jump to navigation

Four Worms & A Lesson September 25, 2011

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Happiness, Humor, Joke.
trackback

A minister decided that a visual demonstration would add emphasis to his Sunday sermon.

He placed four worms into four separate jars:

* The first filled with alcohol.
* The second filled with cigarette smoke.
* The third filled with chocolate syrup.
* The fourth filled with good clean soil.

At the end of the sermon, the Minister reported the following results:

* The first worm in alcohol ~ Dead.
* The second worm in cigarette smoke ~ Dead
* The third worm in chocolate syrup ~ Dead
* The fourth worm in good clean soil ~ Alive

The Minister then asked, “What can you learn from this demonstration?”

An old woman sitting in the back of the church quickly raised her hand and said, “As long as you drink, smoke and eat chocolate, you won’t have worms!”

IMGP3282b

That pretty much ended the service.

Original Source: Unknown

Related post:  Would you rather laugh with the sinners or cry with the saints? (WP Prompt) * All My Own Work (Tinman’s 1st Joke)

Comments»

1. spilledinkguy - September 25, 2011

Hahaha…
very funny!
And suddenly I feel so very… HEALTHY, too
(I’ve just given up eating dirt, you know) 😉 !

nrhatch - September 25, 2011

No more mud pies, eh? 😉

2. ceceliafutch - September 25, 2011

Laugh Out Loud moment . . . for real. 😀

nrhatch - September 25, 2011

Oh, good! You need a few laughs after the scare you had this week. 😆

3. kateshrewsday - September 25, 2011

LOL! Fantastic, Nancy…just love it.

nrhatch - September 25, 2011

How’s that for thinking outside the glass jar? 😆

4. Thorny Rose - September 25, 2011

Heard it before, but love it, love it, love it!

Have you heard the one about the minister’s sermon on forgiveness? When he asked, “Who among you, my brethren, doesn’t need to forgive someone,” one little old lady raised her hand.

The surprised minister invited her up to the podium and asked her to reveal her secret to forgiveness.

To which she replied, “Old age, sonny. I’ve outlived all those SOBs.”

nrhatch - September 25, 2011

That is so great. I love it, Rose. What sweet “revenge” to outlive all those SOBs. 😆

5. the island traveler - September 25, 2011

Funny …. Thank you. I needed some laughter today. Have a great sunday.

nrhatch - September 25, 2011

Glad to oblige ~ Janna’s post reminded me of this little gem. She’s going to be teaching cub scouts about worms at the next den meeting. 😀

6. Tilly Bud - September 25, 2011

Good one!

nrhatch - September 25, 2011

Seems like George Burns had the right idea all along ~ a drink in one hand and a cigar in the other. 😀

7. brainrants - September 25, 2011

Pretty much my approach also. No worms here.

nrhatch - September 25, 2011

Exactly! Crowd out those little nasties with a bit of “life balance” (à la George Burns). 😉

8. JannatWrites - September 25, 2011

Thanks for linking back to this in your comment. After I read it, I wondered how I had missed this post…then I saw it’s a brand new post 🙂

I don’t know…if I have to eat dirt (even if it is good, clean soil) to live, I think I’d rather go for the chocolate syrup and enjoy my last moments.

Probably not the point of the sermon, though!

nrhatch - September 25, 2011

This joke is probably a little too mature for your den of cub scouts, but I thought it might give you something to smile about as you plan the lesson.

9. Maggie - September 25, 2011

That’s hilarious… but what did the preacher mean by that demonstration?

nrhatch - September 25, 2011

I expect he wanted to encourage parishioners to identify with the live worm . . . by eschewing alcohol, tobacco, and chocolate.

His demo backfired . . . due to the firecracker in his flock. 😆

10. nuvofelt - September 25, 2011

Sounds as though it’s time for me to take up smoking. Occasional drinks and chocolates obviously aren’t enough

Thanks for the giggle.

nrhatch - September 25, 2011

Glad it was good for a giggle. 😀

11. Judith - September 25, 2011

This is a falling about laughing blog post. Thanks Nancy 🙂

nrhatch - September 25, 2011

Glad you enjoyed, Judith! Seemed a perfect post for a Sunday afternoon. 😀

12. SidevieW - September 25, 2011

horid alternates

nrhatch - September 25, 2011

huh?

13. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide - September 25, 2011

I love that woman!

nrhatch - September 25, 2011

She rocks! 😀

14. clarbojahn - September 25, 2011

LOL! so funny!

nrhatch - September 25, 2011

He got a bit more than he bargained for with that woman in his congregation! 😉

15. souldipper - September 25, 2011

There’s often someone who keeps humour flowing in the face of rampant religion!

nrhatch - September 25, 2011

Well, I know that I do my best. 😆

16. hugmamma - September 25, 2011

quintessential nrhatch! love it! mind if i borrow it with a reference back, of course? btw…how do you make that smiley face where the lips keep moving? 🙂

nrhatch - September 25, 2011

Absolutely . . . share away.

And to make the face, type : lol : without spaces. 😆

17. adeeyoyo - September 26, 2011
nrhatch - September 26, 2011

Thanks, Denise. Shall be around shortly. 😀

18. 2e0mca - September 26, 2011

And Beer to reach your belly 😉

nrhatch - September 26, 2011

According to my great aunt, It’s the belly that keeps up the back.

19. earlybird - September 26, 2011

Funny 🙂

20. LittleMissVix - September 26, 2011

Hehe like it!

21. Team Oyeniyi - September 26, 2011

That is a total gem! 😆

nrhatch - September 26, 2011

Nothing like a quick-witted firecracker in the congregation to liven up a Sunday sermon. 😀

22. adeeyoyo - September 26, 2011

Well I certainly wouldn’t want to give up the nice things in life in order to live longer – it’s the QUALITY that counts!

nrhatch - September 26, 2011

Same here, Denise. If life isn’t fun any more, why bother?

23. Sandra Bell Kirchman - September 26, 2011

Very funny – and strangely one that I have not heard before. I’ve given lectures like that before. I always like to think it is Spirit’s way of warming up the audience for me and relax the listeners 😛

nrhatch - September 26, 2011

We learn more when we are relaxed and happy . . . so starting a presentation with a good joke is a great idea.

24. CMSmith - September 26, 2011

lol

nrhatch - September 26, 2011

Nothing like a snappy comeback from the peanuts in the gallery, eh?

25. ElizOF - September 26, 2011

Still rolling on the floor laughing… 🙂

nrhatch - September 26, 2011

This has been my TOP post for the week . . . with 907 views. Lots of people on the floor laughing. 😆

Team Oyeniyi - September 26, 2011

I “stumbled” it and it says 674 – but I wasn’t the only “Stumbler” so I can’t take the credit! There were 5 of us!

nrhatch - September 26, 2011

Thanks, Robyn!

When I glanced at the stats earlier today, I noticed a BIG boost in average page views. Always a nice surprise. 😀

26. Piglet in Portugal - September 26, 2011

Excellent! I don’t think we can add much to her response!
Except. Unlike smoking you can’t get cancer or certain smoking related illness from passively watching someone eat chocolate or drink alcohol.

nrhatch - September 26, 2011

Mmm . . . chocolate. 😀

27. Piglet in Portugal - September 26, 2011

We have a dessert in th UK called death my chololate!
Trust me it is aptly named…IT is so scrummy you can’t stop eating it
LOL

nrhatch - September 26, 2011

I’ve heard of Death by Chocolate, but never had it. Bet I would like it. 😀

28. Carl D'Agostino - September 26, 2011

means yo mamma should not yell at you when you come home covered with dirt as it shows you’ve done no evil

nrhatch - September 27, 2011

Unless, of course, you’re covered in dirt because you fell down drunk. 😆

29. Tokeloshe - September 28, 2011

Love it!

nrhatch - September 28, 2011

Nothing like being a bit more outspoken as we age, eh? 😉

30. pix & kardz - September 29, 2011

ha ha, that one got me in the funny bone. had to share this story with someone right away – who found it funny, too. it actually reminds me of a similar story, except that this is at the other end of the age spectrum: http://kommentsbykris.wordpress.com/2011/07/22/sunny-moment/

nrhatch - September 30, 2011

That’s great . . . butt dust! 😉

31. grannydog - October 27, 2011

Hahahaha.. just what I needed on an early morning. Thanks for the laugh! 😀

nrhatch - October 27, 2011

Glad you enjoyed! 😀


What Say YOU?

