jump to navigation

The Blizzard of Two Thousand Ten December 12, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Poetry, Word Play, Writing & Writers.
trackback

220px-The_Love_of_Zero,_35mm_film_Robert_Florey1928May we never share a mundane, flannel love
Celebrated with simple-minded things
Or say “I love you to the moon and back
Unless we’re wearing plastic Cracker Jack rings

While drinking Tang and eating applesauce
Purchased at the Seven-11 store
During the blizzard of two thousand ten
When even Kilimanjaro cried “No more!”

That was the year the turnpike closed
And scurvy ran rampant everywhere
We used water buffalo as taxis
And fragrant hand-sanitizer filled the air

As the snow piled higher and deeper
And spring remained hidden by winter’s wrath
We huddled and cuddled inside for warmth
As we discovered love’s blissful path

* * * * *

Challenge:  Write a Love Note (max 200 words) in any format, using at least five of the following nouns: Seven-11, scurvy, turnpike, flannel, Kilimanjaro, blizzard, applesauce, Tang, water buffalo, and hand-sanitizer.

Comments»

1. Paula Tohline Calhoun - December 12, 2010

I’ll get on it right away, (or after church – whichever comes first!). Plus, that “Ode” is going in my book! Shall you do it, or shall I? 😀

nrhatch - December 12, 2010

Posted.

Paula Tohline Calhoun - December 12, 2010

I want you to add the one above, too! 😀

Herewith, my effort to complete your challenge:

My darling,

As I pen this note to you my love, I want you to know I love you still, and pray you are alive somewhere – Barcelona or Mt. Kilimanjaro – wherever you are, and I await your return. I remember the night you left. Delirious with vitamin-deficiency, you begged me to help, so, still in my flannel nightgown, I ran down the turnpike, trying to get to the “7-11” before it closed for the evening. Desperate to purchase anything that might help relieve your suffering, I arrived just in time, only to discover the store was out of orange juice, and almost every other necessity known to man, from hand-sanitizer to Tang, due to an approaching blizzard. The only helpful vitamin-rich comestible I could find was a jar of applesauce. I quickly purchased it, and ran home, praying you were alright. Alas, you were gone. I wept while reading your parting note, explaining that you were leaving with our pet water buffalo, and heading for the nearest port to volunteer as a seaman. Feverishly, you’d decided to board ship and suffer in companionship with other scurvy-ridden sailors. I hope you made it. I miss your bleeding gums.

Love forever,
Honeybun

nrhatch - December 12, 2010

Excellent balance between blizzard and bleeding gums. 😉

2. Cindy - December 12, 2010

Clever, I don’t know what some of those things are, but enjoyed your take.

nrhatch - December 12, 2010

Cracker Jacks = candy coated popcorn, peanuts, and a prize . . . that’s what you get in Cracker Jacks

7-11 = a convenience store

Tang = powdered orange juice

Others?

3. Tammy McLeod - December 12, 2010

I think this is a wonderful challenge and I loved yours.

nrhatch - December 12, 2010

Thanks, Tammy

It’s a challenge that WEbook used as a prompt a few months back.

4. duke1959 - December 12, 2010

What memories.

nrhatch - December 12, 2010

Cracker Jacks and Tang . . . two childhood staples, for sure! 🙂

5. viewfromtheside - December 12, 2010

I tried it

nrhatch - December 12, 2010

Loved it. Thanks for playing with words! 🙂

6. Carol Ann Hoel - December 12, 2010

Wow! I like it but it’s a little over my head. Still, I have to say something. My downfall. When immersed in a blizzard (been there – not nice!) we are reduced to managing without everything that we suddenly don’t have. One would praise God joyously for a 7-Eleven at such a time!

You write about it – Mr. Blizzard – with a romantic kind of fondness, which looking back, is exactly how a survivor might feel. Remember when…

nrhatch - December 12, 2010

We drove through a blizzard once. A state of emergency with no other cars on the road. We thought we were about to ride out the other side of the storm, so we pressed on.

When we exited the deserted interstate, by sliding down the exit ramp, we landed on the state highway in sight of the welcoming lights of gas stations and 7-11’s!

It felt wonderful to no longer be lost in a sea of white.

7. The Hatch Challenge « Reflections From a Cloudy Mirror - December 12, 2010

[…] Nancy’s effort here, then read […]

8. Booksphotographsandartwork - December 12, 2010

Those were all fun to read. I will give it a go but it will take me forever.

nrhatch - December 12, 2010

Yay! Give it a go! 🙂

9. Booksphotographsandartwork - December 12, 2010

Dearest Tang,
I have always loved you so. So very much in fact that I would walk for miles in the snow of two thousand and ten to the nearest Seven-Eleven on Mt. Kilimanjaro to find you hiding underneath a water buffalo. I have no idea why they keep you there. It would make more sense for you to be stored next to the applesauce.
I would wear my very best plaid flannel shirt to keep me warm and it would be long trip having to go over the Jersey Turnpike. It would take days and days in which I would go without my vitamins so I hope that I won’t have scurvy when I get there. I would hate to be sick and throw up just as I am about to drink you all up, you most delicious of all beverages from oh so long ago. Of course I would also want a box of Cracker-Jacks as I would be famished from that long haul. And of course I would need a giant bottle of hand sanitizer after all of that stickiness.
So dearest Tang please hang on a little longer I promise I will eventually arrive and then we will have the time of our life!
Yours Truly,
Linda

nrhatch - December 12, 2010

LOL. A love affair with Tang! And Cracker Jacks. Awesome, Linda.

I loved Tang as a kid. I wonder what I would think of it now? Maybe it would be too Tang-Y.

10. Booksphotographsandartwork - December 12, 2010

Yes I think way too Tangy-y! What a neat little exercise that was. So much fun. Good for this old brain.

nrhatch - December 12, 2010

Glad you enjoyed. I’m going to post another one of these soon ~ picking random words from my dictionary. 😉

11. Paula Tohline Calhoun - December 22, 2010

For some reason or other, I re-read this particular post. See there are some other addiions since I was here, and they are great! Once thing I noticed: “Cracker Jack” is not on the list of nouns! So it was left out. If I had known about it, this would be one of the sentences, now revised: “The only helpful vitamin-rich comestible I could find, behind the last box of Crcker Jack, was a jar of applesauce.”

So now the challenge is complete. I can rest in peace. 😀

nrhatch - December 22, 2010

Cracker Jack was not included in the challenge. I included it in my poem because it suited my literary license. 😉


What Say YOU?

