jump to navigation

Create An Upward Spiral February 19, 2011

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Happiness, Life Balance.
trackback

When we feel good, we have more energy and are filled with enthusiasm.  We feel buoyant.

When we have more energy, our enthusiasm for life inspires us to do (and be) more.

When we take action and get things done, we step into the driver’s seat.  We feel powerful and creative.  We see ourselves as the architects of our future, rather than as the prisoners of our past.

Our accomplishments make us feel good.  When we feel good, we have more energy and are filled with enthusiasm . . .

Focusing on the positives, and taking affirmative action in the direction of our dreams, creates an upward spiral which inspires us to keep moving.  Taking action, any action, is the antidote to apathy and dis-ease.

When we wake up each morning determined to enjoy what we do, we win.

No matter what happens, we win.

No rules.  Just write!

What about you?  How do you banish lethargy and apathy to begin anew?

Related posts:  Toes Up In My Recliner (Flying Gma) * What’s The Best Way To Get There?Inventing the Artist and the Art

Comments»

1. Barbara Gunn - February 19, 2011

A stairway to heaven with no steps!

nrhatch - February 19, 2011

Wonderful, BG!

The stepping stones of our lives lead us onward and upward.

2. kateshrewsday - February 19, 2011

Just as you say: action seems to be the best way out 🙂

nrhatch - February 19, 2011

Yes, indeed.

Just Do Something. Anything will do for a start . . .

3. 1961 Girl - February 19, 2011

Lovely thought provoking post – thank you.

I totally agree that we need to take some form of action every day, no matter how small. If we don’t take action, our dreams will just remain dreams.
Juls 🙂

nrhatch - February 19, 2011

Thanks, Juls.

Each journey of a thousand miles begins (and ends) with a single step.

4. Rosa - February 19, 2011

Wonderful and positive! Thanks!

nrhatch - February 19, 2011

Thanks, Rosa.

Taking action fuels our enthusiasm and encourages us to keep going. If we clean out one drawer, we’re apt to clean out the whole dresser.

5. Angela Artemis/Powered by Intuition - February 19, 2011

Hi Nancy,
Thanks so much for visiting my blog and for your comment. I’m so impressed that you left the practice of law to pursue your passion for writing. How is that so many good writers end up practicing law?

I couldn’t agree more – when we take action, any action we end up moving toward our goals. Feeling good about what we’re doing is so important too.

Thanks so much for the inspiration.

nrhatch - February 19, 2011

Thanks, Angela.

When we listen to our intuition (the still silent voice within), it often encourages us to let go of what isn’t working so we can grab hold of something better suited to our time, talents, and inclination.

Being an effective lawyer and an effective writer overlap in so many ways ~ with communication being central to both. Many recovering lawyers end up as writers (and vice versa). 🙂

I enjoyed your post on blogging burnout and internet blackouts ~ when blogging becomes too time consuming it can be quite overwhelming.

6. Carol Ann Hoel - February 19, 2011

I wake up each morning thankful that God rules. I trust Him. Waking up is good. Knowing life has a purpose encourages me. Believing God loves me fires my enthusiasm. Forging ahead with my day as I feel led, energizes me to be creative in my pursuits. Knowing He cares and watches over me gives me confidence that I’ll succeed in whatever I do. Life is good. 🙂 Blessings to you, Nancy…

nrhatch - February 19, 2011

Life is good. Thanks, Carol Ann!

7. oldancestor - February 19, 2011

With physical exercise, the more you do it, the moreyou want to. Those principals must apply to one’s mental exercise as well, and mental excerise goes beyond taking tests and learning facts. You need to feed your mind with heathy thoughts much as you must feed your body healthy foods to get the most out of it.

So, Hatch, how am I doing at this positivity thing? I’m making strides, no?

nrhatch - February 20, 2011

Pretty good, OA. And it gets easier. Here’s why:

Many of our thoughts each day are “recycled” and run through our minds on well worn synapses. We gravitate toward the negative or the positive based on habit . . . re-action rather than conscious action.

When we make an effort to “re-train” our brain to focus on the positives, we develeop NEW synapses. At first, we have to remind ourselves to focus on the “good stuff” rather than dwelling on the “bad stuff.”

But once we create new pathways and use them for a time . . . that becomes our new equilibrium.

Great strides indeed! 🙂

oldancestor - February 20, 2011

That’s pretty interesting. I can visualize it. Tomorrow I’ll try to throw out some of the negatives and start over.

By the way, you missed a good chance to say, in response to my previous comment, “Now that’s food for thought.”

Either that or you chose not to.

😉

nrhatch - February 20, 2011

Now that’s food for thought! 😉

{{Delayed re-action due to slow-firing synapses. My synapses don’t fire on all cylinders until late morning or early afternoon.}}

That’s just the way it is . . .

8. jannatwrites - February 19, 2011

I agree. If we think it’s going to be a bad day, there’s a good chance it will be bad.

It drives me nuts when someone whines about how awful something in their life is but makes no action to change it. (Mostly I’ve run into this with respect to career paths.)

nrhatch - February 20, 2011

I’m with you. Here’s a conversation that I don’t care to repeat:

I need to exercise more.
Great. Are you going to go to the gym?
No. I don’t have time for that.
Are you going to start walking or biking?
No. I don’t like walking or biking.
What about dancing to some nice music?
Hmm . . . I don’t know. I don’t really have time.
Well, you said you needed to exercise more.
I do.
You need to find the time.
That’s easy for you to say . . .

If we want to do something that we aren’t doing, it probably means that we don’t really want to do it. 😉

9. eof737 - February 20, 2011

Writing brightens my day and cheers me on to do other things — We make choices, we choose our mood and the upward spiral can be ours. 🙂
Uplifting post!
Eliz

nrhatch - February 20, 2011

Thanks, Eliz. Writing is an uplifting activity for me as well.

In choosing the next word and the next and the next . . . everything else falls away. I enter the flow and move gently down the stream.

Merrily . . . Merrily . . . Merrily . . . Merrily . . . Life is but a dream.

10. Pat @ Positive Thinking Quotes - February 20, 2011

I like to start my day with a long walk in nature – it helps me to energize my day and helps me organize my thoughts for the day.

nrhatch - February 20, 2011

Good for you. I “should” start my day that way, but I don’t.

Instead, I slosh into the day by drinking coffee until I wake up enough to do something a bit more productive.

Thanks for visiting.

I checked out your site ~ nice collection of quotes!

11. Tilly Bud - February 21, 2011

The power of positive thought!

nrhatch - February 21, 2011

Positives attract positives.

When I’ve got a “dark cloud” hanging over my head, I kick up sand everywhere I go. When I’m walking around with a “sun” overhead, people greet me with smiles and warmth.


What Say YOU?

