jump to navigation

The Donkey in the Well October 21, 2011

Posted by nrhatch in Animals, Humor, Joke, Life Balance, Mindfulness.
trackback

Shrek-&-DonkeyOne day a farmer’s donkey fell down into a well.

The animal cried for hours as the farmer tried to figure out what to do. Finally, he decided the animal was old, and the well needed to be covered up anyway; it just wasn’t worth it to retrieve the donkey.

His neighbors came to help him.

As they began to shovel dirt into the well, the donkey cried.  Then, he quieted down, causing the farmer to look into the well.

As each shovel of dirt hit his back, the donkey would shake it off and take a step up.  In short order, he stepped over the edge of the well and trotted off.

Thought to Ponder:  Life is going to shovel dirt on us ~ that’s a given.  We either use our troubles as stepping stones to get from where we are to where  we want to be . . . or we end up “buried alive.”  It’s our choice.

Source:  Anonymous

Comments»

1. BrainRants - October 21, 2011

Yeah, and the farmer now has a full well.

Oh, BTW, there’s no gold in the repository at Fort Knox.

nrhatch - October 21, 2011

No gold? Oh, no! 😉

BTW: Theresa LaCasse has LEFT the building! I ejected her after receiving her 5th misspelled message about Fort Knoks. :mrgreen:

2. Carl D'Agostino - October 21, 2011

Far too often for far too many people try to drink themselves out of the well. Sooner or later one will no longer exist. Usually it’s the person.

nrhatch - October 21, 2011

Life is a constant choice, Carl. What we make of it is up to us.

We either make ourselves miserable, or we make ourselves strong. The amount of work is the same. ~ Carlos Castaneda

3. Denise Allen - October 21, 2011

What a lovely little lesson to us, Nancy!

nrhatch - October 21, 2011

Glad you enjoyed, Denise.

You remind me of the donkey . . . you will come out on top! 😀

adeeyoyo - October 21, 2011

Thanks – I think! Heehaw, heehaw…

nrhatch - October 21, 2011

I meant it as a SUPREME COMPLIMENT, Denise. Your quiet perseverance in the face of adversity inspires me. 😀

4. kateshrewsday - October 21, 2011

Our weaknesses become opportunities….love this story, Nancy: clever donkey. And all without opposable thumbs.

nrhatch - October 21, 2011

We can take what’s tossed our way and make ourselves stronger through our trials and tribulations. Or we can collapse in a heap and bray! 😉

5. Maggie - October 21, 2011

That’s a good story. What doesn’t kill us will make us stronger.

nrhatch - October 21, 2011

Sometime the “worst” thing transforms into the “best” lesson. 😀

6. SammyDee - October 21, 2011

What a lovely lesson. I’m so glad there was a happy ending!

nrhatch - October 21, 2011

Me too! I saw a real story like this last week ~ a cow fell in a well in South America somewhere. The gauchos strapped a girdle around its mid-section and lifted it to safely. Yay!

7. earlybird - October 21, 2011

Go, donkey, go!

nrhatch - October 21, 2011

Three cheers for the burro!

8. You Were Born To Succeed - October 21, 2011

This is so true, it’s hit-the-nail-on-the-head true! It’s amazing blue-sky true! It’s wonder-in-a-basket true! Well, you get what I mean. I love it.

nrhatch - October 21, 2011

Glad you enjoyed. I’ve loved this story for years. When I bumped into it again a few days ago, I had to share.

9. You Were Born To Succeed - October 21, 2011

Nancy, thank you for including art in your blogroll. Couldn’t find anywhere else to comment on it, so this is a good place. Beautiful!

nrhatch - October 21, 2011

I’m glad you said something. I really need to update that section of my blog roll.

You might check out “Rosa’s Picks” ~ she posts one gorgeous piece of art each day wtih a link back to the artist’s blog.

10. katherine - October 21, 2011

You go donkey! I like that story and it serves the farmer right!

nrhatch - October 21, 2011

The farmer felt overwhelmed at his inability to “fix” someone else’s life. I expect that he’s happy the donkey figured out how to get out of the well he’d fallen into. 😀

11. Sandra Bell Kirchman - October 21, 2011

I think it was forgiving of the donkey not to kick the farmer right in the…well, kick him.

Neat story.

nrhatch - October 21, 2011

The donkey did not blame the farmer . . . he was too busy kicking up his heels at the JOY of being alive. 😀

12. Linda - October 21, 2011

Ack! I almost started crying into my breakfast. If that is a true story I hope the donkey bit and kicked the crap out of that farmer. Then through him in another well. Neat lesson though.

nrhatch - October 21, 2011

I doubt it’s a “true” story . . . just a parable with a moral that we are responsible for finding solutions to our problems. 😀

13. jeanne - October 21, 2011

I choose option #1…my biggest fear is being buried alive. It must be the 70’s movie I saw of the same or similar name maybe even based on a true story.

nrhatch - October 21, 2011

Being buried alive would be awful! Much better to use the dirt as a stepping stone to FREEDOM.

14. grannydog - October 21, 2011

What an inspiring story! I had never heard it before, but it teaches a fantastic lesson that all that is given to us has endless possibilities, sometimes instinct provides the best answer, as it did for the donkey. 🙂

Oh, by the way, I have nominated you for an award: http://grannydog.wordpress.com/2011/10/21/the-versatile-blogger-award/ 🙂

nrhatch - October 21, 2011

Thanks, Granny. We often have the answers we need inside us all along . . . when we listen, anything in life can be our guide.

Thanks for the award ~ versatility is key to life balance! 😀

15. Pocket Perspectives - October 21, 2011

This is a wonderful story…right up there with the legend of the 2 wolves. That idea of the dirt being shoveled into the well…at one point I found myself in what seemed like the bottom of a very deep well, with what seemed like more and more dirt being shoveled in….and I somehow started transforming the difficulties of that dirt into the pages I make, one at a time, over many years…and managed to slowly, slowly, page by page, use them as a ladder, or an increasing tall pile of dirt, to get out of the well…and am so incredibly thankful to have been able to do that. But…if there had been no “difficulties,” there would have been no pages…interesting…

nrhatch - October 21, 2011

I think you’re exactly right, Kathy.

When we learn to climb out of the wells we land in, we learn things that help US and that we can share with OTHERS.

16. Lisa Wields Words - October 21, 2011

I really like this. Thanks for sharing it. What a brilliant donkey, to transform the bad into something magnificent.

nrhatch - October 21, 2011

I guess you could say he’s a real . . . smart ass! 😆

Lisa Wields Words - October 21, 2011

LMAO!!!!

nrhatch - October 21, 2011

I’m surprised that Carl didn’t beat me to the punch with that funny punny. 😎

17. barb19 - October 21, 2011

Instead of griping about what we don’t have, make use of what we do have and turn the bad situation to our advantage. We can always make a bad situation better by just being positive.
Great lesson – clever donkey!

nrhatch - October 21, 2011

I think that you exemplified this philosophy during your recent trip to Scotland. Instead of griping about your husband’s illness . . . you focused on enjoying what you could with what you had where you are.

Live is much better for clever donkeys than for silly rabbits. 😀

18. jannatwrites - October 22, 2011

I like the message in that story. I’ve been around people who just complain when the dirt starts piling up on their back. When offered suggestions on how to make things better, they do nothing.

That’s when I walk away.

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

You and me both. As soon as I realize they’re just interested in squawking about problems, rather than solving them, I lose interest in remaining in the audience. 😀

19. ElizOF - October 22, 2011

The donkey was quite smart given his situation… If only we could all remember to do same. 🙂

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

I love the metaphor that Tilly spotted . . . all the unreasonable burdens that others place on our shoulders which threaten to bury us alive if we don’t remember to shake some of them off.

20. Tilly Bud - October 22, 2011

That’s the second time I’ve heard this story recently and both times it made me sad – the farmer decided slow suffocation was okay for a faithful servant.

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

That’s brilliant, Tilly! How often do those around us slowly suffocate us with demands and expectations which we cart around on our backs . . . instead of shaking them off to live our OWN lives.

21. bluebee - October 22, 2011

And the farmer looked like an ass – nice little fable and only too true

nrhatch - October 22, 2011

He does, doesn’t he? Bright donkey, ignorant farmer.

22. Galen Leeds Photography - October 23, 2011

I hope you didn’t put the donkey in the well just so that you could take a picture of it and then tell the story

nrhatch - October 23, 2011

I would NEVER put a donkey in a well (or a farmer in a dell). 😉

23. The Donkey in the Well – Spirit Lights The Way Blog | Reflection of a Buddhist Monk - October 24, 2011

[…] Spirit Lights The Way is certainly one of those blogs as you can see from the below retelling of The Donkey in the Well. I hope you will visit and find this site as enjoyable and beneficial as I […]

24. Christine Grote - October 24, 2011

I love this story.

nrhatch - October 24, 2011

It’s a good reminder to shrug off the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune.

25. Team Oyeniyi - October 26, 2011

I’ve never heard this and I love it! Such a great parable!

nrhatch - October 26, 2011

It’s always darkest just before the dawn ~ especially if you’re stuck at the bottom of a well. 😉


What Say YOU?

