jump to navigation

A Hidden Blessing October 22, 2011

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Humor, Poetry, Word Play.
trackback

This morning, I got up, and swiftly started thinking
A habit I eschew, especially when drinking
Not the getting up part (which starts the daily grind)
But the thinking thoughts part (which muddles up my mind)

Fickle thoughts weaving to and fro from bane to blessing
Circulated and percolated as I commenced dressing
‘Til I reached that bit of cloth we should cherish and adore
A blessing we take for granted and, oft times, ignore

Except when it is AWOL or stealthily creeping
Into nether regions to set up errant housekeeping

This humble item underlays modern civilization
A stalwart ally to protect our base of operation

 

Brian-Oh-NoA barrier between our bums and trousers of itchy wool
As well as pantyhose which tends to snag, twist, tug and pull

So, tomorrow, when you awake and commence your dressing
Please give thanks for underpants ~ a hidden little blessing
Keeping tender privates safe from hungry, toothy zippers
Which are wont to pull out hairs (ouch!) without the use of clippers

Related posts:  Sidey’s Weekend Theme ~ All Mod Cons * Really Awful All Mod Cons (Colonialist) * All Mod Cons (Sidey) * A Modern Spin (Kate Shrewsday) * This is All that Came to Mind (Paula)

Comments»

1. Jackie Paulson Author - October 22, 2011

LOL a blessing we can’t live without. 🙂

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

I’m glad I entered the world AFTER underpants became a commonplace convenience. 😆

2. Marion Driessen - October 22, 2011

Chuckling here. I will do that first thing in the morning 😉

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

Glad it gave you a smile. If you want to join Sidey’s challenge . . . just click on the link. The more the merrier.

3. Paula Tohline Calhoun - October 22, 2011

Terrific, Nancy! You left out one thing: If you use your panyhose as your panties, you will find less “fors” for that than “antis,” because as most of us all know, the dang things to our crotch will go, which makes walking very odd, so wear your panties on top by God! They help to keep the pantyhose up, so hurrah for panties, they win the cup!

Love this! Especially since I thought you were starting to give thanks for shoes and make it a plea for donating shoes to the shoeless. Which is a good idea in itself, but unfortunately I only have two pair and I only wear them when I have to – when the store sign says I must, and when I go to church.

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

Thanks, PTC. I’ve solved the pantyhose issue by banning them from my wardrobe. Since I stopped practicing law, I see no reason to wear them.

I wear skirts with sandals, shorts and capris with flip flops, and pants with socks and shoes. 😀

Paula Tohline Calhoun - October 22, 2011

Yeah – except for the 1 dress and 2 or 3 skirts I now wear, I don’t wear them much either. I wear pants almost exclusively, because then the brace on my left foot/ankle and the ugly shoes I have to wear are not nearly as noticeable! Unfortunately, when I put on shoes (which I’m supposed to wear all the time, but don’t 😆 ), I have to have something else on my feet and legs – so I found socks or knee-high hose work OK. Still don’t like ’em, though – too hot!

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

I commisserate. I only wear socks and shoes when my feet need them for warmth.

4. adeeyoyo - October 22, 2011

…swiftly started thinking… would be a big mistake for me! I like to wake up slowly, one eye at a time and the brain last of all! Lovely, Nancy. 😉

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

Thanks, Denise. Same here. I like to E~A~S~E into the day. 😀

5. thebardonthehill - October 22, 2011

Good one all the way through, bringing a smile to my morning.

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

Yay! Exactly the response I hoped to share . . . smiles all the way around.

If you’re interested in joining Sidey’s challenge this weekend ~ the theme is All Mod Cons. Just click on the link and you’ll be whisked through cyber space (a most modern convenience, indeed) to Sidey’s site.

6. Patricia - October 22, 2011

I agree wholeheartedly
about wearing a panty
It’s cotton for me
and cotton can be sexy
But never never a thong
they are just plain wrong.

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

Great timing . . . for FUN rhyming! 😀

7. SidevieW - October 22, 2011

hehehe, a convienence indeed

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

One of the best inventions eva! 😀

8. sufilight - October 22, 2011

LOL!!! That was cute and caught me by surprise! 🙂 Read your comments, and I also don’t wear pantyhose since I left the corporate world a decade ago. I dress much more casual these days.

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

Casual rules my life too. Much more comfortable. 🙂

9. Booksphotographsandartwork - October 22, 2011

LOL most certainly will!

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

Excellent! 😉

10. totsymae1011 - October 22, 2011

Yes, the panties I will give thanks from here on out. 🙂

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

When we start being grateful for all the “little things” in our life, we realize just how fortunate we are ~ there are so many modern conveniences that make our lives easier, happier, and healthier. 😀

11. colonialist - October 22, 2011

This is beautifully crafted and with extremely amusing subject and wordplay!

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

Sidey’s themes encourage me to think “outside the box” . . . and do something a bit different each weekend. 😉

12. Lafemmeroar - October 22, 2011

What a cute and practical post about undies 🙂

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

Thanks. Glad you enjoyed my little ode to undies. 😆

13. bluebee - October 22, 2011

Fantastic, Nancy – they say that the essence of poetry is that it transforms the common experience of everydayness and you have done just that 😀

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

Thanks, BlueBee! Glad you enjoyed. Writing this poem was tons of FUN! 😀

14. clarbojahn - October 22, 2011

Cute. lol. made me smile after a day sitting on my can for SCBWI all day. Came home and changed into all my most comfortable clothes. Never wear and don’t even own a pair of pantyhose. Nor even knee highs. I cheat with knee high smooth black socks with my black clogs for these things. My church is casual

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

It is so lovely to come home on a Saturday night and change into our comfy clothes!

I may emulate your lead and get some sheer black socks to “cheat with” on occasion. I like that idea!

15. jannatwrites - October 22, 2011

I too, am thankful for the garments that are un-mentioned,
but I have to wonder – when will my boys
finally pay them some attention?

Just today, my youngest was over-eager to get dressed and forgot the undies. Had they not been in the middle of his floor, I wouldn’t have thought to ask. (Funny thing is, he always has to look – he can’t tell that something feels wrong!)

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

That is so funny, Janna. I am LMAO!

I can see you (and moms everywhere) asking a self-dressing pre-schooler, “Did you remember your underpants?”

Blank stare. Quick pull on the wasteband to check. Shake of the head, “No. I forgot.” 🙄

16. Crowing Crone Joss - October 22, 2011

best chuckle of the day. brilliantly written.

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

Thanks, Joss. This was tons of fun to write. 😀

17. jeanne - October 22, 2011

This cracked me up…

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

Yay! SMILES ‘R’ US! 😀

18. sweetdaysundertheoaks - October 23, 2011

Very funny Nancy and cute too if you don’t mind me saying. I do give thanks for my underpants even though my big girl panties are what my “friend from kindeegarten” calls spanky pants. Plain old white cotton.

sweetdaysundertheoaks - October 23, 2011

The other two things out of many I was grateful for today were my cowgirl boots and jeans! And can’t leave out the beautiful Fall day today 🙂 Well yesterday as I am still up and reading blogs at 1:21 AM Sunday. Time to sleep!

nrhatch - October 23, 2011

Thanks! Cute and Funny works for me. I’m with you on cotton . . . in all colors of the tropical rainbow! 😉

19. granny1947 - October 23, 2011

Thanks for the morning smile…I love your lighter side!

nrhatch - October 23, 2011

Thanks, Kathy. Me too! Rarely does a day go by without me laughing out loud. My sense of humor keeps my boat afloat.

20. ElizOF - October 24, 2011

Now that is a funny thought to have… But hooray for undergarments! 🙂

nrhatch - October 24, 2011

Funny “ha ha”? Or funny odd and strange?

If the latter, let me go on record by saying:
I prefer being called “unique” . . . rather than “odd” or “strange.” 😆


What Say YOU?

