jump to navigation

Seasons 52 October 22, 2012

Posted by nrhatch in Blogging, Food & Drink, Travel & Leisure.
trackback

We had a glorious day for our meet up in Orlando with Robyn.

We chose a lakeside table at Seasons 52 where we enjoyed our chat, the food, and the view.

Spicy Grilled Salmon with a salad of mixed greens for Robyn.

Flatbread pizza . . . and fat steak fries . . . for BFF.

Caesar salad with a side of harvest grains (farro, quinoa and citrus) served in a martini glass for me.

For dessert we savored “mini indulgences” ~ exquisite shot glass parfaits filled with delectable delights ~ Key Lime Pie, Red Velvet Cake, Pecan Pie.

2014-10-23 13-48-39_0011

So, what did we talk about?

Anything and everything.  Conversation flowed easily from kids to work to food to fun as a result of following each other’s blogs for so long:

The interesting thing about meeting someone whose writing one has been reading for a while is this: you really feel as if you are meeting an old friend you know well.  It was not at all like meeting a stranger!  ~ Lunch with a distant (from me) blogger

Exactly!  The connections we form with our writing cross oceans, scale mountains, and traverse continents with ease.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Quote:  Success is sharing the best parts of yourself with the world.

Have you enjoyed any blogging meet ups yet?  Did you have a sense of immediate connection?

Comments»

1. suzicate - October 22, 2012

It’s great fun meeting people you “already know”!
Lunch looks divine!

nrhatch - October 22, 2012

It is, Suzi . . . come on down. Bring Dirtman. 😀

2. spilledinkguy - October 22, 2012

I think I just drooled all over my keyboard.
Yup.
Confirmed.
🙂

nrhatch - October 22, 2012

Messy, messy, messy. 😉

Glad the pics appealed.

3. sweetdaysundertheoaks - October 22, 2012

I knew it would be great and there would be good conversation and good FOOD! I have had a few blogging meet ups and they have all been great. I think it works because we are all drawn together in the first place by choice with similar likes. CH and I loved our meet up with you Nancy and BFF!

nrhatch - October 22, 2012

I echo that thought, Pix. Hope we get to see you and CH again this winter. 😎

4. Andra Watkins - October 22, 2012

I know exactly what you mean, Nancy. For every blogger I’ve met, we pick up like old friends. MTM led one of my readers on a tour today. He shook MTM’s hand and said, “I feel like I know you.”

It’s really great when we can make meaningful connections in cyberspace, ones that translate to personal connections in real life.

nrhatch - October 22, 2012

Yes! Cyberspace is a vast web of connections (and potential connections). The oddest thing about meeting Robyn face-to-face was using real names instead of pseudonyms for BFF and her four kids. 😉

5. Team Oyeniyi - October 22, 2012

Great food shots, Nancy!

I echo Andra’s thoughts above. For me this was a first time experience, meeting someone I’d connected with via blogging. It was a wonderful first experience and certainly encourages me to reach out to any others I know when/if I am ever in their vacinity – or they are in mine! (Hint, hint to Nancy and BFF to travel!)

nrhatch - October 22, 2012

Thanks, Robyn. I follow several blogs in Australia ~ you, Barb (Passionate About Pets), and BlueBee (Bee Blue Blog). So . . . maybe, some day. 😉

When I pulled the photos off my camera, I realized I’d forgotten to snap the desserts. So I borrowed that image from Seasons 52 and linked back to their page. Guess I was too busy grabbing the spoon to remember the camera. 😀

Team Oyeniyi - October 22, 2012

😆 Funny, you know – when I saw that shot I thought to myself “I don’t remember either of us taking shots of that”!

nrhatch - October 22, 2012

Tricky, eh? 😉

6. kateshrewsday - October 22, 2012

Lovely to have the opportunity to put a face to words, Nancy. And that food looks delicious!

nrhatch - October 22, 2012

It is . . . and it was! 😀

7. Maggie - October 22, 2012

The pizza looks good!

nrhatch - October 22, 2012

They have a wonderful selection of flatbreads, Maggie. It’s a lovely place to eat . . . wish we had one a bit closer.

8. Tammy - October 23, 2012

I can’t wait to have lunch with you Nancy!

nrhatch - October 23, 2012

Ditto! And, perhaps, a wander on the beach? 😀

9. pix & kardz - October 23, 2012

that sounds like fun!
 
and it looks absolutely yummy!! 🙂

nrhatch - October 23, 2012

Yes! The menu at Seasons 52 changes with the seasons ~ always something interesting to try.

10. sufilight - October 23, 2012

Sounds like you had fun meeting with old friend in person for the first time. I met my s/o online and we got to know each other better than if we had met in person.:)

nrhatch - October 23, 2012

Exactly that. Maybe we get to know each other better in cyberspace because we “listen” better . . . and don’t interrupt to finish each other’s sentences. 😉

11. barb19 - October 23, 2012

I knew you two would get along famously! Like you said, you feel like you have known each other because of following each other’s blogs. The internet does that for us, and it’s fantastic. Makes the world a lot smaller place!
Now I just have to get over there next year so I can meet up with you too (this year didn’t work out for us). Are you up to meeting another Aussie?

nrhatch - October 23, 2012

Absolutely!!! I still hope to meet you at the Dunedin Pub if you ever come this way, Barb. 😀

12. Booksphotographsandartwork - October 23, 2012

Those desserts are out of this world. What a wonderful get together.

nrhatch - October 23, 2012

The desserts are perfect, Linda ~ just enough to satisfy the sweet tooth without feeling guilty for over indulging..

13. jeanne - October 23, 2012

the salads look wonderful, love the shaved parmesan

nrhatch - October 23, 2012

As a teen, I thought that adults who ordered salad when out to eat were “dumb” . . . now I find that salads are the first thing I check out on menus.

We went out for BFF’s birthday today . . . I had a Greek Salad overflowing with feta, olives, tomatoes, cukes, pepperoncini, etc. 😀

14. jannatwrites - October 24, 2012

Looks like you guys had a wonderful meal! Those dessert shots look yummy…I’d take a double 🙂

nrhatch - October 24, 2012

The first time we ate at Seasons 52, we couldn’t decide which to order . . . so we each ordered a double!

We bad. :mrgreen:

15. bluebee - October 24, 2012

Love to read about the blogging meet-ups. Glad you had a good time. The food looks delicious! Yum.

nrhatch - October 24, 2012

If I ever make it to Aussie-Land, I’ll be sure to look you up, BB! I can wander around the golf course with you . . . keeping an eye out for kangas, roos, and kookaburras! 😀

bluebee - October 24, 2012

That would be fabulous 😀

16. Pocket Perspectives - October 24, 2012

What fun to get together! What a pair! 😀

nrhatch - October 24, 2012

Glad you had a chance to “bridge the gap” between you and your aunt Okie by flying across country to New Hampshire. 😀

Pocket Perspectives - October 24, 2012

😀

17. Three Well Beings - October 25, 2012

What a nice time you spent together! I think you’re probably right, we do get to know one another in so many ways through our sometimes daily written conversations! Your lunch looked really tasty, too! 🙂

nrhatch - October 25, 2012

I worked with people for years without knowing how they viewed the world ~ sitting down with them, one-on-one, would have been like eating with a virtual stranger.

In cyberspace, it’s difficult to tailor ourselves to suit everyone who might come along “window shopping” so most of us stay pretty “close to the mark” in our written conversations. We share the best parts of ourselves with the world . . . our core shines through. 😀

And lunch was yummy.


What Say YOU?

