jump to navigation

Finding Joy in the Journey April 6, 2012

Posted by nrhatch in Art & Photography, Happiness.
trackback

Life is a journey . . . not a destination.   When we stop striving to reach some distant shore, we become fully engaged HERE and NOW.

We learn to enjoy the journey as each moment unfolds into the next.

 A good traveler has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving. ~ Lao Tzu

The journey between what you once were and who you are now becoming is where the dance of life really takes place. ~ Barbara DeAngelis

All Aboard!

Related posts:  Weekly Photo Challenge ~ Journey (WP Prompt)

Photo Credits:  SoulDipper (Buddha #2) & The Only Cin (Buddha #1)

Comments»

1. Judson - April 6, 2012

The secret o’ life is enjoying the passage of time
ain’t nothing to it
any fool can do it….

— James Taylor

nrhatch - April 6, 2012

Ah, yes! JT is the epitome of a “Joyful Traveler.”

2. souldipper - April 6, 2012

Oh – glad to see my Buddha serving a friend, Nancy. In fact, I have to take my camera there again. Another Buddha has joined this one. Wood nymphs are at it again! 😀

nrhatch - April 6, 2012

I asked you ages ago to “borrow” your Buddha . . . and then never did anything with it.

This prompt seemed perfect for it. Thanks, Amy!

souldipper - April 6, 2012

Yes, Nancy, I do remember. I don’t think I thanked you, however, for being respectful and courteous. Those are the gestures that go a million miles!

nrhatch - April 6, 2012

The best journey I ever took started by simply looking within!

Namaste. _/!\_

3. Carl D'Agostino - April 6, 2012

Always skeptical of people stating “I am saved”. Seems salvation is also a journey not a destination or identifiable event

nrhatch - April 6, 2012

Halleluiah, Brother! Amen. 😀

4. thirdhandart - April 6, 2012

I’m ready to get on board… here and now. 😉

nrhatch - April 6, 2012

Good idea, Theresa. We can only live happily ever after on a moment by moment basis. 😀

5. BrainRants - April 6, 2012

So true.

nrhatch - April 6, 2012

On with the dance . . . let joy be unconfined. ~ Lord Byron

6. sufilight - April 6, 2012

Aaah, this I needed to be reminded of today. Thank you for this. Beautiful.

nrhatch - April 6, 2012

Thanks, Marie. I needed a dose of positivity myself. 😀

7. jannatwrites - April 6, 2012

Life is a journey and is much more pleasant when we enjoy it. I’ve spent the last couple days stuck in the bad parts of town…glad to say I’ve moved on to better scenery with the windows rolled down. It’s good again (just in time for the weekend!)

nrhatch - April 6, 2012

That’s great, Janna. Have a wonderful weekend.

This week has been challenging for us too . . . taxes, credit card fraud, flood insurance issues, casualty insurance issues, billing errors, health insurance issues, etc.

Life can be quite an uphill climb at times.

8. Pocket Perspectives - April 6, 2012

Ah, the journey….those wonderful quiet, content parts…and then complications, taxes, financial stuff etc….you’re sure dealing with more than your share!…wishing you some moments of peace and calm in the midst of all that.

nrhatch - April 6, 2012

Thanks, Kathy. We just watched “The Greatest Places on Earth” ~ an IMAX movie:

Journey to seven of the most amazing places on Earth without leaving the comfort of home, courtesy of dazzling IMAX footage. Sights include the mighty gush of the Amazon River; the foreboding icebergs of Greenland; the towering beauty of Iguazu Falls; the undulating sand dunes of the Namib Desert; the watery maze of the Okavango Delta; the diverse wildlife of Madagascar; and the indescribable majesty of Tibet.

It was an oasis of peace and calm at the end of a TAXING day.

http://dvd.netflix.com/Movie/The-Greatest-Places-IMAX/19829182?trkid=5966279

9. Crowing Crone Joss - April 6, 2012

oh yes let’s share the dance of the journey together.

nrhatch - April 6, 2012

Yes. Let’s! Dance on, Joss.

10. yogaleigh - April 7, 2012

Reblogged this on bluegrassnotes and commented:
Succinct and well put! With lovely pictures too…

nrhatch - April 7, 2012

Thanks, yogaleigh. There is no journey like the journey within . . . look deep. 😀

11. sweetdaysundertheoaks - April 7, 2012

I’m on! My Zen Living book is on the bottom shelf of the coffee table in the family room and there isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t pick it up. I am curious Nancy, if there was one other book you could suggest to me what would it be?

nrhatch - April 7, 2012

Check out this post and see if one jumps out at you:

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/03/11/13-books-that-changed-my-life/

Each of the 13 books is linked to an article with a brief synopsis.

Enjoy the journey!

sweetdaysundertheoaks - April 7, 2012

Thank you!

sweetdaysundertheoaks - April 7, 2012

Hey I even commented on that post for goodness sakes! But I still found the book you suggested to me in Florida to be the one that started me off.

sweetdaysundertheoaks - April 7, 2012

No I didn’t. I am befuddled today.

nrhatch - April 7, 2012

You sound like me yesterday . . . cotton candy brain fog!

But you’re right about one thing ~ we did discuss the Zen book in FL . . . on the beach! 😎

12. cuhome - April 7, 2012

I needed this today. Thanks, Nancy!

nrhatch - April 7, 2012

Oh, good! It’s wonderful when we can share the right thoughts at the right time.

13. Let's CUT the Crap! - April 7, 2012

So lovely to read. Now that it’s spring and the promise of new beginnings makes this a good time to reflect.

nrhatch - April 7, 2012

Love your “stage name.” Here’s to getting real! 😀

14. eof737 - April 7, 2012

This is so beautiful Nancy. You do have the gift of the succinct! I’ve been awol as in overwhelmed with personal stuff; positive but demanding no less. I have all your posts and will continue to respond to them and the other 2000 in my mail box. I don’t know how y’all do it. Yeah, a blog friend stopped all notifications and only responds to those who reach out to him… who knows… Anyway, have a wonderful Easter weekend! I’ll be back! (Not in Arnold’s accent but mine – 😆 )
Great post and complements mine on time! 🙂
Happy Easter!

nrhatch - April 7, 2012

Thanks, E! The older I get . . . the more I rely on “less is more” as a philosophy.

If I had 2000 notifications sitting in my mail box, I would delete the vast majority. We can never hope to keep up with everything that interests us in the blogosphere or elsewhere.

We can only read some of the posts . . . some of the time.

Be well!

eof737 - April 7, 2012

TY I hear you! I’m sifting through them and changing notifications on some and deleting a few… It will be my project this weekend. I want my email box back! 😆 Have a Happy Easter! 🙂

15. Three Well Beings - April 7, 2012

What lovely photos you’ve used to punctuate this wonderful post! I believe every word, but need constant reminding! I love that you really live the message way beyond repeating the words! And thanks, too, for Barbara DeAngelis…I haven’t heard her name in a long time, and used to really enjoy her. Debra

nrhatch - April 8, 2012

Thanks, Debra. I haven’t heard her name in a while either ~ this quote popped into my head as soon as I saw that “Journey” was the theme.

I am better about focusing on the Journey. As soon as I realize I’ve been swept away from the Here and Now by worries about the past or future . . . I bring my attention back to This Moment.

Aah . . . that’s better!

16. wightrabbit - April 8, 2012

Profound sentiments accompanied by lovely photographs. Thank you 🙂

nrhatch - April 8, 2012

Thanks, Jacqueline. Just read your last post . . . AWESOME.

UBUNTU . . . I am because we are. 😀

17. Perfecting Motherhood - April 8, 2012

What a happy buddha! My journey photo is coming out tomorrow.

nrhatch - April 8, 2012

Buddhas make me smile. Smiling Buddhas make me smile even bigger. 😀

18. theonlycin - April 9, 2012

Thank you, Nancy, sometimes we need a gentle reminder 🙂

nrhatch - April 10, 2012

Hi Cin! Nice to see you out and about. Fingers crossed that you enjoy a bit of “smooth sailing” in the months ahead. 😀


What Say YOU?

