419 - November 16, 2012

lmao Well, that’s one way to tie together three unrelated images xD I love it!

nrhatch - November 16, 2012

Thanks, Draug! I love to eavesdrop in museums . . . listening to “artsy fartsy types” attempt to superimpose symbolic meaning onto surrealistic art. 😆

My favorite laugh out loud moment at a museum . . . seeing a 4×8 foot panel painted Turquoise, entitled “Turquoise.” 🙄

We renamed it “A Swatch from the Painter’s Living Room Wall.”

2. Hudson Howl - November 16, 2012

Never! I never argue over opinions (believe me?). But I might feel like putting someone through a wall if they try to force their opinion on me. Maybe not through, more like ‘against’.

Don’t get me wrong, I like viewpoints, I like criticism (critiquing), enjoy it when people see things and approach shtufffs from a different prospective than myself…..just play nice thats all.

nrhatch - November 16, 2012

LOL! Your comment reminds me of the post I wrote on Blog Etiquette a few moons ago:

As many of you know, I avoid controversy on SLTW at all costs by always agreeing with anything that anyone else says . . . even if they want to complain that I painted a zebra when they thought it should have been a giraffe.

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/10/02/blogging-etiquette-via-woman-wielding-words/

I agree! Divergent viewpoints are great. Disagreement and debate are stimulating. But people who are disagreeable when they disagree are a big turn-off.

3. Andra Watkins - November 16, 2012

MTM and I disagree over artistic things all the time. We’re getting ready to spend most of next week disagreeing. 🙂 He’s not wrong, and I’m not wrong.

nrhatch - November 16, 2012

Exactly right! Have fun disagreeing next week . . .

Who knows? Maybe you’ll both be surprised to find a few areas of artistic agreement.

4. Barbara Backer-Gray - November 16, 2012

Yes! And I was, of course.

nrhatch - November 16, 2012

Of course!

Your claim to rightness reminds me of my favorite Author Bio:

Steve Chang, who nows lives in Korea, is a busy and important person. Also, his opinion is more correct than yours.

How’s that for unmitigated self image? 😉

Barbara Backer-Gray - November 16, 2012

Funny!

5. lumdog - November 16, 2012

You perfectly related these photos to each other in a clever way. I struggled with this and gave up trying. Nicely done.

nrhatch - November 16, 2012

Thanks, lumdog. I hear ya. None of the photos resonated with me either so I devoted only 33 words (the minimum) to the challenge.

Nevertheless, writing this dialogue brought back a flood of funny moments from art galleries and museums where “high brow” patrons made us laugh out loud at their pretentious twitter. 🙄

6. sufilight - November 16, 2012

Haha, good one! 😀

nrhatch - November 16, 2012

Thanks, Marie. I enjoyed paring this challenge down to 33 words. 😉

7. sweetdaysundertheoaks - November 16, 2012

Yes I have! I thought it was a friendly difference of opinion she thought there was only one opinion and told me I had made her nervous not agreeing with her. I don’t go to book club anymore. I don’t need that craziness.

nrhatch - November 16, 2012

Oh, wow! That is the epitome of craziness. And you tickled my memory banks, Pix. Someone who wanted to tell me HOW to live MY life . . . who got annoyed when I didn’t want to play the notes she wrote or keep time with her baton.

8. jannatwrites - November 16, 2012

Hahaha! Good one. When I first saw the pictures, I had no idea how to tie together a shadow, ants and graffiti. Rubbish 🙂

nrhatch - November 17, 2012

Using photo prompts is fun WHEN the photos make us want to jump into the scene (like Mary Poppins!) and see what else is going on outside the photo field. These shots did not make me want a backstage pass. 😉

9. Ruby Manchanda - November 16, 2012

Good one. Very creative and very interesting.

nrhatch - November 17, 2012

Thanks, Ruby . . . very creative in an “I don’t want to play” way. 😉

10. Stephanie B. (@B4Steph) - November 17, 2012

Funny and clever at the same time. Museums and existential existence – sums them up nicely.

nrhatch - November 17, 2012

Thanks, Steph. The Trifecta Challenges give us a chance to be as succinct as we wish . . . sometimes 33 words is just enough. 😀

11. Trifecta - November 18, 2012

Ouch!

nrhatch - November 18, 2012

The photos you chose this week didn’t resonate with me, but writing this dialogue brought back a flood of funny moments from art galleries and museums where “high brow” patrons made us laugh out loud at their pretentious twitter . . . so thanks for that! 😆

12. Linda Vernon - November 18, 2012

Ha! Hopefully it’s recyclable rubbish! 😀

nrhatch - November 18, 2012

Haha! Good point, Linda. One man’s trash is another man’s treasure, right?

Linda Vernon - November 20, 2012

So true and as a Thrift Store Junky, I can attest to that! 😀

nrhatch - November 20, 2012

Aah . . . the thrill of the hunt for treasure amidst junk. 😀

13. KymmInBarcelona - November 19, 2012

Your entry made me think of those funny bookstore comments:
http://dearestbookbuyer.blogspot.com.es/

nrhatch - November 19, 2012

Thanks, Kymm. I’ll check them out. 😀

14. nrhatch - September 20, 2015

Col’s post addresses “rubbish” in the context of poetry. To which I added:

And the same goes
for splashing paint on canvas,
with both eyes closed,
while calling it art
fueled by a creative spark.

Hand me the matches!


What Say YOU?

