jump to navigation

RX: A Dose of Nature October 9, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Exercise & Fitness, Health & Wellness, Nature.
trackback

Goofy-Riding-A-BikeMore and more doctors are prescribing exercise in the great outdoors for patients.

It’s about time.

Sunlight, fresh air, and exercise all create endorphins which elevate our mood naturally.  Exercising, especially outside, is a miracle drug for body, mind, and soul.

When we lace up our sneakers and go for a walk, run, jog, or hike, we boost our fitness levels, improve our health, and increase our sense of well-being and happiness.

Woodstock-&-Snoopy3Now, the combination of exercise and the great outdoors is becoming just what the doctor ordered:

* Physicians, from New Hampshire to Texas, are sending their patients out to wade through streams and walk on beaches and trails.

* Last year, the city of Santa Fe, New Mexico, launched its Prescription Trails program to target the high rates of diabetes in the community.  The program, partially funded by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, includes a trail guide that physicians can hand to their patients.

* Eleanor Kennedy, a cardiologist in Little Rock, helped create a downtown “Medical Mile” with the support of local funders and the U.S. National Park Service (NPS):

Exercise-Sunset“Whether you are waddling, walking or running, going out and exercising will help build your confidence, flexibility and adaptability.”

* Rick Potts, NPS’s chief of conservation and outdoor programs, echoes Levitt’s enthusiasm, “Science is validating what moms have known for generations:  Being outside is good for your health.”

Next time your doctor reaches for the prescription pad, ask him or her for a trail map instead.

To Read More:  Benefits of Prescribing Nature

Related:  Exercise, Exercise, Exercise * 13 Tips to Stay Healthy & Happy * Walk Off Some Weight * Get Out!!!

Comments»

1. cindy - October 9, 2010

*strolls outside with a glass of wine …*

nrhatch - October 9, 2010

A balanced diet = a glass of wine in each hand

2. aardvarkian - October 9, 2010

I need to get out more.

nrhatch - October 9, 2010

1. Stroll the streets searching for characters.
2. Report back to us.

3. Joanne - October 9, 2010

Ever since I moved back to my old stomping grounds this past summer, I’m enjoying the hikes up my “stair-stepper street” and the view of the lake when I get to the top. I could be gone from the house for up to an hour and get lost in the surrounding beauty here…

It’s even better than jumping on the mini-tramp in front of the TV, like I used to do at my apartment… I do feel more balanced now… especially after I’ve had my shower and can sit down relaxed in front of the TV – without bouncing – AND sipping my two consecutive glasses of wine 😀

nrhatch - October 9, 2010

Sounds wonderful, like you have some real balance (and bounce) in your life.

4. souldipper - October 9, 2010

Give me a hike, a walk, a stomp, a stroll, or a wander anyday. But if you want to run, fill your proverbial running shoes. I’ll meet you later.

Love the outdoors and all it has to offer which is even more than life-prolonging exercise.

Thanks, Nance. I’ll get off my soap box now.
*Is it too early for a piece of my Banana Bread?*

nrhatch - October 9, 2010

I don’t run much these days. I’d rather walk, hike, stroll, and wander.

Is it ever too early for Banana Bread???

5. booksphotographsandartwork - October 9, 2010

With fall now here, yahoo!, I am getting out a lot more. I love it. The dogs love it. Where on earth has this weather all the time?!!!!!

nrhatch - October 9, 2010

I agree.

The cooler temps give us an excuse for reasons to go outside (instead of excuses to stay in the A/C).

It’s glorious! 8)


What Say YOU?

