jump to navigation

I Feel G~O~O~D!!! April 12, 2011

Posted by nrhatch in Exercise & Fitness, Health & Wellness.
trackback

My Just One Thing challenge is starting to pay dividends . . . in motivation, not money.  I’ve taken care of several tedious and taxing tasks that have been sitting around, gathering dust, for far too long ~ and also completed our 2010 taxes!

Feeling pleased with my progress motivated me to tackle a few more tasks which made me feel even better about my progress which resulted in motivation  spilling over into other areas ~ like exercise.

This morning, I laced up my sneakers to go for an early morning walk BEFORE having my first cup of coffee.

Getting my blood pumping with a brisk walk inspired me to ride my bike to the pool and attend an hour long water aerobics class with lots of bending and stretching and moving to the music.

Then, I hopped back on my bike and headed home for my coffee.

Which I’m not even sure I need at this point.

Completing a mini triathlon (one mile walk ~ two mile bike ride ~ 60 minutes of “swimming”) got me ready to tackle my day . . . without caffeine.

I feel G~O~O~D!

Watch out world, here I come.

Aah . . . that’s better!   

How about you?  Does completing one task or objective inspire you to tackle the next?  Or does Just One Thing mean just that?

 

Comments»

1. Tilly Bud - April 12, 2011

WEll done you!

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

Thanks, Tilly. It’s usually hard for me to motivate myself to do anything before drinking my coffee in the morning . . . so this morning surprised me quite a bit.

2. Cindy - April 12, 2011

*slides to-do list under keyboard* Well done, Nancy!

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

Thanks, Cin. You’re a busy girl with too much on her plate at the moment to worry about tackling “to do’s.” 😀

3. Carol Ann Hoel - April 12, 2011

I think energy spent begets energy to spend. Cool. I must get busy and get moving! Blessings to you, Nancy…

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

I agree, Carol Ann. Plus, all that great exercise motivated me to eat a super healthy crunchy salad for lunch!

4. Debra - April 12, 2011

hheheh good job!!!

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

I’m going to have to “rethink” my mornings more often. I feel positively radiant. Woohoo!

5. Judson - April 12, 2011

Great work!

I absolutely love a good walk. As opposed to running, I find that walking is a pleasure instead of a chore. Subsequently, I’m walking 10-15 miles per week and feeling great!

Still haven’t kicked the caffine though …

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

Good for you, Judson. Incorporating walking into your days is awesome ~ and much easier on the joints than running. I want to work up to 2-3 miles a day, at least on the days that I’m not swimming and biking.

6. Pseu - April 12, 2011

Don’t dehydrate….
I hope you had an alternative drink before and during all that exercise?

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

I did ~ good old H2O. Do you take water breaks while you’re swimming, Pseu? Or do you just drink before and after starting your laps?

Pseu - April 13, 2011

On the longer swims I took Lucozade with me… but I don’t tend to get too thirsty during and make up afterwards.

nrhatch - April 13, 2011

Thanks, Pseu. I don’t get thirsty in the pool either. Walking and biking make me much more thirsty.

7. kateshrewsday - April 12, 2011

Wow!
I’m a little in awe over here!
I need a smelly dog to get me exercising!

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

Your walks through the woods with Macauley are part of my inspiration, Kate.

If I don’t get my butt in gear, I’ll never be able to keep up when I come for a visit!

8. carldagostino - April 12, 2011

For people that have an inability to start and complete tasks the best remedy is to start and complete a task. Esp for depression immobilized people. Completion gives ourselves validation from which more positive energy generates. I am glad you wrote this. You have motivated me. I am going to finally take down the Christmas tree by this evening !!!

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

You made me laugh out loud, Carl. Go you!

And you are right ~ the best antidote for depression is to take action. Any action will do for a start.

9. SuziCate - April 12, 2011

Yay you! I am impressed, I dare to even look at the world without my first cup of Joe! A triathon, you go! Cheering you on…hear me hooting and clapping all those miles away?!

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

Same here. Don’t know what came over me this morning. 😀

As I headed to the kitchen to start the coffee, I saw my walking shoes out of the corner of my eye . . . the next thing I knew, I was outside striding down the street.

suzicate - April 12, 2011

Even more impressed now…mine sit at the bottom of the steps and I see them each morning and am NEVER inspired. Please send the little speedy alien who invaded your body over to invade mine!

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

Will do. I think my older cousin inspired me ~ he jogs 5 miles, walks for an hour, and then plays tennis . . . meeting his tennis partner at 7:30 am!

10. Rosa - April 12, 2011

Wow, I’m inspired!! I don’t even drink coffee, but I’d never exercise in the morning without it! Ha!

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

If I start drinking coffee, I want to sit at my computer and check e-mails and comments. And my motivation flags. So I think I need to walk first and put it in “park” second. 😀

11. Jackie Paulson 1966 - April 12, 2011

I like to start a project and finish it. It can be to clean a drawer and empty it out and clean it and put back all nice and organized. That is a refreshing feeling, one that makes me have a sense of accomplishment because I see the results fast. I also love to trim trees or bushes and the end results are so beautiful. Great post today.

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

Excellent point, Jackie. Cleaning out a single drawer or cabinet gives us enthusiasm and energy to tackle other drawers, cabinets, and closets.

I think we’re either on an upward spiral (of increased energy and motivation) or a downward spiral (of decreased energy and motivation. Getting motivated in any area increases our motivation in others. It’s a win-win . . . once we get started.

12. oldancestor - April 12, 2011

I was inspired by this post to go to our community pool but got arrested for trepassing. The good news is I burned lots of calories running from the police. I don’t need coffee either, which is good, because they don’t let us have hot beverages here in jail.

Thanks, Hatch, for the inspiration. Do you have bail money by any chance?

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

Hahaha! Yes, let me wire that to you right away, OA. 😀

Running from the police (and other inmates) is a great way to keep off the weight and stay in shape.

oldancestor - April 13, 2011

I like to watch episodes of Cops to pick up tips.

nrhatch - April 13, 2011

Those shows are a veritable minefield of useful information for certain echelons of society.

13. Piglet in Portugal - April 12, 2011

Wow! I’m impressed! I feel totally demotivated re exercise at the moment…and the less I exercise the more I eat! I am going to don my wetsuit and go swimming in the pool tomorrow…it’s a start!
I got out of the way of exercising properly the last 2 months as I’ve had a virus which has left me feeling very tired. I think the more you exercise the more you want to exercise…trouble is, it is just getting started!
PiP 🙂

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

I agree, PiP. Getting started is at least half the battle with me. As soon as the sneakers were on this morning, I knew I would go for the walk.

The other problem is over-doing it on day one so that we’re too sore on day two to continue. That’s why I kept the walk short this morning. Slow and steady start.

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

Oh, I meant to say that I hope the worst of the virus is behind you so that your energy level rebounds. Have a good swim tomorrow.

14. nancycurteman - April 12, 2011

First I would say that nothing succeeds like success. Second I would add that I make lists and find it very satisfying to cross off a completed task. So satisfying that when I complete a task not on the list I add it to the list so I can cross if off. Am I obsessive or what?

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

I’m right there with you, NC. Add it on. Cross it off. Smile.

15. barb19 - April 12, 2011

Wow – you put me to shame Nancy! But well done on your achievement. Sometimes we just have to make the effort, and you did – I think you have inspired all of us!

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

Thanks, Barb. I’m psyched and will try to do the same tomorrow ~ with a longer walk and bike ride and no water aerobics.

I’m feeling better (and more motivated) today than I have in awhile. I’m going to a meeting in about 30 minutes, and I’m going to ride my bike instead of taking the car. Yay!

16. Penny - April 12, 2011

Nancy

Getting up in the morning, and going walking, riding a bike before a cup of coffee-That’s amazing-I’ll have to give it a try !!! 🙂

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

I had one sip of coffee before I headed out ~ not for the caffeine, but because I like drinking something warm after sleeping all night.

I’m going to try to do it again tomorrow. Get up and go for a 20 minute walk, then have coffee. Then go for a bike ride.

17. Cities of the Mind - April 12, 2011

Gotta love that post workout buzz!

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

Awesome! 😎

18. clarbojahn - April 12, 2011

That’s great Nancy, 🙂 Congrats. I just blogged about my exercise plan and how I walk two or three miles a day and go to Pilate’s class. Just look at my post of the ninth on ” Five easy steps to get in shape.” Joining a class did it for me. It was the motivation I needed to get strong. Just walking isn’t enough for me but It’s a start. Now for the taxes. 🙂

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

I did read your post . . . and I thought I left a comment. I must have closed the page before posting it. 😳

19. adeeyoyo - April 12, 2011

How true this is, Nancy. Over the last few days I have contemplated sitting less at my computer and it’s down to every alternative day or I have to limit my hours. I know this sitting is not good for me in more ways than one so I will try limiting my time here first, starting today! Thank you for the reminder. 🙂

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

Same here. I’ve been sitting in “park” far too much. It’s time to move it or lose it.

20. jannatwrites - April 12, 2011

Triathlon…I like that!

I could feel your energy in your writing. I’m sitting here typing this comment hoping that some of your energy will travel through the keyboard and get me moving. So far…nothing 🙂

nrhatch - April 12, 2011

I felt great all day ~ went for another 2 mile bike ride at 7 pm to attend a meeting.

And I’m going to bed NOW . . . two hours earlier than usual . . . so I can get up and go for a walk in the cool morning air. 😀

21. Sandra Bell Kirchman - April 13, 2011

Okay, who are you and what have you done with Nancy?!

Seriously, very well done. It takes a little strength and commitment to get the ball rolling, but once it’s started, you can’t seem to stop it even if you wanted to. That’s a good thing.

I know you’re being successful, because when I opened the page, the energy in here nearly blew me off my chair.

Keep up the good work! 😉

nrhatch - April 13, 2011

Thanks, Sandra. Got up and went for a mile walk before coffee again this morning. That’s the one habit change I’m working on in the exercise department.

Walk -> then coffee.
Not coffee -> then excuses. 😉

22. eof737 - April 13, 2011

You were on a roll there. All that before you even started your day! Kudos and don’t overdo it… Less is more. I feel the breeze too! LOL! 🙂
Good job!
Eliz

nrhatch - April 13, 2011

I won’t overdo it. Water Aerobics meets twice a week. I’ve been bike riding with regularity for the past 2 years.

The big habit change is adding a walk in first thing in the morning so that NOTHING gets in the way of me walking out the door.

It was too easy for me to have coffee and sit at the computer and stay sitting.

Walking first eliminates that obstacle.

23. Greg Camp - April 13, 2011

You morning people. . .

Without coffee, I enjoy only one twelve o’clock per day, and it ain’t the one with sunshine.

The Lord created coffee and called it good
To start off the morning the way that we should.
The Devil in perversion decaf brewed
And slouched in the corner and sleepily stewed.

nrhatch - April 13, 2011

FUN poem, Greg.

I have no plans to eliminate coffee from my diet. I have two cups a day and life wouldn’t be the same without it.

Coffee . . . it’s what’s for breakfast!

I’m really not a morning person, but walking in the morning in the summer in Florida makes more sense than any other time. My goal is to walk first and then reward myself with 2 steaming cups of COFFEE. Aah . . .

24. flyinggma - April 13, 2011

Congrats Nancy! I like to start the day with at least a walk. I usually take a to-go cup with me and enjoy the surroundings as I walk.

nrhatch - April 13, 2011

Good for you, Jeanne. I’ve enjoyed it, but it takes 30 days (or so) for new habits to take root, so the faster I get out the door, the better.

Once the walks get longer (2-3 miles) and the habit is more ingrained, I’ll probably start taking a mug with me to enjoy as I walk.

25. therunninggarlic - April 13, 2011

Way to go! I am lost if I don’t get my exercising done for the day … makes such a big difference. Keep it up …
Debbie 🙂

nrhatch - April 13, 2011

Thanks, Debbie. I did a mile walk this morning and a 7 mile bike ride this evening. Yay. I want to develop better habits because I’ve been sitting at the keyboard far too much.


What Say YOU?

