jump to navigation

A Bag of Bargain Books February 4, 2011

Posted by nrhatch in Books & Movies, Word Play, Writing & Writers.
trackback

I just got back from the Friend’s Book Sale at the Island Library with a bag full of Bargain Books:

* Repacking Your Bags ~ Lighten Your Load For the Rest of Your Life.  Cover Price $15.  My cost:  $0.25

* When Will Jesus Bring the Pork Chops? Cover Price $24.  My cost: $1

* Buddha or Bust ~ In Search of Truth, Meaning, Happiness, and the Man Who Found Them All.  Cover Price: $25.  My cost: $0.50

* Generosity ~ A New York TImes Book Review Notable Book of the Year.  Cover Price: $15.  My cost: $0.25

* If Life is a Game, These are the Rules ~ Ten Rules for Being Human.  Cover Price: $15.00 .  My cost: $0.25

* 101 Simples Ways to be Good to Yourself.  Cover Price: $15.  My cost: $0.25

* The Book of Vices ~ A Collection of Classic Immoral Tales.  Cover Price: $18.  My cost: $0.50

Total Cover Price:  $127

My Cost:  $3

Moral of the Story: If you want to collect “clutter” . . . look for bargain books.

No rules.  Just write!

Have you read any of these books?  What did you think?  Thumbs Up?
Are you a bargain hunter?  What are your favorite bargains?

Related posts:  Volunteers of America

Comments»

1. Maggie - February 4, 2011

Bargain books – always the best kind! 😀

nrhatch - February 4, 2011

Some of them look really terrific. I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

2. amkuska - February 4, 2011

I haven’t read any of them. I confess a great deal of curiousity about the pork chops book though!

nrhatch - February 4, 2011

I only read one blurb in it so far, about cell phones ~ quite funny.

Carlin excelled at seeing life as it is.

3. Debra - February 4, 2011

oh yes the used book store and the Friends of the Library are my favs haunts.

Have not read any of them….and it seems you have quite a collection now!!!

Go Nancy!! :):)

nrhatch - February 4, 2011

I’ve been cleaning out my bookshelves, so I actually have room for these new acquisitions.

If they’re good, I’ll keep them. If not, I’ll give them back for next year’s sale.

4. oldancestor - February 4, 2011

My bookshelves are bursting with books I’ve gotten at rummage sales, library sales, and flea markets. Great way to discover authors I would not have found otherwise. And if I don’t like it, my mom gets it for her church fundraiser.

By the way, I also got that George Carlin book at a rummage sale. I read it and donated it to another sale. Maybe you got my copy.

nrhatch - February 4, 2011

Maybe. It’s a small world after all.

I figure, if even one book’s a keeper, I’ve got my money’s worth and then some.

5. Cindy - February 4, 2011

WOW, what a windfall!

nrhatch - February 5, 2011

Jackpot! And all 7 books are in “like new” condition. Yay!

6. kateshrewsday - February 5, 2011

I LOVE charity shops….think you call them thrift stores…

http://kateshrewsday.wordpress.com/2010/07/30/heels/

😀

nrhatch - February 5, 2011

Thanks for the link, Kate. I shall be around shortly.

Yes. Thrift Stores and Consignment Shops are more fun for me than heading to the mall. I like the idea that “it” might be there or “it” might not.

7. flyinggma - February 5, 2011

I love bargain books and always stop at our Friends of the Library book sale each year. On annual antique trips I used to take with a dear friend I was always drawn to the book section. I love the old books and always self-improvement and organizational books.

Your new acquistion of George Carlin’s book brings to mind his whole routine on “Stuff”. One of my favorites!

nrhatch - February 5, 2011

I love his piece on Stuff! He’s a brilliant comedian and we’re looking forward to seeing some of his insights.

Books are my favorite when it comes to bargain hunting. Read. Learn. Play. Grow.

Thanks, Pseu

8. Carol Ann Hoel - February 5, 2011

Wow! You did get a bargain! Long ago in my motherhood days, going through tough financial times, I went to a garage sale put on by a very nice, huge woman. I mean extra, extra large. She sold her clothing made of beautiful, rich fabrics, expertly crafted. I bought many articles for almost nothing and took them apart, using waste bands and matching fabrics, buttons, zippers, etc., to make clothing for my daughter. I’m not a seamstress, either, but all I had to do was seam the already crafted stuff together cut for her size. Blessings…

nrhatch - February 5, 2011

That’s awesome, Carol Ann.

I’m always impressed at people who can transform one article of clothing into something more suitable.

Angela Barton’s blog, My Year Without Spending, includes a section on Thrifty Threads ~ featuring folks who buy used and outdated clothing and transform it into stylish outfits. A special skill to have.

Here’s a link to her latest:
http://angelabarton.com/2011/02/thrifty-threads-66/

9. linda - February 6, 2011

Bargain books are like pirates treasure too me! The prices at your library sale are much better than at mine!

nrhatch - February 6, 2011

Pirate’s Treasure is right . . . you never know what gem you might find.

If I ran the sale, I wouldn’t price the books. I would allow supply and demand to apply based on “audience” preference:

Day One ~ Hardbacks $3; Paperbacks $1
Day Two ~ Hardbacks $2; Paperbacks $0.50
Day Three ~ Hardbacks $1; Paperbacks $0.25
Day Four ~ ??? or Fill a bag with books $5

Those who want the best pick, pay a bit more for the better selection. Those who want the lowest prices, wait until the last day.

10. Piglet in Portugal - February 6, 2011

I love hunting round the local flea markets for English books. I rarely buy new now as English books in Portugal are so expenisv. I occasionally buy online but I love to look through books before I buy 🙂

nrhatch - February 6, 2011

I’m with you! I love picking up a book and flipping through it’s pages ~ to see the size of the type, the length of the chapters, the font chosen for the words.

On line shopping for books is never as much fun as treasure hunting in flea markets and book bins.

Thanks for the comment. Glad you entered Paula’s cloud contest.

11. Julie - February 7, 2011

Ah the library book sale. How do I love thee? Let me count the ways…

What a stash you got – congrats!

nrhatch - February 7, 2011

We inherited a ton of books when we bought this place furnished, so I haven’t added anything to our bookcases in quite some time.

I had fun looking around at the available offerings and choosing a few to adopt.


What Say YOU?

