jump to navigation

WWPD??? October 28, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Word Play, Writing & Writers.
trackback

IMGP4187Q:  What does WWPD mean? 
A:  Be patient, I’ll get to that in a minute.

Q:  Is it like WWJD?
A:  Nope.  Not even close.   

So, have you caught the fever?

Are you counting down the days until November 1st, pen in hand, back up laptop recharging?

Do you plan to shoot out of the starting gate like a jack rabbit, or take it slow and steady like a tortoise?

Before we’ve consumed our weight in candy, or cleaned up the smashed pumpkins, NaNoWriMo commences with a vengeance as writers around the globe compete for bragging rights and keep track of . . . WWPD.

* 1,667 x 30 = 50,000
* 2,000 x 30 = 60,000
* 2,500 x 30 = 75,000
* 3,000 x 30 = 90,000

WWPD = Words Written Per Day . . . as NaNoWriMo holds sway. 

For more on NaNoWriMo, swing by:  Uphill Writing * My Literary Quest * Aardvarkian Tales * Maggie Madly Writing * Ready for NaNoWriMo? (WP Prompt)

BTW:  NaNoWriMo is definitely NOT the time to use “Less is More” as your writing mantra.  ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments»

1. Richard W Scott - October 28, 2010

You’ve got it in one, Nancy. Your goal should be 85k, or better. In point of fact, a 50k word ms. is better known as a Novella, anyway.

My biggest failure, 9 years ago for my firstn NaNa was to shoot for only 1667 words a day. Miss a day or two and it’s down in the dumps time. That never works.

Yes, right, you betcha, you got it, bingo! Shoot for the moon, not for the back yard. It will make so much difference!

Go NaNo!

nrhatch - October 28, 2010

Go Team!

2. Cindy - October 28, 2010

Had breakfast this morning with a friend who’s doing it; I will just sit in the sidelines and cheer you brave lot on this year.

nrhatch - October 28, 2010

I’ll be in the bleachers with you. ๐Ÿ™‚

3. Agatha82 - October 28, 2010

I’ll be swamped with my novel re-write so no time for me either. Did it once, in 2009, just to prove to myself that I could. So for me is, been there, done that, got the t-shirt ๐Ÿ˜‰

nrhatch - October 28, 2010

Same here. I did it last year, and enjoyed the experience. But I find I’m not wanting to do it again. ๐Ÿ˜‰

4. souldipper - October 28, 2010

Is it because once you’ve done it, what’s to prove to yourself now? Did you LIKE the final product? Did it feel like a novella you would like to polish?

nrhatch - October 28, 2010

I love The Journey . . . as far as I took it.

But I haven’t worked on it since the end of NaNoWriMo last year. Unless (and until) I do polish it up . . . I won’t do a 2nd NaNoWriMo.

Posky - October 29, 2010

I had a lot of friends try to pull me into doing this and I failed at it so hard. I already write all the time and the added pressure with no incentive really made it difficult. That said, EVERYONE else I know who has done it has been so happy with the outcome that a lot of them have continued to do the following year(s).

nrhatch - October 29, 2010

It’s like Green Eggs and Ham . . . some people like it. Other’s don’t. ๐Ÿ˜‰

5. aardvarkian - October 28, 2010

*cracks knuckles*

Is it Monday yet?

nrhatch - October 28, 2010

Ready . . . Set . . . Hold it . . . Hold it . . .

Finally, a Monday to look forward to! ๐Ÿ˜‰

6. Julie - October 28, 2010

Not for me this year (maybe next) but doing PiBoIdMo – Picture Book Idea Month. It’s also in November – one idea for a picture book per day for 30 days. Should be good.

nrhatch - October 28, 2010

I shared your article about PiBoIdMo with someone recently . . . if my memory worked better, I could tell you who it was. ๐Ÿ™‚

I think creating an idea a day for 30 days is a FUN way to tap into creative channels.

Best of luck with it.

7. Greg Camp - October 29, 2010

Alas, I’m a slow writer, and telling myself to produce 50,000 words in a month is the best way for me to write nothing. I’m a Jackaturtle–slow leaps.

nrhatch - October 29, 2010

I prefer to write at my own pace too. I believe that is why I haven’t returned to The Journey since last November.

I liked the story and characters . . . but I’m still pissed off at them for making me write so fast. ๐Ÿ™‚

8. Maggie - October 29, 2010

I am so ready for Monday!

nrhatch - October 29, 2010

Hope you have a blast! 8)

9. For NaNoWriMo ~ Two Top 7 Lists | Spirit Lights The Way - November 3, 2014

[…] They are feeding Tweets to Twitter every 5 minutes (WWPD => […]


What Say YOU?

