jump to navigation

A Classic Carbonara Caper October 30, 2011

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Humor, Poetry.
trackback

IMGP4171A Classic Carbonara Caper

My friends and I misbehaved
One year on Mischief Night
We hid in bushes along the road
With baggies wrapped up tight

Our aim was good, we seldom missed
Hitting windshields and causing fright
We laughed as drivers recoiled when
“Blood red guts” splattered into sight

We thought our prank was funny
Until a siren pierced the night
We raced away, quick as a wink
From the officer’s flashing light

Related posts: It’s Halloween * Who Hung The Moon?

Comments»

1. BrainRants - October 30, 2011

We used nerf footballs to make people think they hit something.

nrhatch - October 30, 2011

Sounds a bit less messy than some of the pranks we pulled. We behaved 364 days of the year . . . and let it all hang out on Mischief Night. 😯

2. Cindy - October 30, 2011

You are a cruel woman, Nancy Hatch!

nrhatch - October 30, 2011

Not now . . . but then, yes. 😛

3. Sandra Bell Kirchman - October 30, 2011

I didn’t do anything much for Halloween, but on parade days some of my friends and I would stand on a conspicuous corner and suck lemons. The horn players’ mouths would pucker and they couldn’t blow their horns.

nrhatch - October 30, 2011

That’s so funny . . . our mirror neurons at work! 😀

4. Carl D'Agostino - October 30, 2011

When you inadvertently hit the cop car it ain’t funny either. We we sentenced to 200 years at Leavenworth. Until he drove away of course. We were 9.

nrhatch - October 30, 2011

We did get pursued by the police, but didn’t get caught.

When I told my parents, they said they would have left me in jail overnight to teach me a lesson. Tough love!

5. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide - October 30, 2011

I don’t care how young you were, this is a waste of pasta and you oughta be ashamed. Now if you’d thrown eggs or tp’d a tree, that’s fine.

nrhatch - October 30, 2011

You’re right . . . I’m sorry. 😳

6. sufilight - October 30, 2011

Funny visuals of little Nancy misbehaving! 🙂 The one who would do the mishaving would be my older sis, she made up for both of us. LOL.

nrhatch - October 30, 2011

There’s one in every family, eh? 😆

7. Team Oyeniyi - October 30, 2011

As we are not really into Halloween over here (although like many other USA things, it does seem to be gaining hold in some areas), we also don’t have Mischief Night!

I think I’m glad I wasn’t your Mum! 😆

nrhatch - October 30, 2011

I tried my parent’s patience on many occasions . . . I was NOT an easy child in my teens. 😀

8. kateshrewsday - October 30, 2011

Go and write “I must not fire bags of faux blood at passing motorists” 100 times. 😀

nrhatch - October 30, 2011

Yes, Ma’am! 😆

9. Paula Tohline Calhoun - October 30, 2011

So you were one of those kids, huh? Not I? I thought such behavior was juvenile. Which is roughly translated as “I don’t have any friends who have asked me to do it with them!” 😆

You were a trickster! Those sorts of activities were usually done on the night before halloween, which was called “Mischief Night.” That way the little kids out for candy weren’t as bothered or picked on.

TP’ing a house or a yard was the big thing back then – as well as throwing eggs at cars – which was REALLY dangerous!

nrhatch - October 30, 2011

When Trick Or Treating . . . I was too focused on Treats to play any tricks. Our marauding about was done on Mischief Night.

I never TP’ed a house. I did toss a few eggs. Juvenile behavior is par for the course for juvenile delinquents.

Glad I outgrew all that naughtiness.

10. souldipper - October 30, 2011

Nancy, are you certain that you did outgrow this streak of pransterdom? It definitely pokes through in spite of your bare-footed maturity! 🙂

Team Oyeniyi - October 31, 2011

😆 😆 😆 You could be spot on there!

nrhatch - October 31, 2011

I am still full of mischief . . . but I am never naughty. 😉

11. Tilly Bud - October 31, 2011

Naughty, naughty! You could have caused an accident. I sincerely hope this wasn’t a recent event 😉

nrhatch - October 31, 2011

Decades ago . . . on a road where cars traveled at a low rate of speed. But, still, a dangerous game to play ~ we didn’t always use our common sense as kids.

12. bluebee - October 31, 2011

Well, Nancy – thanks for that wonderful tip for getting rid of the spoilt-brat hoonheads (and the odd rev-head adult) in my neighbourhood.

Best wishes
bb (from a jail cell somewhere in the Antipodes)

nrhatch - November 1, 2011

Hey, if I get arrested as part of the conspiracy, we can be prison pen pals!

13. ElizOF - November 1, 2011

You’re lucky you got away… 😆

nrhatch - November 1, 2011

You’re right. We’re also lucky that we didn’t hurt any one.
I’m not sure, but that close call may have been my last Mischief Night.


What Say YOU?

