jump to navigation

The Goal Behind All Goals October 1, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Humor, Mindfulness.
trackback

Kirk Weisler scored a home run with this gem:

Mom told me that happiness is the key to life. 

So, when a teacher asked us what we wanted to be when  we grew up, I said, “Happy.”

She said I didn’t understand the assignment. 

I told her she didn’t understand life.

To read the whole post (and you should): Don’t Lose Your Marbles Or Your Bubbles.

This simple cartoon reminded me of a conversation I had with a very close friend shortly after I stopped practicing law.

On New Year’s Day, she asked, “What are your goals for the year?”

“To be happy.”

“No.  I mean what goals are you setting for yourself?”

“Just one.  To be happy.”

She thought I had lost my marbles.   I knew I had found them.

Related post:  The Goal Behind All Other Goals

Comments»

1. cindy - October 1, 2010

There is no pleasure worth forgoing just for an extra three years in the geriatric ward. John Mortimer

nrhatch - October 1, 2010

At this point in my life, if I had the choice, I’d pick 10 happy years over 40 lacklustre ones.

Be absolutely determined to enjoy what you do.

2. aardvarkian - October 1, 2010

Lovely…and true, too.

nrhatch - October 1, 2010

When we realize we are here to be happy and share happiness with others, we free ourselves from a lot of baggage and we gain clarity.

We stop running around attending cocktail parties if we’d rather stay home and read a good book.

We stop worrying about what makes others happy and focus on what makes us smile.

We look within for the answers we need to steer our ship.

3. judson2history - October 1, 2010

You *never* fail to brighten my day …

Judson

nrhatch - October 1, 2010

Cool!

That’s the Spirit! 🙂

4. Julie - October 1, 2010

Love it! Thanks for sharing.

nrhatch - October 1, 2010

Thanks, Julie.

When we master the art of happiness, our lives become our own.

5. Naomi - October 1, 2010

Hear hear!!

nrhatch - October 1, 2010

Wanna marble? 🙂

6. Paula Tohline Calhoun - October 1, 2010

I’ve found I feel much freer and lighter without them, thank you! 😛

nrhatch - October 1, 2010

You’re welcome!

Me too!

7. tsuchigari - October 1, 2010

Watched one of the permutations of Peter Pan the other day and they have Tootles as an old man crawling around looking for his marbles. Most dismiss him as senile but in the end he finds the marbles. He understood the whole time about finding happiness and joy.

nrhatch - October 1, 2010

Joy and happiness = the whole bag of marbles.

I shall be on the lookout for Tootles.

8. souldipper - October 2, 2010

YahWhoo, Nancy. Good for you. Steadfastly true to yourself.

nrhatch - October 2, 2010

Just BE. 🙂

9. poeticinteraction - October 2, 2010

Thanks for your critique. It really made me ‘happy’. So you can see that I understand how it is true that what you have found to do in life allows you the happiness that you seek. As the Buddhists say, one of the factors of living a good life, is having a good occupation. All the best to you. And thanks for subscribing.

nrhatch - October 2, 2010

You’re welcome. 🙂

Right livelihood makes life worth living.

10. Linda - October 3, 2010

When I first met my daughter’s current boyfriend I asked him what his goals in life were. When he said to be happy and be a good person I rolled my eyes and thought oh no here we go again! Dear God when will she find someone with a future? Happiness won’t pay the bills. Neither will love. It’s sad but true.

nrhatch - October 3, 2010

People who don’t figure out a way to pay the bills won’t be happy for long. Happiness requires a balance between work and play.

But if the focus is on being happy, rather than just paying the bills, we find ways to make money that play to our strengths and enable us to enjoy life rather than just accumulate possessions.

Your daughter’s boyfriend sounds like he’s on the right track.

11. Linda - October 3, 2010

🙂 then they can come live with you. he doesn’t have a job. or an education!

My daughter has just been without a job for the first time in many years so I am giving her a little leeway.

nrhatch - October 3, 2010

As I said, “people who don’t figure out a way to pay the bills won’t be happy for long. Happiness requires a balance between work and play.”

If they want to be happy, one or both of them needs to find a way to earn enough for food, clothing, and shelter ~ or find someone else who wants to donate to the cause. 8)

12. To Be Or NOT To Be The Best You Can Be | Spirit Lights The Way - December 4, 2013

[…] posts:  The Goal Behind All Goals * Reaching […]


What Say YOU?

