jump to navigation

Curried Lentil Soup October 18, 2012

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Health & Wellness, Vegetarian Recipes.
trackback

This fragrant soup is easy, inexpensive, healthy, full of fiber, filling, and  delicious . . . perfect for creating welcoming aromas on a cool rainy day.

Curried Lentil Soup

IMGP3612b

1 Tbsp. vegetable or olive oil
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, crushed
2 Tbsp. curry powder
4 cups vegetable stock or bouillon
2 cups water
16 oz. can, fire roasted tomatoes
2 cups dried lentils, uncooked
2-3 carrots, chopped
2 ribs of celery, chopped
1 red pepper, chopped
1/2 c. red wine (optional)
1 c. chopped parsley (optional)

In a large saucepan, heat oil.  Sauté onion and garlic until soft, not browned. Stir in curry powder, sauté 1 minute. Add broth, water, tomatoes, lentils, (wine), carrots, celery, and red pepper.  Simmer covered until lentils are cooked, about 45 minutes. Stir in parsley, simmer 5 minutes.

For an even heartier soup or stew . . . serve over cooked brown rice or pearled barley.

Lentil soup is also delicious with chopped cabbage or spinach stirred in during the final 10 minutes of cooking time.

Serve with fresh baked bread or cornbread.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Quote:  An idealist is one who, on noticing that roses smell better than a cabbage, concludes that roses will also make better soup. ~ H. L. Mencken

Related post:  5 Homemade Seasoning & Soup Mixes (Clover & Thyme)

Comments»

1. aawwa - October 18, 2012

That sounds lovely and I have all the ingredients. I might make some tomorrow 🙂

nrhatch - October 18, 2012

Be prepared for heavenly aromas! 😀

2. spilledinkguy - October 18, 2012

*slurp*
*slurp*
*slurp*
This isn’t annoying, is it?! No? Good! Good!
*slurp*
*slurp*
*slurp*

nrhatch - October 18, 2012

Slurping = the ultimate sigh of satisfaction. Aah . . . 😀

3. Tammy - October 18, 2012

Love lentil soup. What a perfect fall flavor.

nrhatch - October 18, 2012

Thanks, Tammy. Soups are perfect for this time of year ~ comforting, filling, and easily adapted to ingredients on hand.

4. Jas - October 18, 2012

I make this and I can tell you it is perfect choice… tastes heavenly…

nrhatch - October 18, 2012

The curry kicks it up to just the right notch. 😀

5. icooyou - October 18, 2012

This looks so delicious!

nrhatch - October 18, 2012

Soups on! Enjoy every delicious and delectable bite. 😉

6. sweetdaysundertheoaks - October 18, 2012

I think we will give this a try!

nrhatch - October 18, 2012

I made some for some neighbors . . . they LOVED it! 😀

7. Carl D'Agostino - October 18, 2012

Usually use Progresso out of can but add spinach, thin sliced carrot and coupla spoons elbow macaroni. Or soak dry beans over night to avoid high salt of canned goods.

nrhatch - October 18, 2012

Progresso Lentil soup is delicious . . . especially doctored up as you suggest. Thanks, Carl.

8. Andra Watkins - October 18, 2012

I love lentils, Nancy. This will be an excellent addition to our repertoire. Thanks for sharing it.

nrhatch - October 18, 2012

Excellent! I make a HUGE pot and freeze in 2 serving portions. Perfect for a quick meal on a busy night.

Andra Watkins - October 18, 2012

Freezing is an excellent idea.

9. Becky - October 18, 2012

This sounds so yummy! Thanks for posting it, and thanks for the shout out, too!

nrhatch - October 18, 2012

You’re welcome. Your mixes are a great time-saving idea. Thanks for sharing.

10. Perfecting Motherhood - October 18, 2012

I love curry and I love lentils but never have them together. I should try it this winter, or whenever the heatwaves decide to go away once and for all.

nrhatch - October 18, 2012

Lentils and curry are a great partnership. Hope you enjoy . . . when the cooler temps arrive.

11. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide - October 18, 2012

Wonderful looking soup. I love when you post food.:)

nrhatch - October 18, 2012

Thanks, Greg! I love it when YOU post food too. 😀

12. Three Well Beings - October 19, 2012

I’m home today after a really hectic week…this sounds wonderful! I have some red lentils in the cupboard and you’ve just given me the recipe for our dinner tonight! It sounds comforting! 🙂

nrhatch - October 19, 2012

Wonderful! Hope you enjoy a relaxing and comforting day after your hectic week.

13. Piglet in Portugal - October 19, 2012

Love the sound of this recipe, printed off and certainly will try it!

nrhatch - October 19, 2012

Excellent! Enjoy every bite, PiP!

14. Piglet in Portugal - October 19, 2012

Actually if you don’t mind I will reblog on my healthier eating blog.

nrhatch - October 19, 2012

Please do! 😀

15. Piglet in Portugal - October 19, 2012

Reblogged this on The Piglets Healthier Eating Blog and commented:
This recipe sounds so delicious I could not resist adding it to my healthier eating collectio of recipes!

nrhatch - October 19, 2012

Yay! Thanks for sharing it, PiP!

I need to come around and visit your Healthier Eating Blog. Just as soon as I’m done eating this bag of chips. 😉

16. sufilight - October 20, 2012

Yum and nutritious too! I have everything except the curry. Will try this recipe. Thanks for the share!

nrhatch - October 20, 2012

I enjoy what the curry brings to the mix but, even without the curry, this would be a delicious lentil soup. It might also be good with cumin instead of the curry.

17. pix & kardz - November 26, 2012

How yummy is this?
 
I am reminded of a visit to Stanley Park in Vancouver when I was about 4 years old. My Dad took my bro and I, as well as my bro’s friend, who lived next door. We were looking at all the different animals and i was fascinated. So fascinated, in fact, that when I finally looked up to say something to my Dad, I was looking at a stranger. The others had already moved on, and I couldn’t find them.
 
They eventually found me, as you can tell, and I lived to be able to tell about it. What does that story have to do with anything?
 
Have actually been paging through your blog. Am trying to find the post where you talked about decluttering. But the soup caught my attention, and so here I am. Just wanted to let you know that I finally got around to what I have been meaning to do for a long time. I have reduced my book count by several hundred books this weekend. It’s not a holiday weekend here, so I had lots of time to work on it.
 
The decluttering continues, but just wanted to let you know. Thanks for the words of inspiration and encouragement! 🙂

pix & kardz - November 26, 2012

what I meant to say was – and even though I am a bit lost in your blog at the moment, that’s ok. I know you wrote that one post somewhere. But I found myself here, so all is well. I just might have to try making this soup one day! 😀

nrhatch - November 26, 2012

(1) Go you! That’s awesome!!!

(2) Books had to be one of the hardest things for me to part with because they sat so nicely all lined up in a row on their shelves. But every time we moved, books filled boxes and boxes. HEAVY boxes. I kept them all until I started asking different questions.

Instead of, “would I maybe possibly ever in a million years want to refer to this book?” . . . I asked, “right now, this year, would you want to sit down and re-read this book?” At that point, I was able to release almost all of my college textbooks, my law school books, and other esoteric tomes.

Now, the minute I finish a book, while it’s fresh in my mind, I consider whether I’m likely to re-read it. Usually the answer is “NO” . . . so out it goes.

(3) I had some of this soup last night. I didn’t feel like cooking so I pulled a quart out of the freezer. YUMMY! 😀

(4) My most recent post on clutter:
https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2012/11/08/buy-less-do-more/

You can find others by typing “clutter” in the Search Box.

(5) Thanks for wandering around, Kris! And congrats again on your de-cluttering this weekend. Lovely to do just before the “excess” of the holiday season.

18. kiwidutch - January 6, 2013

This recipe looks fabulous… I’m looking forward to giving it a go 🙂

nrhatch - January 6, 2013

I had some a few night’s ago . . . pulled it out of the freezer when I didn’t feel like cooking. YUMMY!


What Say YOU?

